We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in the Amalfi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marina Riviera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marina Riviera to your Saves list
Hotel Marina Riviera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pantaleone Comite 19, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“The only place to stay in the Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Checked in 5 hours ago and needed to post the beauty of the place. Girl at reception was very helpful and their delivery of our room service request was second to none. Wow!!!! We are on our honeymoon and looking forward to the next 4 nights in this beautiful place!!! Will update after time here.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    90
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
71
312
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I have no idea how or why, but we were happy there. Maybe it's Amalfi, a chilled sort of place where one tends to go with the flow and disregard minor annoyances. So never mind that the your windows face the main coastal road with roaring suicidal traffic, at least there is the sea behind it and at night the lapping of the waves sometimes prevails over the vehicular din. I am a light sleeper but slept surprisingly well given the conditions, even with the balcony door open – it's something in the air I guess, some special mix of sea salts and diesel fumes that is conducive to slumber. Never mind the meagre breakfast, after all I sincerely believe one can easily survive almost indefinitely on Parma ham, mozzarella and toast. Never mind the coffee even the smell of which that makes your eyelashes curl in the wrong direction. Never mind that the hotel's interior seems to have been designed by two madmen working at cross-purposes both of whom were probably smoking something jolly to aid creativity. Never mind that in order to get to your room's only electrical socket you have to give a three-ton desk which is home to your TV a mighty heave and separate it from the wall far enough to plug in your phone charger. Never mind that your only reading light is a supernova strength energy-saving light source obviously designed to signal of our existence to remote civilizations of Andromeda and no doubt approved for this purpose by the European Commission. Never mind that according to reception the deluxe room is different from standard only by a presence of a bath. If the purpose of your holiday is not daily bathing a foetal position, I would advise you choose standard and save some money, bearing in mind that that in case foetal bathing is not your cup of tea, you will have to use a creatively configured non-detachable shower whilst trying to keep your body within a foot of the wall. Should you accidentally sway further away, the wet shower curtain will wrap itself hungrily around you to make you look like a body of seaman being given burial at sea. Never mind the rather unsmiling reception, and never mind that your parking is 200 meters away and 20 Euros a day at a public garage built into the cliffs and boasting access control arrangements worthy of Fort Knox. Maybe they think someone will one day blow up their mountain. Never mind all that. After all you are in Amalfi. The beauty of the Marina Riviera is that you are three minutes away from the town centre with its shops and restaurants. The Eolo restaurant, where you get a 10% discount if you stay at the hotel is simply sublime. For guys who want a swimming pool, there isn't one and I think if you want a spa treatment you will be sent to the sister property Santa Caterina on the other side of town, speaking of which, it looks much nicer but should you wish to amble to town from there you will face a harrowing walk along the coastal autostrada risking either being bumped into the sea or smudged over the cliff side by a pesky bus, depending which side you choose to walk on, on a refreshingly frequent, but also unexpected, basis. If you lack adrenaline, try the same at night. It might also add a fashionable touch of white to your hair.

And did I mention that the views from the balconies are phenomenal? You have the entire harbour and town at your feet.

It worked for us, I have no idea why. As does the country itself. Viva Italia!

PS The maid service was very good and attentive, rooms are very clean, many thanks.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed at the Marina Riviera in September 2011. We arrived following a wonderful drive around the cliffs from Naples Airport. The hotel's location is perfect - near enough to walk into Amalfi and all the small town has to offer while remaining in a quiet location. As a previous reviewer commented, the highlight of our day was sitting on the balcony eating our breakfast whilst looking at the fabulous view across the very pretty bay. Breakfast was plentiful and filled us up for the rest of the day. We took the ferry to Portofino - a lovely town hidden within the cliffs - pastel coloured buildings dotted around the bay - so pretty! The small town of Amalfi has lovely restaurants, shops selling everything you could wish to buy to remind you of your wonderful holiday in this fine location!! We would love to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I researched and booked this hotel based on other, past reviews. Thanks to all! Our stay from 20/9 to 26/9 for our honeymoon was fabulous! The hotel, the staff, the service, the room, everything was phenomenal and first rate. I had entertained staying at other hotels in town, but am glad I stayed here due to the proximity to town, beach, transportation options,etc. We stayed in room #51--corner room with french doors/balcony and two windows overlooking the sea. The bathroom was also very large and worked out perfectly (separate shower and tub). We really loved the cute little pictures of Amalfi in the room and the white, arched ceilings. Also, the double sided windows kept the room very quiet and unless the windows were open, you could hardly notice that our room was right above the roadway. The staff was great and very helpful. Lucia was a sweetheart, Alphonso (at the pool) was very nice and accomodating, and all other staff went out of their way to help us (whether it be making a drink, giving us melon to supplement dinner in our room, or just providing extra beach towels). The breakfast was also fabulous--probably the best we had in Italia--a great spread of meats, cheeses, fruits, yogurt, eggs (to order) and bacon, juices and sweets/pastries. My wife and I loved the location, too--about 300 yards from the beach and about 500 yards from the main street/center of town and bus stop location. Also, the dock for local ferries was also nearby. We felt this was much easier than being located up in the cliffs, away from town and we loved being able to walk into town, see the shops/restaurants in about 5 minutes. Also, we really liked the stairwell to Atrani, and took the stairs up 200 meters over the cliff and walked into Atrani one morning. That was also very unique and special. The hotel also gave us some great restaurant recommendations. Eolo was delicious and the service was excellent---thank you for the outdoor terrace seat! And, Marina Grande on the Seafront was also amazing! (many thanks to Jean Paulo? and Guido and the Enzo family for their hospitality...what a great seaside setting!). Overall, our stay was top of the line and first rate. You can tell that Amalfi is a tourism town and most everybody in the hotel and restaurants went out of their way to help make our time relaxing and enjoyable. Again, I thought the hotel was in a perfect location....very close to town where we could do things if we wanted, but still somewhat secluded if we wanted to spend some quiet time in our room or on the roof top pool. The proximity to the beach and the buses and ferries was also very helpful. We could easily hop on the bus and go to Ravello or Maiori or Minori to enjoy a "quieter" day, go to Positano via ferry to see the shops, etc., or hop on a private tour and take a bus for 1.5 hours for a 1/2 day tour of Pompeii. While other people prefer to stay in Positano, or Priano, or Mairoi, I'm really glad we chose Amalfi as it gave us the option to do almost whatever we wanted and was large enough to find/try different restaurants, but small enough where there were not big crowds. Many thinks to everyone at Marina Rivera for their hospitality! The rooms were clean, big, and the views were amazing! We will find a way to get back sometime, that's for sure! Fabulous time!

Room Tip: Try to request a room upgrade by emailing the hotel directly. While we did mention that we were hon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Booked this based past reviews and did not go wrong. What a location and the views from the room (a triple with plenty of room) and the terrace are wonderful, Being 100m up the road from the town centre meant it was that bit quieter and you look back on the town. Beach towels and an access path to a private beach are provided.

Of note is the breakfast spread with individually cooked eggs to you liking, multiple breads and pastries and a selection of european honeys. Want a proper Italian coffee, they will happily make it for you. Service was always top class.

yes it costs a bit more than many hotels in the town, but it was worth ebery penny. Will be back again.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a room with a view. Parking is not easy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Calif
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Over a period of months i was watching on trip advisor both the Grand Hotel Convento (5 star) and the Marina Riviera. I chose Marina Riviera because of the opposite feel on staff and service from the Grand Hotel Convento. My philosophy is simple, if you're going to pay good money, whoever you're paying better provide the service that goes along with it. The reviews about the Convento didn't indicate that.

The Marina Riviera was fantastic. The hotel service was the best we experienced in our 4 city stay (Bellagio, Lucca, Orvieto, Amalfi). On a daily basis from top to bottom the staff was caring and friendly, from the bar to the breakfast staff, and the front desk. The front desk (Especially Lucia :) Ciao Lucia) was helpful in explaining tours, places to go etc.

I did meet and talk with the owner Giusy, i did not speak with her husband Antonio. She was so proud of the fact that Kim Kardashian stayed at her other Hotel the Caterina, she showed me all the photos. I'm glad i met her she was a very friendly woman and owner.

Our room was perfect (#53), with a balcony and jacuzzi overlooking the small bay and the beach. The room itself was wonderful, pure white vaulted ceilings, the bed facing the arched windows out to the sea! The only thing I would tell Giusy is to get the darn TV (permanently mounted at the end of the bed) out of the way of the view. The bathroom was also spectacular and fully modern, the best we experienced. The airconditioning was quiet enough. While this room was over the road, the double heavy doors blocked almost all noise. The room was cleaned spotlessly.

The breakfasts were the best we experienced in Italy, with a full range of food. Didn't need lunch after the breakfast they served. We did use the pool roof one night and it was awesome as the sun was going down. Interesting thought Affonso said it was closing down around 7:30 early for Italy, oh well no worries.

The bar was always open or someone from the front desk stepped into the breach to help.

Amalfi was a great location for half day trips to: Ravello, Positano, Pompeii etc. The ferries all stop here.

Would we stay at the Marina Riviera again? Absolutely! Probably our best Hotel Experience in Italy, after 5 different trips here. Giusy and Antonio keep it up! and keep hiring the same friendly staff! That is primo!

One more final touch by the Riviera. By email i told them it was our wedding anniversary (we were married in Italy 5 years previously in Sept). The provided us with complimentary Champagne and a certificate by the owners. A wonderful touch and we kept our certificate.

We will back.

Room Tip: A view of both the Mediterranean and the town of Amalfi from Room # 53!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Marina Riviera for 3 nights in early September and were impressed by the staff friendliness, their service and the quality of the rooms. The free fast wi fi was a bonus as well as the excelent restaurant Eolo in the same building.
The service at the rooftop pool was great and the room and hotel were exceptionly clean.
You could not find a better setting for evening drinks than on the terrace looking towards the setting sun with the lights of Amalfi before you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marina Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Riviera

Address: Via Pantaleone Comite 19, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#4 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Marina Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Riviera Hotel
Marina Riviera Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marina Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.