We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A holiday to remember” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miramalfi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Miramalfi Hotel to your Saves list
Miramalfi Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Salvatore Quasimodo 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A holiday to remember”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful hotel in a magical location! We went for 10 days in July with our baby son and had the most amazing holiday.
The hotel is in a great location with spectacular views. Breakfast was good and the rooms are clean.
I cannot fault the staff who were friendly and couldn't do enough to help. They also totally spoilt out baby and gave him loads of attention which he relished.
I would say that for the price, you need to be aware that you are paying for location and views - all hotels in the area are expensive.
Whilst the hotel is beautiful and staff are lovely there is not the sense of luxury that come with most 4* hotel (no wifi, dated but charming decor, no sky etc). This did not bother us at all.
I would also say that being built on the side of a cliff poses a problem for any mobile baby!! However this goes for most places in the area.
Overall I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    123
    47
    25
    11
See reviews for
68
201
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a ten day trip to Italy. We did not have the best weather, however we had some unusual experiences. We flew from Venice to Naples, and had a driver take us to Miralmalfi hotel. Our plane was delayed, and our arrival very, very late..or shall I say early. We found the front door locked, however there was someone waiting up for our arrival. Even at this hour of the day, the views were spectacular...and this was a standard room.We spent first day in the town of Amalfi, one day took a public bus up to rovello, and the third day took a boat ride over to Positano. The last day was the best...the boat was great especially because the weather was perfect. The only problem was that while we were obliviously enjoying our first good day of sun, we arrived back at the hotel to learn that our driver had shown up for us at 10:00 am that morning to take us to Sorrento. We were to have checked out that morning from the Miramalfi hotel...they were looking for us. A bit of panic set in, and the hotel clerk started calling the driver, cab sevice and the sorrento hotel for us. I ran down to throw everything into a suitcase and drag them upstairs while my husband took care of the transport details. I arrived up in the elevator struggling with baggage, when a lovely woman gestured for me to have the clerk take care of the luggage for me. the clerk translated that this was the owner of the hotel, and she was watching this unfold. She invited us to sit and have a beverage on them, and to relax. She sat with us, and really helped to calm me. Through a translator, we sat and conversed almost the entire time waiting for our taxi driver (which by the way is cheaper than a driver service). I wished more than ever that I could speak Italian, and learn more about this caring woman. They could have charged us for late check out..the hotel was full, and they probably needed the room. The clerks immediately took over taking care of things for us, while the other came over to translate for us. We arrived in Sorrento early evening to learn that they had upgraded our room for us, and we had a large balcony overlooking the water...all ended well!
One tip...take the street route into town..pedestrian is quite a hike..took us a few trips to figure that out!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

we stayed 6 days in September this year and we couldn't fault the hotel, friendly staff, clean rooms with a view to die for and I have read the comments about the lifts to the pool and beach closure but we did not find it a problem. The town is just a short walk down the cliff and is full of nice places to eat. Well worth a visit and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: just ask for room with a view but I have a feeling they all have one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

An absolutely pleasurable hotel with the best views of Amalfi town out of all the hotels on the coastline. We were there to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary, or that was the excuse.
For such an occasion we had a private car transfer, I'm glad I wasn't driving.

Initially we were disappointed with the standard room we had booked (We were hoping for an upgrade; we never get one) it was at most 3 star, so we upgraded to a superior room, the type shown in the hotel photographs, 40 euros a night, but well worth it. The combination of views, location, wonderful food and great hotel staff, promote the hotel to 4 star, perhaps plus.

The first night we decided to stroll into town, approx. 10/15 minutes; it is down hill and down steps all the way; you have to cling to the edge of the narrow, winding mountain road, hardly any pavement. There was going to be a fabulous assortment of restaurants, NOT! The hustle and bustle of hundreds of tourists does add atmosphere. Shopping is always (somehow) a precursor to dinner, for my wife; but alas not exactly as anticipated, it is not a town of high Italian fashion. Would recommend Naples airport for the good stuff, so get there earlier than you need to.
Anyway, 1st. Restaurant was more or less fast food, it suited the long day we had had.
Spotted, though, an up market restaurant, looked the business, where we headed the following night. Yes looks can be deceiving, it was not cheap and the food, not all that; your local ASK is better value. After this force start, we decided to try the hotel restaurant, bingo! The hotel has the best restaurant in Amalfi, people actually come there to dine from other hotels.

There are 2 restaurants; on Saturday night dinner is here, it is open fronted and looks down on night time lit Amalfi, fabulous view. Sunday night the restaurant on the 4th. floor is the venue, it is inside though the walls are made of glass, windows I guess, on each occasion we could not fault the food. After, there is a cocktail party on the roof, with live music which includes a certain waiter (more later) Thursday night is a buffet dinner, 45 euros, wine extra, on the second floor, everything Italian, have you ever tried Parmesan ice-cream? Live music, and here again suddenly the main singer is joined by Giovanni (The senior waiter) and Gabriel the roof singer (second in command) This is not corny stuff just for the tourists, these gentleman love it, you can't keep them of the mikes. The waiting staff have smart uniforms, they are very professional, remember your name, Mr. & Mrs, pleasure to get away from "You guys" so prevalent in the UK now. After or pre dinner the bar is run by Michael, once again a very nice gentleman, totally professional, knows your favourite tipple, and when you might want it.

We took the ferry to Positano, great to see all the coast, 16 euros each return. Better shopping here for the girls, well worth the trip,

We had to see Pompeii, took bus tour with guide. There seemed to be thousands of tourists from all over the world. It is amazing , a far larger town than I had expected; two storey buildings, so completely buried in pumice and ash, that it was not rediscovered until the 16th. century; 20 per cent is still to be excavated. This is a must.

So the weather was great, eat, drink outside, no need for jumpers or jackets, perfect.

We highly recommend this hotel.

One last tip, get a taxi back from town at night, it's 10 euros for a short trip, it's a hell of a climb otherwise We thought the hotel could have used the hotel shuttle bus far more frequently.

Harry And Anne

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

First of all, hotels in South of Italy have to be treated with special care...

Miramalfi seamed to us by far hotel with the best cross between location, beach and price out of all hotels in Amalfi.

PROS: location, views, small but nice beach. Nice breakfast, served by excellent stuff, on amazing terrace

CONS:
First of all - beach closes at 18h. Not just pool, also the beach. Which is weird and very inconvenient, especially when you come home in the evening from Pompei trip. I believe I am not the only one urging the management to review this rule.

Rooms - well, they are old. Bathrooms are old and they need maintenance. And getting to them - the elevators are even older...

Wi Fi - really? Not just not free, but expensive. Even third world hotels offer wi-fi for free or at least with reasonable prices. If you are just checking the emails - do it with data service on your phone.

Management issues - well, you are in Italy.

It seams here that I listed more cons then pros. Well, I still maintain that this is the best option to stay in Amalfi, but if they want to claim 4 stars and show 4 points of excellence from TripAdvisor, they will have to... try harder, invest more...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stay here a week great views but could be a lot better .our first room the bath shower leaked all over the floor and water was every where , we rang reception they brought towels but we had to clean it all up . Room was nothing like the photos . They next day they moved us still not happy with room but could not move us to the style of room we book . The view is great and pool is lovely . Breakfast nice , expensive for dinner . It was not cheap to stay and is only a 21/2 str hotel . The property needs a good up date especially the rooms . They say that rooms have a spar this is not true , they have a shower with a panel down the side that shoots out water , this is suppose to be spa no enjoyed when water squirting in face . They are very good with people with disabilities .

Room Tip: Ask for the room in here Boucher . Do not o summer very expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Miramalfi for 2 nights. We had just come from a stunning hotel in Annacapri and maybe that affected our view of this hotel.

The good: Service and food at the restaurant at dinner time was above average! The patio/balcony of our room was spacious. The views of Amalfi were spectacular. Service was great! The folks at the main desk were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast buffet was limited but good.

The bad: The room, though spacious, is ugly and dated. The pool chairs are a joke. Aside from being the most uncomfortable chairs ever, you cannot be next to someone...they are arranged (as there is not enough room) toe to head next to each other. The pool was not inviting at all.

Overall, the pictures on-line sold us and set our expectations high; but in person, it failed to deliver.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miramalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramalfi Hotel

Address: Via Salvatore Quasimodo 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramalfi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Miramalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramalfi Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miramalfi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.