We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marina Riviera

Save Saved
You added Hotel Marina Riviera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Marina Riviera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Comite 19, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

First time visiting Amalfi and we stayed at this amazing hotel. Pool on the top and short distance to the beach. Short distance to the town and many good restaurants. Staff was extremely service minded and made our stay even more enjoyable. Effecient house keeping and cleanliness was perfect. Clearly value for money and recommendable.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    84
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
67
289
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Excellent hotel located in the heart of Amalfi. Close walk to shops, restaurants, beach, and transportation. Staff was great and very friendly. Great base to visit Capri or Pompeii.

Food here is great. Views from the restaurant and rooftop pool are unbelievable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Marina Riviera is a hotel with a prime location in Amalfi with views overlooking the sea. The hotel is built from an old villa with numerous levels that include hotel rooms, eating areas and a rooftop with tanning areas, pool, bar and steam room. The rooms themselves have standard beds, a safe and a great bathroom. The a/c is what you would expect from Europe, below US standards but it does the job most days. Service is excellent in terms of food service, setting up car rides, tours and general information.

Room Tip: Views can be amazing, make sure you have a higher room with a balcony. (P.S. the AC is horrible)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach area
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Where do I start..... we can all agree on the AMAZING location this hotel has along the Amalfi Coast so let me start with the people. This hotel is run by the NICEST people!!! They communicate well via email, know just what you want and deliver above and beyond! This was our second stay there (and ONLY place we will stay when in he area) and we wanted a room like we had last time and they made sure we got it. Many nice extra touches like the slippers and cloth bag with their name on it waiting for you in the room alongside a bowl of fresh fruit. The room and hotel itself is kept very clean (a must for us); Phillip took our luggage right up to our room from street level and even fixed my broken wheel on my big, expensive suitcase (Phillip, your repair job lasted throughout the rest of our travels in Italy and back home; cant imagine what I would of went through otherwise:);Roberta, Lucia & Antonio provide you with GREAT service from the front desk; Phillip & Laura make sure you have everything you want at breakfast time; Lyo (sp?) is up at the rooftop pool to be sure you have everything you want while you relax in the comfy chairs or soak in the pool or use the steam room/sauna. We LOVE the breakfast spread-fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, fresh meats/cheeses (proscuitto, cappicola, provolone, fresh mozz, fresh tomatoes, great breads/croissants, eggs any way you like, several different juices and other special dishes diff each day. Enjoy this delicious food, great service while you sit out on the veranda looking right over the water and take in the most beautiful scenes that make the Amalfi Coast so special. A 3 minute walk brings you right in the heart of the town of Amalfi, OR the beach, OR the great local eateries, OR to catch a bus/taxi/boat by the marina. Th Marina Riviera was great on our first stay there a couple years back with our married children & their spouses and it was great just me & my husband. We have seen honeymooners enjoy their stay as well as many families with children from all different countries. They also have one of the top rated restaurants downstairs (10%disc for guests). Cant ask for more! Its the ONLY place we'll stay in Amalfi!!!!

Room Tip: We love room 55,56 and others like it. They have large bathrooms and private balconies where my husb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Just enjoyed a really good week at Hotel Marina Riviera. We booked a deluxe room with sea view and our first reaction was 'wow'! The room and whole hotel were spotlessly clean and well maintained. The staff at breakfast , at reception and those cleaning rooms daily were all friendly with a 'buongiorno' whenever we met them . Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the beach , sea and mountains was always a good start to the day. The rooftop sun terrace was also a popular spot although we think the pool depth of 1.65 metres throughout is not ideal - a graduated change in depth would be better for those of us under 6ft tall or non- swimmers. Also the only set of entry/ exit steps to the pool were quite loose and wobbly . We did find the room rather noisy at night even with windows/ shutters closed - there were a couple of late night open air disco- type events on which reverberated throughout the area. On the whole though, a lovely hotel .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have just spent 5 nights at this this hotel for our wedding anniversary and it was wonderful.
A car was arranged to collect us fromNaples, bottle of champagne waiting in our room.

Reception staff were brilliant and always helpful with our questions, sorting out taxis etc... We ate in and around Amalfi town and was never disappointed. The pool is a very welcome addition after a walk back a plunge in the pool and rum and coke looking over the bay was divine!

We even received a second bottle of champagne on our actual anniversary. Thank you to the lovely owner who was always welcoming us with a smile.

Would we return definitely, would we recommend to friends definitely. It has to be the best hotel for location and views (which you are lucky enough to see the sea and the town).

Oh also bed was very comfortable and we are fussy pillow people who normally take own pillow - wasn't used here!!!

Thank you so much for making this a fabulous anniversary

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The welcome of the staff was fantastic, their knowledge of the area second to none. This was our honeymoon and we had researched the area well. We made the best choice ever. 5 minutes from the centre of Amalfi and all the wonderful restaurants it has to offer, we had a beautiful, superbly clean room overlooking the ocean. Beautiful pool, and a smile on the face of the staff every day. I would recommend not only Amalfi but this, the best hotel in the town by far.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marina Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Riviera

Address: Via Comite 19, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#4 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Riviera 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Marina Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Riviera Hotel
Marina Riviera Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marina Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.