We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miramalfi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Miramalfi Hotel to your Saves list
Miramalfi Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Salvatore Quasimodo 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

The hotel was excellent! We booked for 5 days and took the breakfast and dinner option. The food was amazing! The location was a little up the hill on the way to Positano but an easy walk down hill and could be done on the reverse if you missed the shuttle. Spending the day out and about and not having to find a place for dinner was great. There were many options each night and they accommodated a shy 10 yr old who did not want to try too many new things. Our flights were delayed for hours so when we arrived at the hotel around 11pm ( we were supposed to get there at 2Pm) They had a meal waiting for us! The staff were excellent and if you are booking on your own the hotel will arrange transfer to the airport (which you will need). The rooms were spacious and clean with a balcony over the sea. Wonderful place - would go there again without a hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    123
    47
    25
    11
See reviews for
68
201
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Hotel Miramlfi was about $250 a night for two people. Paying this much money...you would expect exceptional service.

Every room has a balcony and faces the sea. The view was second to none. It was amazing!

The room was rather big for European standards and the bathroom was very nice. The only issue we had with the bathroom was that the water was not going down the drain at a normal rate in the shower. This was not a big deal though.

The other issue was that the walls were RAZOR thin. You could hear everything above, below, and next to you. This was definitely not good especially early in the morning.

The hotel does have high speed wireless internet..but can only be accessed in the reception area..not in your room

The hotel was in a good location. It took about 10 - 15 minutes walking to the center of town. The hotel also offered a free shuttle bus that operated at designated times.

The staff was not as friendly as could be. They were not willing to go that "extra mile" to help out. Our bus to Salerno train station (to depart for Florence) was taking off at 6:30am. We asked the hotel if a shuttle bus can bring us to the center of town since we would have to bring all of our luggage. They said they would not be able to as the shuttle service did not start until 10am. We ended up rolling our luggage down the hill (10 - 15 min walk). For being as expensive as the hotel was...they should have gone that "extra mile" to help out.

There was a restaurant in the hotel..but it was way too over priced. Each drink at the pool was about 10 euros. Definitely not worth it. Everything at the hotel was over priced.

We bought our own liquor and wine from the center of Amalfi..but the hotel wouldn't let us drink our own stuff except if it was only in our room...which i thought was ridiculous.

The hotel had a great salt water pool that went from about 3ft to approx 12 ft in depth.

There are plenty of nice restaurants to eat at the center of Amalfi.

Make sure to visit the towns of Sorrento and Positano via the SITA bus. Sorrento was one of my favorite spots on the Coast.

Overall..you could probably find a better hotel for the money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

This hotel is in a stunning location, perched on a cliff looking back into the Amalfi Bay. Our room had a breathtaking outlook across the mediterranean and coast. The room was small but clean with a great balcony. Make sure you get down to the pool and swimmimng and sunning platforms at the base of the cliff. they are quite surreal. Service was OK, but a bit brusque in the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

The sea views from the room balconies, restaurants and bars must be among the best in the world. We spent hours just looking down on the bustling harbour, moonwatching or cloudspotting ... beautiful. The service and welcome from the staff were excellent - professional but friendly and unstuffy. The restuarant was superb and the choice of dibnner menu was exceptional for a half-board option. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. We were delighted with our week at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Great location, minutes from the center, we would walk down through the tunnel and be in the center in minutes! The view from our rooms were spectacular, rooms were big and clean. Breakfast in the morning was lovely, the cafe is located right on the cliff overlooking the city of Amalfi. The pool is located at the bottom of the cliff and there are stairs leading you straight into the Mediterranean ocean if you wish to swim. The staff was wonderful, and I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay again!

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

It would have been extremly helpful to have a brochure in the room to explain the facilities provided eg restaurants, opening times, how TV worked and why it needed two handsets to work it, swimming pool arrangements, how to get outside line. One of the facilities (forget which) we only found out the day we left.

Their travel agent for trips hopeless. We booked one trip the day we arrived and told it was full, one other trip was not being run and one we booked was cancelled day before. Hotel then told us they could have used another firm they knew, but too late by then.

Excellent hotel with magnificent views and good food., but attitude generally was here we are providing fine views and good facilities, now you go and get on with it. ie poor customer service

More frequent shuttle bus would have been nice

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

You cannot fault this hotel for its location, the views of Amalfi from balcony, bar, restaurant and terrace were amazing. Also the walk to and from Amalfi was not too much of a problem and I would agree with the other reviews about all of this. The rooms although dated were clean and with the view from the balcony and Amalfi and the region to explore you don't spend much time in the room. We were their on half board and unfortunately we cannot recommend the food or the service in the restaurant which is not the most organised or customer friendly we have encountered in Italy. However the restaurants within Amalfi provide the usual high standard of Italian cuisine. The service from all other areas of the hotel, bar, reception etc. were to the usual standard we expect in Italy.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miramalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramalfi Hotel

Address: Via Salvatore Quasimodo 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramalfi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Miramalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramalfi Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miramalfi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.