We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent views, disappointing services” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Miramalfi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Miramalfi Hotel to your Saves list
Miramalfi Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Salvatore Quasimodo 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Magnificent views, disappointing services”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Miramalfi is a dated hotel with magnificent views. When we arrived we found out the pool and beach were closed. The restaurant was also closed and the shuttle bus into town was not operating. The air conditioning appeared not to be working. The rates were not reflective of 60 % of services not operating due to the season.
The staff were indifferent at best and we waited 1/2 hour in the bar without service until finally we searched for someone who could serve drinks.
The gentleman who showed us the beach and pool we couldn't use was quite delightful.
The was no information in the rooms in terms of local operating times for shops, restaurants or tour operators, so it was very much trial and error, especially the first night when because of the unfamiliar surroundings we could not find a restaurant which was open and the hotel were quite clear in not helping us. The road into town is quite scary especially at night for the uninitiated, and is not suggested for anyone with a mobility restriction.
At no time were we asked if we were enjoying our stay or given any suggestions for local activities.
We were not shown how to use any facilities in the rooms including the shutters which we accidentally found on the last day. The rooms become unbearably hot in the mornings and to have known about the shutters would have ensured some level of comfort
We asked reception to confirm our arrival in Rome and a flight to Spain but no assistance was forthcoming.
Television reception and wifi intermittent.
Our passports were held for the duration of the stay rather than copied and were the not returned in due course at checkout. Fortunately our transfer driver was notified and retrieved them for us.
A serene disinterest in the guests with elevated price tag.

Room Tip: Great views from end rooms, activate shutters in the morning to ensure rooms don't become over h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    123
    48
    26
    11
See reviews for
69
203
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the Miramalfi with my husband in October 2014, our room was upgraded on arrival, so we had a fantastic ocean view from our bed and balcony. Room was comfy and very clean. Staff were wonderful very helpful. Food was good at the restaurant and the waitstaff were very attentive. Great location we walked into Amalfi everyday. We stayed 4 days and would definitely stay again if we go back to Amalfi.

Room Tip: It was not busy in October so good time to go. Ask for corner room facing amalfi it's picture p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claremont, nh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

older hotel, but prime location. walk into village. original Jacuzzi bath ,,,interesting. November is low season, nice and quiet. balcony overlooked the coast- wonderful. able to sleep with the door open, listening to the waves ...rooms were separated by hedges, so shhh, your neighbors may be on deck

Room Tip: ocean front room amazing! hire a driver to tour you around. Driving is difficult on windy roads...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

This hotel has the perfect setting on the Amalfi coast. Close to all facilities.
The best place in Amalfi. Also has its own car park if you want to drive there and do day trips to Pompei or catch ferry to Positano and Capri.

Room Tip: Take the superior room with aview
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We stayed for one night and enjoyed the beautiful views. They have a lovely pool area and area to swim in the sea. It was too cold in October to do that though. The room was comfortable, although not modern looking. The food in the restaurant was good.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toledo, oh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Spent three beautiful nights here. Spectacular views, excellent food, and a wonderful staff, especially Gabrielle, who want out of his way to make us feel special. A five minute walk to town, but walking back is all uphill (better to use the free hotel shuttle).

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

We just happened to be walking past having parked on the main road into Amalfi, friendly guy who was looking after the car park suggested coffee there when we enquired, Gabriele served us on the terrace, took photos for us and recommended we take the elevator four levels down to view the pool which sort of overhangs the cliff , mightily impressive in every way, thanks Gabriele !

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miramalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramalfi Hotel

Address: Via Salvatore Quasimodo 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramalfi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Miramalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramalfi Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miramalfi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.