We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unexpected prize”
Review of Duomo di Sant'Andrea Apostolo

Piazza Duomo, Amalfi, Italy
Update attraction details
Ranked #2 of 16 attractions in Amalfi
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals
316 visitor photos
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    119
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Duomo di Sant'Andrea Apostolo
See the most recent reviews
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“unexpected prize”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Navigating the overcrowded, touristy Amalfi Coast that also manages to remain a bit seedy just as my Father describes it from the 50's, this church delighted me. Fronting on a small, overrun square, the facade is interesting, combining styles in a memorable way. At 3€ admission, it's a bargain. Unassuming cloister opens on an older sanctuary now used as a museum and treasure house. Several lovely silver-gilt monstrances and chalices, as well as miters and robes. Descending to the crypt I expected musty and grim, but was met with a fine, unusual horizontally oriented chapel, marbled, glided, frescoes and inlaid. Worthy ceiling; every inch decorated. A striking, curved "Theatre box" perhaps for dignitaries protrudes from the high wall opposite the altar. Wow factor. Ascending to the main sanctuary I admired Venetian Murano 16th century style glass chandeliers in every archway. Side altars and the statue of St. Andrew, complete with reliquary in its chest, were worthy of examination. Suddenly the chandeliers blazed and the organ sounded, ushering in a funeral procession for a first responder. I had the honor to quietly observe the customs of the country and the beginning of the mass before leaving the families to their privacy.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“St Andrew - Scotland's Patron Saint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Visited Amalfi on the Road of 1,000 bends stopping for a leisurely bruschetta lunch, a walk through fascinating, narrow alleys and found the Duomo di Sant'Andea Apostolo in a very 'busy' square and at the top of a steep flight of some 50 - 60 steps. St Andrew's Cathedral .. Rich in history, paintings, frescoes, stunning ceiling art and statues .. another must see when in the area!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

As part of a tour of the Amalfi coast, I enjoyed time at the Cathedral. The admission charge enabled me to visit 5 parts of the building (Cloister of Paradise, Basilica of the Crucifix, Crypt, Cathedral and Museum).

The cathedral is on the immediate right when going into the square (after the coach drop off point). It has some steep steps leading up to the entrance but it is worth the climb up.

The building has been well maintained. I particularly enjoyed walking through the garden/cloister.

My suggestion - if like me, you have 2.5 hours in Amalfi, is to do whatever else you want to do and to finish your trip at the cathedral - you could spend anything from 15 minutes to over an hour here dependent upon the time you have left and you will be very close to any transport 'pick up' point.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa, India
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A beautiful Cathedral”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

A nice surprise in the center of Amalfi as the Duomo stands on top of a long flight of steps and is partly hidden.
A beautiful small garden leads to the magnificent cloister. Walk around the cloister where you can see some old frescos. Then continue on to a small museum with interesting religious artifacts. After that you will walk down to the crypt which is very heavily decorated.
Climb back and you will enter the main Duomo which is impressive in size.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Architecture of the building and surroundings areas, plus the service also the people who showed us the place

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duomo di Sant'Andrea Apostolo also viewed

 

Been to Duomo di Sant'Andrea Apostolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duomo di Sant'Andrea Apostolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.