We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful Cathedral” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duomo di Sant'Andrea Apostolo

Duomo di Sant'Andrea Apostolo
Piazza Duomo, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Attractions in Amalfi
Type: Religious Sites, Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
Attraction details
Goa, India
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A beautiful Cathedral”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

A nice surprise in the center of Amalfi as the Duomo stands on top of a long flight of steps and is partly hidden.
A beautiful small garden leads to the magnificent cloister. Walk around the cloister where you can see some old frescos. Then continue on to a small museum with interesting religious artifacts. After that you will walk down to the crypt which is very heavily decorated.
Climb back and you will enter the main Duomo which is impressive in size.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    228
    16
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Architecture of the building and surroundings areas, plus the service also the people who showed us the place

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“The best cathedral to visit on the Amalfi coast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We visited six other churches while staying on the Amalfi coast and St. Andrews was the most impressive. If you are going to pick one church to tour, this would be my choice. The architecture is very impressive and unique (mixing several different styles such as byzantine and gothic). The Duomo sits high above a large staicase and dominates the piazza which is the main hub of the ancient Amalfi town. Even if you don't go in, walk up the steps to the Duomo and enjoy the impressive facade. There is a small fee to get into the Duomo. There is a small museum with interesting artifacts (particularly if you are Catholic) and the inside of the church is a testament to the fact that Amalfi was once one of the wealthy power centers of Italy.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
139 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
350 helpful votes 350 helpful votes
“This church is a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Without having done much research on the town of Amalfi itself, our family took the ferry from Positano to Amalfi and just started wandering around soaking in the atmosphere of this quaint village by the sea. The Cattedrale di Sant'Andrea was the only big attraction I had heard of so we headed towards the very visible bell tower and walked right into the Piazza Duomo which was as pleasant a piazza as any we had seen in Italy. The centerpiece of the square is the Cattedrale di Sant'Andrea. It costs a few euro to get in but it is definitely worth it.

The outside of the Cattedrale di Sant'Andrea is beautiful. Definitely get a picture on the iconic steps of the church. We sat there and enjoyed a drink and some gelato. We saw a cruise tour group hurriedly gather on the steps, snap a group picture, and then hustle off. Definitely NOT the way to enjoy this place, I thought to myself.

They do offer a guided tour but the self-guided tour of the church follows a one way path and is simple to do yourself. When you first enter you walk into a peaceful garden called the Cloister of Paradise. Paradise may be overrating it a bit, but it's nice nonetheless. The real payoff comes when you enter the church and the tomb of St. Andrew itself. Inside are incredible displays of ancient relics--crowns, chalices, etc. This was a very pleasant surprise. We were told the style of the church is Byzantine. The tomb of St. Andrews itself is just stunning. Pictures don't do it justice because it is very dimly lit, but the atmosphere of actually being there is just amazing. You truly feel like you have been transported back in time. The frescoes and arches on the ceiling are fantastic as well. For families, there is a bathroom to the left side of the entranceway when you go up the steps.

Don't miss the Piazza Duomo and the Cattedrale di Sant'Andrea when visiting Amalfi. It was one of my favorite churches in Italy.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
139 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
350 helpful votes 350 helpful votes
“This is not the correct name for the church”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I think a lot of people are mistaking the Cattedrale di Sant'Andrea (aka the Amalfi Cathedral) with the Church of Santa Maria Maggiore. The Cattedrale di Sant'Andrea is the main church located at the Piazza Duomo in the center of Amalfi. It is a spectacular church and is easily a 5 star attraction. Inside is St. Andrew's tomb and the Cloister of Paradise. But it needs to be pointed out that a lot of the posted pics of THIS attraction are of the Cattedrale di Sant'Andrea and not the Church of Santa Maria Maggiore (I know of one in Rome). If you are visiting Amalfi, make note of this.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duomo di Sant'Andrea Apostolo also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Duomo di Sant'Andrea Apostolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duomo di Sant'Andrea Apostolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.