We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very imposing in the middle of a small square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duomo di Sant'Andrea Apostolo

Duomo di Sant'Andrea Apostolo
Piazza Duomo, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Attractions in Amalfi
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals, Religious Sites
Attraction Details
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very imposing in the middle of a small square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I never expected to see such a huge cathedral in the middle of a small square, in a small village like Amalfi so it was very impressive. Especially when you consider what effort it must have taken to carry all those stones up to that height in the 12th century. It was explained to us that Amalfi was not some little fishing village but rather a maritime power during the Middle Ages. If you go to Amalfi, it is impossible not to see this cathedral as it is the largest and most impressive building there. There is a small fee to see the cloisters,basilica, museum, crypt and cathedral but totally worth it. There are a zillion steps to climb to reach the cathedral and it is not accessible any other way.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    193
    14
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“much more than meets the eye”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Twas raining so took a punt on this baby. To say I'm glad I did is a holy understatement. Yes, the outside is beautiful, with its gold mosaics, great bronze doors and steep steps but it's the inside that counts. The pretty courtyard greets you with its Byzantine columns and sarcophagi. Then through to a mini museum filled with the most varied and wonderful religious stuff(I'm not big on religion but you can't deny it inspires the artist). mitres encrusted with jewels, mother of pearl crosses, massive silver altar pieces, intricate silver book bindings, a full sized gold and ruby red sedan for bishops, emerald chalices, life sized wooden figurines....and that's just a third of it. Next was the crypt, seriously, WOW!!! Beautifully painted scenes from the passion on the ceiling, coloured marble everywhere, huge bronze statue of Andrew, marble statues galore, fancy altars, on and on and on. Few bob went into this joint I'm telling you. Finally you get to the cathedral which is pretty flipping impressive. The main bit at the front is a huge marble and gold wonder thing with lovely works of art all around. The whole place is flanked by all manner of sculpture, clearly wrought by highly skilled craftsman. I'm looking back at what I have written and it really does it no justice. Only 3 euros, excellent English guide material thrown in and you can take pictures(but for goodness sake turn your bleedin flash off and be respectful in the cathedral part). The sun had come out by the time I got out so maybe the big man was trying to tell me something. Nice house he's got anyway.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
2 reviews
“Saint Andrea Cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We agree in all comments how impressive is this church. Take a coffee in the plaza in front of the church and admire the beauty of the marble.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Amazing cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

One of the most amazing cathedrals I have ever seen. The stairs leading to it are spectacular, and the interior is breathtaking. I am not a fan of a sacral architecture but this duomo will please everybody.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortona, Italy
Top Contributor
1,193 reviews 1,193 reviews
926 attraction reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
472 helpful votes 472 helpful votes
“The best church of the whole Amalfi Coast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Located in the heart of Amalfi, I think without any doubt it is the most beautiful church of the whole Amalfi Coast. The thing that characterizes it is the big staircase, already to look at it from the square was exciting because this church is of superb beauty, artistically relevant, on the contrary, climb the steps that lead up to the entrance of the church from this point you have a stunning panoramic views across the square, it was a fantastic experience. The church interior is characteristic but nothing material if I compare to most of the churches in the area, but no doubt as I said the main attraction is the external facade and the view from the steps.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duomo di Sant'Andrea Apostolo also viewed

 

Been to Duomo di Sant'Andrea Apostolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duomo di Sant'Andrea Apostolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.