We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room With A View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marina Riviera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marina Riviera to your Saves list
Hotel Marina Riviera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Comite 19, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Bel Air, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Room With A View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I recently spent 10 delightful days at this lovely boutique hotel where charm and hospitality set a new standard. Caterina , the daughter of the owner was a veritable dynamo making sure everything was running smoothly. An amazing selection at breakfast including bacon and eggs was served on a terrace with a 180degree view of Amalfi, beach, boat piers and open sea.....at night spectacular My room with terrace also shared this view and I took advantage ordering room service....a bargain! Check out the sugar packets showing a torch bearer running past the hotel in 1960 Olympics. It is Caterina's father. It was my 4th stay in Amalfi and I will never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    88
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
70
306
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

A delightful, spotlessly clean hotel which is personally overseen by its very experienced owners who are always alert to the guests needs. The new pool on the roof is stunning, and when next year's additions - gym, bar etc - are complete, the roof terrace with it's fantastic views, will be amazing. The breakfast choices are top class - everything you could possibly need, and reception staff helpful and friendly. Situated so close to the centre of Amalfi, just a few steps to boats, buses etc. makes it very convenient. We enjoyed a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Just returned from the Amalfi Coast and enjoyed a wonderful experience at the Marina Riviera hotel directly on the coast. Fabulous location, within walking distance to the town, the beach, the port, the bus stop (which allow you to see all the sights without having to rent a car). The staff is very friendly and helpful. The entire property is kept clean and spotless. The breakfast offering was spectacular with many choices from local favorites and standards to please travelers from any country. The views are breathtaking !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011 via mobile

Checked in 5 hours ago and needed to post the beauty of the place. Girl at reception was very helpful and their delivery of our room service request was second to none. Wow!!!! We are on our honeymoon and looking forward to the next 4 nights in this beautiful place!!! Will update after time here.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I have no idea how or why, but we were happy there. Maybe it's Amalfi, a chilled sort of place where one tends to go with the flow and disregard minor annoyances. So never mind that the your windows face the main coastal road with roaring suicidal traffic, at least there is the sea behind it and at night the lapping of the waves sometimes prevails over the vehicular din. I am a light sleeper but slept surprisingly well given the conditions, even with the balcony door open – it's something in the air I guess, some special mix of sea salts and diesel fumes that is conducive to slumber. Never mind the meagre breakfast, after all I sincerely believe one can easily survive almost indefinitely on Parma ham, mozzarella and toast. Never mind the coffee even the smell of which that makes your eyelashes curl in the wrong direction. Never mind that the hotel's interior seems to have been designed by two madmen working at cross-purposes both of whom were probably smoking something jolly to aid creativity. Never mind that in order to get to your room's only electrical socket you have to give a three-ton desk which is home to your TV a mighty heave and separate it from the wall far enough to plug in your phone charger. Never mind that your only reading light is a supernova strength energy-saving light source obviously designed to signal of our existence to remote civilizations of Andromeda and no doubt approved for this purpose by the European Commission. Never mind that according to reception the deluxe room is different from standard only by a presence of a bath. If the purpose of your holiday is not daily bathing a foetal position, I would advise you choose standard and save some money, bearing in mind that that in case foetal bathing is not your cup of tea, you will have to use a creatively configured non-detachable shower whilst trying to keep your body within a foot of the wall. Should you accidentally sway further away, the wet shower curtain will wrap itself hungrily around you to make you look like a body of seaman being given burial at sea. Never mind the rather unsmiling reception, and never mind that your parking is 200 meters away and 20 Euros a day at a public garage built into the cliffs and boasting access control arrangements worthy of Fort Knox. Maybe they think someone will one day blow up their mountain. Never mind all that. After all you are in Amalfi. The beauty of the Marina Riviera is that you are three minutes away from the town centre with its shops and restaurants. The Eolo restaurant, where you get a 10% discount if you stay at the hotel is simply sublime. For guys who want a swimming pool, there isn't one and I think if you want a spa treatment you will be sent to the sister property Santa Caterina on the other side of town, speaking of which, it looks much nicer but should you wish to amble to town from there you will face a harrowing walk along the coastal autostrada risking either being bumped into the sea or smudged over the cliff side by a pesky bus, depending which side you choose to walk on, on a refreshingly frequent, but also unexpected, basis. If you lack adrenaline, try the same at night. It might also add a fashionable touch of white to your hair.

And did I mention that the views from the balconies are phenomenal? You have the entire harbour and town at your feet.

It worked for us, I have no idea why. As does the country itself. Viva Italia!

PS The maid service was very good and attentive, rooms are very clean, many thanks.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed at the Marina Riviera in September 2011. We arrived following a wonderful drive around the cliffs from Naples Airport. The hotel's location is perfect - near enough to walk into Amalfi and all the small town has to offer while remaining in a quiet location. As a previous reviewer commented, the highlight of our day was sitting on the balcony eating our breakfast whilst looking at the fabulous view across the very pretty bay. Breakfast was plentiful and filled us up for the rest of the day. We took the ferry to Portofino - a lovely town hidden within the cliffs - pastel coloured buildings dotted around the bay - so pretty! The small town of Amalfi has lovely restaurants, shops selling everything you could wish to buy to remind you of your wonderful holiday in this fine location!! We would love to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I researched and booked this hotel based on other, past reviews. Thanks to all! Our stay from 20/9 to 26/9 for our honeymoon was fabulous! The hotel, the staff, the service, the room, everything was phenomenal and first rate. I had entertained staying at other hotels in town, but am glad I stayed here due to the proximity to town, beach, transportation options,etc. We stayed in room #51--corner room with french doors/balcony and two windows overlooking the sea. The bathroom was also very large and worked out perfectly (separate shower and tub). We really loved the cute little pictures of Amalfi in the room and the white, arched ceilings. Also, the double sided windows kept the room very quiet and unless the windows were open, you could hardly notice that our room was right above the roadway. The staff was great and very helpful. Lucia was a sweetheart, Alphonso (at the pool) was very nice and accomodating, and all other staff went out of their way to help us (whether it be making a drink, giving us melon to supplement dinner in our room, or just providing extra beach towels). The breakfast was also fabulous--probably the best we had in Italia--a great spread of meats, cheeses, fruits, yogurt, eggs (to order) and bacon, juices and sweets/pastries. My wife and I loved the location, too--about 300 yards from the beach and about 500 yards from the main street/center of town and bus stop location. Also, the dock for local ferries was also nearby. We felt this was much easier than being located up in the cliffs, away from town and we loved being able to walk into town, see the shops/restaurants in about 5 minutes. Also, we really liked the stairwell to Atrani, and took the stairs up 200 meters over the cliff and walked into Atrani one morning. That was also very unique and special. The hotel also gave us some great restaurant recommendations. Eolo was delicious and the service was excellent---thank you for the outdoor terrace seat! And, Marina Grande on the Seafront was also amazing! (many thanks to Jean Paulo? and Guido and the Enzo family for their hospitality...what a great seaside setting!). Overall, our stay was top of the line and first rate. You can tell that Amalfi is a tourism town and most everybody in the hotel and restaurants went out of their way to help make our time relaxing and enjoyable. Again, I thought the hotel was in a perfect location....very close to town where we could do things if we wanted, but still somewhat secluded if we wanted to spend some quiet time in our room or on the roof top pool. The proximity to the beach and the buses and ferries was also very helpful. We could easily hop on the bus and go to Ravello or Maiori or Minori to enjoy a "quieter" day, go to Positano via ferry to see the shops, etc., or hop on a private tour and take a bus for 1.5 hours for a 1/2 day tour of Pompeii. While other people prefer to stay in Positano, or Priano, or Mairoi, I'm really glad we chose Amalfi as it gave us the option to do almost whatever we wanted and was large enough to find/try different restaurants, but small enough where there were not big crowds. Many thinks to everyone at Marina Rivera for their hospitality! The rooms were clean, big, and the views were amazing! We will find a way to get back sometime, that's for sure! Fabulous time!

Room Tip: Try to request a room upgrade by emailing the hotel directly. While we did mention that we were hon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marina Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Riviera

Address: Via Comite 19, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#4 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Marina Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Riviera Hotel
Marina Riviera Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marina Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.