We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marina Riviera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Marina Riviera to your Saves list
Hotel Marina Riviera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Comite 19, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We loved everything about this hotel, from the wonderful breakfast, to the convenient location, to the helpful staff and comfortable room. There were great views of the Mediterranean from our room, the breakfast room, and the lobby area. This hotel is an old-style Mediterranean villa---wow!

P.S. Some travel writers call Amalfi too touristy, but compared to Sorrento, this place was old-style Italy!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    87
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
69
304
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, Curacao
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We actually selected this hotel after seeing wonderful reviews on this very page!

We stayed 3 days at the Hotel Marina Riviera for our honeymoon last October and I can't rave about it enough. It's located up the hill, right by the ocean and I fell in love with their interior design. Everything was thoughtfully selected and I took more than enough pictures of the hotel itself than anything.

We had a wonderful view of the ocean with a spacious balcony. Everything was clean - no bed bugs! and the service/professionalism from the staff was spot on. My husband and I loved their complimentary breakfasts. We would have them every morning at the outside terrace while enjoying the sights and smells of the ocean. This place is a must!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We spent 5 nights here and have no complaints - only compliments! The staff are superb; very friendly and helpful and keen to make sure we got the best out of our stay, giving accurate and considered advice at all times. Our room was very comforatble - not overly large- but equipped with everything we needed, with superb views directly over the sea and to the town. Although the hotel is right on the first bend as you approach Amalfi from the east we were totally undisturbed by traffic noise and were in fact lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves each night. Fantastic! Breakfasts are excellent with as much good coffee as you can drink and eggs (properly .cooked!!) any way you want. We only had time to visit the pool terrace for an hour before we left, but it looked very clean and again the views for to die for! We would certainly recommend the hotel and would love to return another time.

Room Tip: All room have Ocean views. The traffic noise is not a problem (the rooms are above the road). Window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This place really lives up to its rave reviews. We had wanted to stay in a small hotel with charm and this met our needs perfectly. I would definitely recommend getting a room with a balcony as the views are stunning . Our room was fresh and clean with very spacious bathroom with bath as well as shower. Breakfast is lovely, with eggs offered every morning. The staff are fantastic, very friendly and helpful. The pool deck is great also.

Room Tip: Definitely get a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is lovely and the staff are very friendly, the views of Amalfi and the ocean fantastic. The hotel has a very nice breakfast buffet, be sure to try the hotel's restaurant next door, guests of the hotel get a 10% discount, it was one of our best dining experiences in Italy. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at marina riviera for 6 day and were absolutely blown away. It was our honeymoon so we had very high expectations. The hotel is set on a cliff right next to the sea. The rooms are recently renovated and immaculate. The cleanliness of the hotel is pristine. The breakfast was amazing and included. There was also Ana amazing terrace for breakfast overlooking the sea. The pool deck was also superb and came in handy as the sea was unusually cold for this time of year. The staff were helpful and incredibly courteous. Unbelievable experience and we can't wait to come here again!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This little hotel is absolutely spotless, and has the friendliest and most helpful team of hotel staff that I have ever encountered. The breakfast balcony has the most wonderful view. The room was nice, and there was a bath and a shower, although the bathroom itself was a wee bit ‘tired’. In fact the only problem we had while we were there was a small intermittent leak in the bathroom, which the hotel staff tried desperately hard to fix, but without success by the time we left. The big surprise for me was how close the hotel is to the road; it actually sits on the main road through Amalfi. Although this means it isn’t the most peaceful place to sit on a hotel room balcony, because it overlooks the road, it does also overlook Amalfi beach, Amalfi town, the Bay of Naples and surrounding hills with buildings dotted up the hillsides, so all in all the view is lovely. The sound of the traffic did not disturb us at all once we closed our french windows for the night. The location is excellent for reaching the main square of Amalfi, with its shops, bars and restaurants, which is literally a 5 min walk away. Also, Amalfi is a good base from which to explore the area. Rather than pay for excursions, I would share the advice the hotel staff gave to us, to simply use local transport to get to Capri, Positano and Ravello, which are all well worth a visit. The only excursion we booked was to Pompeii, again on the advice of the hotel staff, as that would have been difficult to reach otherwise. The roof terrace and pool are lovely. The hotel also has an arrangement with the beach opposite, where you can hire a bed/umbrella for the day for 5 euros each. We booked our own transfers to and from Naples airport with a local Naples company - called Seahorse - via the internet. They were very efficient and reliable (and much less expensive than booking through a travel again in the UK). The Amalfi coast is very beautiful and I would definitely recommend a visit there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marina Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Riviera

Address: Via Comite 19, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#4 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Marina Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Riviera Hotel
Marina Riviera Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marina Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.