We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amalfi Church of Santa Maria Maggiore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duomo di Sant'Andrea Apostolo

Duomo di Sant'Andrea Apostolo
Piazza Duomo, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Attractions in Amalfi
Type: Religious Sites, Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
Attraction details
Lake Forest, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amalfi Church of Santa Maria Maggiore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a nice little stop while you are at Amalfi. It was certainly more than we had expected to see.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    532
    234
    16
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“unexpected prize”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Navigating the overcrowded, touristy Amalfi Coast that also manages to remain a bit seedy just as my Father describes it from the 50's, this church delighted me. Fronting on a small, overrun square, the facade is interesting, combining styles in a memorable way. At 3€ admission, it's a bargain. Unassuming cloister opens on an older sanctuary now used as a museum and treasure house. Several lovely silver-gilt monstrances and chalices, as well as miters and robes. Descending to the crypt I expected musty and grim, but was met with a fine, unusual horizontally oriented chapel, marbled, glided, frescoes and inlaid. Worthy ceiling; every inch decorated. A striking, curved "Theatre box" perhaps for dignitaries protrudes from the high wall opposite the altar. Wow factor. Ascending to the main sanctuary I admired Venetian Murano 16th century style glass chandeliers in every archway. Side altars and the statue of St. Andrew, complete with reliquary in its chest, were worthy of examination. Suddenly the chandeliers blazed and the organ sounded, ushering in a funeral procession for a first responder. I had the honor to quietly observe the customs of the country and the beginning of the mass before leaving the families to their privacy.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“St Andrew - Scotland's Patron Saint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Visited Amalfi on the Road of 1,000 bends stopping for a leisurely bruschetta lunch, a walk through fascinating, narrow alleys and found the Duomo di Sant'Andea Apostolo in a very 'busy' square and at the top of a steep flight of some 50 - 60 steps. St Andrew's Cathedral .. Rich in history, paintings, frescoes, stunning ceiling art and statues .. another must see when in the area!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

As part of a tour of the Amalfi coast, I enjoyed time at the Cathedral. The admission charge enabled me to visit 5 parts of the building (Cloister of Paradise, Basilica of the Crucifix, Crypt, Cathedral and Museum).

The cathedral is on the immediate right when going into the square (after the coach drop off point). It has some steep steps leading up to the entrance but it is worth the climb up.

The building has been well maintained. I particularly enjoyed walking through the garden/cloister.

My suggestion - if like me, you have 2.5 hours in Amalfi, is to do whatever else you want to do and to finish your trip at the cathedral - you could spend anything from 15 minutes to over an hour here dependent upon the time you have left and you will be very close to any transport 'pick up' point.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Central location, best place to watch people around
There is a small fountain in front of, and nice restaurants.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duomo di Sant'Andrea Apostolo also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Duomo di Sant'Andrea Apostolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duomo di Sant'Andrea Apostolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.