We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with breathtaking views & friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miramalfi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Miramalfi Hotel to your Saves list
Miramalfi Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Salvatore Quasimodo 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel with breathtaking views & friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

Just returned from eight nights with children 10 and 8. We had half-board and the meals were excellent, served either indoor or outdoor in a restaurant with the most stunning view of Amalfi. When you see how expensive the area is you realise this hotel is excellent value. The waiters were so friendly and willing to recommend wine - which was all reasonably priced and very enjoyable (a lot were local). They would cook the kids pretty much whatever they wanted (spaghetti of course). Both breakfast and dinner were very good -we managed 4 courses every night. The rooms were very comfortable with air-con so quiet you could leave it on at night.
A lift took us down to the pool or to the beach which is a platform hewn into the rock with sunbeds from which you can dive straight into the clear blue sea. The pictures don't do it justice.
We had such a great time that our son burst into tears when we left !!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    153
    52
    28
    12
See reviews for
81
231
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

Stayed at the Miramalfi for 3 nights at the end of May. The staff were friendly and helpful - two especially helpful things were booking our taxi from Naples for us prior to arrival, and explaining the SITA bus system to us. Our room was small but clean, and the views made up for any shortfalls! Breakfast was what you expect from a continental breakfast, - cereal, fruit, pastries, scrambled eggs, bacon, ham, and cheese - although coffee from a machine when you're in Italy was disappointing. (Note: We did see an Italian family ask a waiter for and get freshly brewed espressos.) The walk to town was fairly hairy with no real footpaths on some very bendy roads, but only took about 15 minutes. Great hotel, great town, great holiday!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

Stayed at Miramalfi for a week while we visited the entire Amalfi Coast. The hotel has amazing views, the rooms are big and the bathroom is excellent; very modern and clean.
The center of town is about ten minutes away, walking downhill and the hotel has a shuttle bus that runs back and forth two times in the morning and three in the afternoon.
The staff is very amiable, specially Gabrielle, the bartender, Marisa at the front desk and Tony at the restaurant. We had a wonderful stay and I would definitely recommend the hotel. The decor is simple, but nice and the location is excellent. I would definitely recommend it.
Madeleine & Raymond Longaray
Miami, Florida, USA

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle wa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

Just recently returned from twelve nights on the Amalfi coast, stayed the entire time at the Miramalfi. Did day trips from that location. The staff were all so very helpful and friendly, acutally seemed that they enjoyed their job and wanted to help in whatever way they could. The desk staff and barman along with shuttle drivers were so fantastic! Was travelling by myself and needed help and information about day trips and they were over the top gracious! Alfonso and Marita at the desk were always there with a smile and helpful information whenever I needed it. Location was perfect, was just what it said it would be as far and distance to town and bus stop right outside the front door. Was only a 10 minute walk to town and bus running very frequently to and from and always on time. Extraordinary experience there, would highly recommend to anyone! Have many pictures but haven't downloaded to this computer yet.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, nv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

Our travel agent booked us for the Miramalfi claiming the hotel was a 4 star hotel. When we arrived at the hotel the hotel appeared to be very old and outdated. Since we were going to be out of the hotel during the day, the decor didn't really bother me.

The staff walked us to our room (double w/ ocean view) and after getting settled in and slightly unpacked, I started to notice hairs in the bathroom. There was hair on the bathroom floor, bathroom counter and even in the toilet. I also noticed hair on the floor since the floor was tile. I called down to the front desk who sent someone up to inspect the room and they determined that the room was not cleaned. The staff then assigned us another room, their last one they claimed, in which we once again started to unpack and get settled in. During my visit to the bathroom to unpack my cosmetics, I once again noticed hair in the bathroom. This time there was more hair on the floor and the countertop. I also noticed the bathtub had mold growing around the tub! I decided to accept the room since it was the "last" one and decided to spray everything down with Lysol (thank goodness for Lysol). But after pulling the comforter back, i noticed several (not one or two) but several human hairs from the lower region (or could have been chest hairs). At that time I called down to the front desk who informed me that they should have checked the room but they couldn't assist me anymore than that. I ended up checking out and going to another hotel down the street. I am still trying to get my money refunded from this hotel since their rooms were dirty. I can only assume they only changed the bed sheets and removed the trash from the room and nothing else. Travelers be forewarned!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The rooms not being cleaned
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

Stayed here with our extended family in July for 2 weeks. It is a wonderfully relaxing place to stay with amazing views from just about every room in the hotel.
The rooms are fairly small and basic (we were in the east wing) and the couple in our party who paid extra for a superior room did not think it was worth it. There are lots of terraces down towards the sea and the pool with ample seating and the most beautiful views out to sea and over Amalfi.
We walked down to Amalfi every evening for drinks in a little bar and found that the hotel shuttle bus runs at a perfect time for heading back for dinner.
We stayed on a half board basis and really enjoyed our dinners - in the whole fortnight we did not have the same thing twice. I agree coffee at breakfast could be improved but the waiters are more than happy to make a fresh cappucino if you ask them and having breakfast outside on the terrace with that amazing view more than makes up for any defficiency. The majority of staff were really friendly and helpful and parking was easy on the roof of the hotel.
Altogether a lovely place and we plan to go back to stay there again some time.

  • Liked — the fantastic setting and views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

We stayed in this hotel for a week and were very pleased with it. On arrival at the hotel there was a porter to take our luggage down the steps into reception and checkin was very easy. Our room, though fairly small was very clean and had a balcony with a fantastic view overlooking Amalfi one way & the sea the other. The floor was tiled which i thought more in keeping wth the style of the hotel and more hygenic than the usual carpet. It was very quiet which was a plus, and the balcony door had a ventilated shutter over it so we could close it to keep the heat out at night but still get air into the room. There was also a glass door which when closed blocked out any outside noise (eg kids throwing firecrackers in town) & the A/C was very efficient. The bed was comfortable but was let down by some very lumpy pillows, However when I left a note for housekeeping, written in my best phrase book Italian, asking for softer pillows, they did provide a new one & although it wasn't much better than the others, it did show that they were trying to help. The staff were quite pleasant but the outstanding one was a guy called Arturo on reception. He was incredibly helpful, friendly and efficient and whenever we asked him something he would do his best to help.
We booked excursions to Rome, Pompei & Herculaneum through the hotel which worked well except that the hotel insisted in them being paid for in cash, rather than credit cards which meant a couple of extra trips to the service till. If you stay here it's worth remembering this and allowing extra cash.
Breakfast was Ok though not outstanding and didn't entice us to eat dinner at the hotel. Amalfi is about a 10 minute walk away & there are plenty of places to visit for dinner. The walk back up the hill afterwards worked off the pasta or pizza we'd eaten.
Although the lumpy pillows and the food wouldn't let me give it a five star rating, it definitely gets 4 stars and i would recommend it to anybody. It's comfortable, clean and unpretentious and I would go back like a shot. given the chance.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location
  • Disliked — Pillows
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 30 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 677 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#13 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#22 of 30 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramalfi Hotel

Address: Via Salvatore Quasimodo 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramalfi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Miramalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramalfi Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miramalfi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.