We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent views and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miramalfi Hotel

Save Saved
You added Miramalfi Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Miramalfi Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Salvatore Quasimodo 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent views and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Whilst this hotel was a little expensive for what you got (room wise) when compared to others in the area it is hard to beat. All rooms have sea view, as they say on their website and are truly amazing. The views from the terrace where breakfast is served is stunning as are the views from the 'lunch time' restaurant. Only criticism was that the air conditioning in our room was very noisy and on talking to other guests this seemed a common problem in some rooms, we did get used to it though!
Service from reception and all the waiters and maids was exceptional and any meals we took here were always of a very high standard. Drinks are reasonably priced for an Italian hotel and compare to what you would pay in Amalfi town.
Be prepared for stairs/steps if staying here and although there are lifts they can get quite busy at peak times. The terracing around the pool and down to the 'beach' (all accessed by steps except there is a lift to the pool level), is brilliant with lots of sun beds, however, despite the rules posted about not leaving your towel etc whilst you whizz off on a trip or go for lunch, this is ignored by the ignorant amongst us and not enforced by the lifeguards! If you want the sun for most of the day, head for the furthest right hand side of all the terraces as you face the sea!
The walk into town isn't as bad as some people make out and it takes about 10 minutes there and a little longer back as it's uphill with quite a few steps. There is a hotel shuttle service but it doesn't run very often.
The boat trips arranged by the hotel were brilliant and we had great fun.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel on it's proximity to Amalfi town, it's service and the stunning views.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    111
    46
    21
    9
See reviews for
65
181
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Worst value for money ever. Very hard to find staff speaking anything else than Italian.
We booked a junior suite as we have two children. We ended up in a standard room with a canape / bed for the kids, useless to say that there were no space in the room. Air conditionning was very noisy and prevented us from spleeping during 3 days. I mentionned it to the staff and I wanted to have a discussion with the manager..... impossible to meet with him as he was never there. Staff not welcoming and not service driven. Anything but a 4 stars hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

....... especially in the hotel's restaurants. Giovanni, Gabrielle and the rest of the staff elevated our stay with old world charm whether dining in La Grande Carte (the main restaurant on the top floor with 3 walls of floor-to-ceiling glass, an outdoor veranda and stunning sea views) or Le Onde (an open-air restaurant perched on a lower floor terrace). The romantic rooftop bar (open in the summer months) offers spectacular panoramic views of Amalfi and occasionally, live music. The hotel is far enough away from the hordes of tourists crowding the downtown area yet close enough to access town on foot or by using the hotel's convenient shuttle. A salt water pool is located among multiple lower level sunning terraces some of which provide direct and private access to the Mediterranean. The superior and standard bedrooms and bathrooms our family rented were clean, spacious and had beautiful hand painted ceramic tile floors. Several guests we met during our stay were repeat visitors and we hope to join that club on our next trip back to this beautiful area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

That hotel has a spectacular view over the amalfi coast and the sea. All the hotel rooms are sea view. And our balcony had some overwhelming scenery. The receptionist was very warm and welcoming. Upon our arrival we hit the pool and the sea. Soooo amazing. The lift is a bit slow though and scary to me. The hotel also is a bit far from the central, where all the buzz is and where the amazing church of Saint Andrea is located. The hotel do grant u some free shuttle bus to the center but they are not as frequent as needed. From 10 until 4:30 no transfers are available. And after 7:30 u have to go walking of course. We suggest the hotel to make more frequent shuttles, like once every hour. The breakfast is a bit normal and refill is slow, but the waiters are helpful. The worst of our experience in the hotel was the clear noise from other rooms. the walls are so thin that what you hear you think the person is with u in the room. for example we could hear the hairdryer for almost one hour while my husband and i were trying to get a nap. It is very annoying and where could we complain!. The price is very high also for such simple rooms and few amenities. But my husband and I were justifying that maybe it's because of the high season. Anyway the hotel is good to try.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at the Miramalfi. The setting and views of the sea and town are amazing. The hotel is relatively close to the town center and the daily shuttles are helpful. The room was clean and spacious, and the staff was helpful and friendly. Hope to return someday.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, Navarra, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

One of the best options in the área, together with El convento. Great Views to the sea, great service (specially from the waiters than make feel at home and with parking service (extremelly important in the área).
Rooms were a bit old fashioned and need a certain refurbish, but at the end, the rest compensates this defficiency.
The swiming pool área, with bar and Access to the sea is just outstanding .... really helps to relax.
On thursday, we had the chance to join the "pasta party dinner"..... great time, romantic (life italian music) and great ambience and views... breath taking!!! Do it if you have the chance....

Room Tip: There are 2 áreas with rooms, ask for the one below the breakfast room... the other one is not that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at the Miramalfi for 11nights. It is a lovely hotel with the most amazing views across the bay to Amalfi.
The staff are friendly & helpful & breakfast on the verandah are the best start of the day.
Ther are plenty of beds round the pool with towels & the poll attendant was always helpful.
We swam in the sea area.
We stayed in a room with a large terrace with sun beds & table & chairs which was great for watching all the boats.
There is an interesting walk from the hotel to Amalfi town, but worth going into to pick up a bus or boat.
This hotel is in a great position with the stunning views & well worth being slightly out of the town as it is not noisy.
I would thoroughly recommend saying here if you are visiting the area

Room Tip: Choose a room with a large balcony & view towards the amalfi bay. We stayed in room 5, but room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miramalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramalfi Hotel

Address: Via Salvatore Quasimodo 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramalfi Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Miramalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramalfi Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miramalfi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.