We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marina Riviera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Marina Riviera to your Saves list
Hotel Marina Riviera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Comite 19, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The view from this hotel of the Amalfi coast was SPECTACULAR! We stayed here during our 2 week honeymoon in Italy. As honeymooners we were upgraded to a larger room and greeted with a free bottle of prosecco. The room was beautiful, living room area, hot tub, and bed with a balcony alongside which overlooked the beach and coast. The breakfast was by far the best- most complete- of our trip, served a few egg options, and a few other hot items. The location was great, 2 min walk into the town. The food was excellent everywhere we went. I would HIGHLY recomennd the affialted restaurant EOLO. It was pricey but absolutely worth every penny. make sure you get a reservation on the balcony. It was the best dining expereince we ever had- service/food/wine amazing.

Room Tip: Make sure you email in advance to let them know if you are visiting on your honeymoon, for the great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    87
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
69
304
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennesee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Wonderful hotel. family run. Proprietor very warm. Nice spacious rooms. Excellent breakfasts. terrace with dynamic view of Amalfi. 2nd stay there. Will return

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Marina Riviers for 4 days in August 2011. The hotel has got a very good location, the staff are very friendly, the rooms are very clean and best of all the breakfast are looks over the town and the sea,. In the morning you can have breakfast on the terraceand
you can see beautiful views of the sea and town. The Main sqaure is only 5 mintues walk and the resturants and coffee bars are all around the sqaure. The beach is just few yards from the hotel. W e found this hotel the best with the perfect location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

This hotel was opened after an extensive renovation approx 12 months ago, first build in 1880, it is perfectly perched on the hillside with commanding views over the Amalfi coast.
It's only few minutes walk to the historic Amalfi centre and the beach.

As guest to the hotel you can rent both a beach umbrella and a chair by the water for few euros per day.

The rooms are clean and airy, with a sparkling white tiled floor, and the views from the balconies enchanting.

The breakfast balconies overlook the town of Amalfi and the sea, making it a very pleasant start to the day.

A solarium on the roof top, with a pool (opened July 2011) and a lifesaver, makes it attractive for those with very young children who don't want to go to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

My husband and I got married at Hotel Marina Riviera (HMR) and it was truly perfect. I'll describe what we experienced in two parts: the first will describe our experience with our hotel stay; the second will focus on our experience with wedding ceremony that we performed on the hotel's roof terrace.
Part 1: The Hotel Stay
Service: The service was truly exceptional. I can't stress this enough. Everyone on the staff is genuinely friendly and helpful. This came in particularly handy as we approached our wedding day, but more on that later.
Location:
The hotel is located in the town of Amalfi (on the Amalfi coast) and is just down the street (3 minute walk) from the town center. The center is where the ferry station, bus station, and beach are all located. Just across the street from all of that is a strip that houses the majority of shops and restaurants in Amalfi. In short, HMR is a short walk from anything most travellers would want to be close to. The hotel also happens to be situated on a piece of land that juts out onto the ocean a bit. The result is absolutely stunning ocean/cliff views from the hotel.
The room:
We stayed in a room with a balcony and one of those aforementioned stunning views. The room and hotel in general is clean and beautiful. The view from the room, however, is a real differentiator. Waking up each morning, opening up your balcony door at the sound of crashing waves and sitting on a private balcony with a full on view of the Amalfi coast is not a bad way to spend a couple of vacation days.
Amenities:
Breakfast was included in our stay and it was delicious. It consisted of an assortment of pastries, chef’s specials of the day (egg based and other cooked items), antipasto, several beverage options, including cappuccinos. Not to mention, the breakfast terrace is super nice with some (you guessed it) awesome views. Wi-fi is included and in addition, they have a nice desktop in the lobby you can use.
Part 2: The Wedding Planning
Support:
The hotel staff was instrumental in pulling off what my husband and I consider to be our dream wedding. Everyone was so supportive and patient from the beginning all the way up to the ‘I do’. The staff was accessible and responsive to every request (recommending an officiant and hairdresser, setting up on the wedding day, providing appetizers and drinks for wedding guests, facilitating transportation from hotel to reception sight, etc.). I did all of my planning via email and phone from the States and thanks to the service at HMR, I can say that my wedding planning was overall stress-free.
Venue:
The wedding ceremony took place on the top floor terrace. It is gorgeous up there; I’ll leave it at that. See the photos attached.
In summary, our entire experience at HMR was exceptional. My husband and I just got back from Italy and already we’re eager to go back and stay at Hotel Marina Rivera. It is an awesome hotel with an outstanding staff and phenomenal views.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Our room was very nice, it was not decorated so fabulous but the room we had, had french doors that opened to a small balcony with obviously views to the Amalfi Coast and looking down to the town. It was comfortable but not luxurious. The Hotel itself was very Boutiqueish,They serve continental Breakfast on their balcony which is very picturesque and it was by far the best breakfast we had in all of Europe. Aside from all the wonderful fresh goodies on the buffet table, which they changed everyday, they would ask you how you like your eggs, you can have any style & they would make it on the spot, no one does that !! The cappuccino coffee and espresso "ON THE HOUSE", which by the way if you went to buy one it would be around E3.25 which is about $4,75 for a coffee. The Euro is out of control , so that makes continental breakfast a huge savings, and lots of value !!
The entire staff i thought was very friendly. The location of the hotel is perfect, just a short walk to the square where you can shop to your hearts content and to the port as well in case you decide to take a ferry to Capri for the day !
We love this hotel and i would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

The hotel is fantastic! Great location and with a panoramic view of the city. Great value with the hospitality of a small hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marina Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Riviera

Address: Via Comite 19, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#4 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Marina Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Riviera Hotel
Marina Riviera Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marina Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.