We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marina Riviera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marina Riviera to your Saves list
Hotel Marina Riviera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Comite 19, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Bristol
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just had 2 weeks in Amalfi - a wonderful destination for a quiet relaxing holiday. Stayed first in Hotel Marina Riviera then Hotel Residence. Both are on the front and close to the centre of Amalfi, which suited us – many hotels along the Amalfi coast will be isolated, but we could walk around the town, have a choice of different restaurants every night, get a boat to Capri, etc.

From our experience, the Marina Riviera scores so much more than the Residence – we would return to Marina Riviera, but not the Residence. To list the little things that made the difference: at the Marina Riviera we had a bottle of water in our room every day; a bowl of fruit when we arrived; a box of tissues; draws with handles; very attentive staff; a good choice of breads and croissants (that never ran out) and eggs cooked to order; and of course a rooftop pool. None of these applied to the Residence, although it is also a 4 star hotel. The Residence was not terrible, but missed the little touches. Because of the timing of our bookings we paid less for the Marina Riviera (early booking) than the Residence. We had a Double Room at Marina Riviera and Deluxe Double at Residence.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    88
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
70
306
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, USA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Although we had a bit of difficulty finding this hotel we were so well taken care of once we did! Our room was upgraded to a room with a balcony. The room was not particularly large but the balcony,although small,made all the difference. The bathroom was huge and everythimg was immaculate. The rooftop pool area was spaceceous and a perfect place to relax after fighting the crowds in town which was only a short walk. More stunning views could be seen from the pool as well as the terrace bar and breakfast area. My husband hurt his back while we were there and they were very helpful in assisting us to find transportation to our next hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a balcony...you will be very jealous if you don't. We had room 63 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I can not say enough great things about the Hotel Marina Riviera. We just returned from a 4 day stay there, in between stops in Paris and Rome. First - we flew from Paris to Naples, and had the (not so great) idea to rent a car in Naples. Needless to say, we became completely lost in downtown Naples when the car's navigation system stopped working, and after 2 hours of driving completely lost and absolutely stressed through the city, decided to return the car. We called the hotel on our way back to the airport, and explained the situation. The woman at the front desk (I am so sorry I don't know her name) actually called a driver who she knew was on their way back to Amalfi from Rome, and arranged an airport transfer on the spot! He was waiting for us at the Car Rental parking lot by the time that we got back to the airport! She was so worried for us that she called both the driver, and myself to ensure that he'd picked us up, and we were on our way to the hotel. That was amazing, above and beyond service, and I will never be able to thank them enough for that!

The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful. It sits on a cliff overlooking the sea, beach and town. It is less than a 5 minute walk to the town square, beach and anywhere that you would ever want or need to go in Amalfi. The rooftop pool and sun deck are the perfect place to spend an afternoon; you can't get a better view, which you can enjoy over drinks from the pool bar. We had a standard room with a window, which was overlooking the sea. The room was clean and relaxing, very large with a huge window and well equipped bathroom. Breakfast on the terrace is the perfect way to start your day, and the food is actually very good, with a great selection. Everyone on the staff was friendly, helpful and kind, and seemed genuinely invested in ensuring that their guests had a great trip. Service was second to none, and I could not imagine staying anywhere else on the Amalfi Coast. This hotel and stay were the absolute favorite part of our 2 week trip to Europe, and I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had an excellent stay in this hotel although it could have been different. We read the reviews on Tripadvisor and also looked at the hotel's own website. 2 things were clear: 1. the hotel had been refurbished to what looked like a high standard and 2. People recommended upgrading to a deluxe room as the rooms tended to be small. So, we upgraded to a deluxe room with a front sea view and were reaaly looking forward to it. when we arrived, we were obviously in a room which had not been refurbished and were very disappointed - there was mould in the bathroom, the towel rail was falling off, the plug in the sink did not hold the water, the room was small and old fashioned and the balcony was only just big enough for the cheap plastic chairs but not really for your legs as well. The view however was stunning. And i cannot fault the service because as soon as we complained about our room we were moved to a beautiful suite with jacuzzi bath, four poster bed and large balcony - but i wonder why we were in the room in the first place and what would have happened if the suite had not been available. my advice would be to check that your room is as described on the website which i believe all but 2 are at the time of writing.
The roof terrace was fantastic, the pool lovely and we had many relaxing afternoons up here after exploring the local area in the mornings. The hotel is really well situated with fantastic views over the town but just 5 mins walk from the buses, boats and restaurants. We also enjoyed having out breakfast on the terrace each morning with fabulous views over the beach and the town. There was a good choice of local food as well as the usual egg options (although thesee were a bit hit and miss - hard boiled eggs when we asked for soft and scrambled eggs that were more like an overcooked omlette). Service was a bit hit and miss and depended on which staff were serving you but the views, ambience and local pastries and parma ham made up for any lack of finesse.
Overall, we had a really lovely week here and i would definitely recommend it - just make sure when you book that you get whatt you're ordering with the room

Room Tip: Look at the hotel website and make sure you get what you are booking. I think there are 1 or 2 room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazenovia, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Every room is different but all seemed to be comfortable. The views are awesome. The breakfast was plentiful with many selections to satisfy many. Walking distance to the village with restaurants and shopping. I especially enjoyed the view and relaxing with coffee in the morning and a nice glass of wine in the evening on the terrace. The entire hotel was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We've just arrived back from the best holiday. From the word go the staff could'nt have been more helpful and friendly. The rooms were spotless and comfortable, as was the whole hotel. The pool area superb. The views from our balcony no less than stunning. The short walk into Amalfi made it so easy for the amazing aray of bars and resturants so spoilt for choice.
Cant wait to get back.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are brilliant. No two are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and i have spent the last 4 nights here and have had an amazing time. The hotel location is fabulous, the staff was always ready to help you in any way and our room was more than expected.
The hotel is perfectly located overlooking the harbour with beautiful views. We were a 3 minute walk from the centre of town. We booked our excursions to Capri and Pompeii through the front desk without any hassles. We ere supposed to stay in Positano but our reservation got screwed up - the best thing that ever happened!
We woud highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marina Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Riviera

Address: Via Comite 19, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#4 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Marina Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Riviera Hotel
Marina Riviera Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marina Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.