We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views, shame about the rooms.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Miramalfi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Miramalfi Hotel to your Saves list
Miramalfi Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Salvatore Quasimodo 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stunning views, shame about the rooms.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Hard to know how to sum it all up, firstly the views from everywhere in the hotel are absolutely stunning, across to Amalfi and the staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. The swimming pool and sea area is incredible too, and the restaurant locations for breakfast/dinner are equally as amazing. However I was disappointed with the rooms, the beds were hard, shower wasn't anything to write home about and was quite small overall. We also had a room which sounded like it was in the lift, so if you get offered 41/51/61/60 then ask to move otherwise you'll get a lift waking you up at 7am! Overall had a good stay, and I can't say anything about the more expensive rooms, but there must be a better hotel for the price in Amalfi..

Room Tip: Stay away from 41/51/60/61!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    123
    48
    26
    11
See reviews for
69
203
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

After 25 days of cruising and touring around Europe this hotel was where we spent our last 5 days before coming home. The hotel is located at the top of a hill away from Amalfi town and my first reaction was "oh no, how are we going to get to and from town?"...but the hotel has a free shuttle bus but there was also a path which you could walk along and only a small part of it was on the typical windy narrow road found all the way along the coast. The walk would have been less than 10 mins.
The view from the hotel was absolutely breathtaking and the hotel has its own private access to the mediterranean sea. There is also a pool, deck chairs and sun lounges. There is no beach to sit on but the lounges are right on the edge of the ocean which is fabulous.
We were on a half board package which i didn't know about until we got there (just thought we were paying for a very expensive hotel) but was delighted to find we had breakfast and dinner included. Breakfast was okay but dinner was amazing. Four courses every night which was great but the best part was i believe we got alot of authentic Italian food.
Hotel staff were very pleasant and extremely helpful.
One tip if you are making your own way to Amalfi, arrange a private transfer. We thought we would experience the bus ride from Sorrento but I thought my life was going to end a few times going around some of the bends on that coast road. Therefore, on the way home, we arranged to leave in luxury, a private air conditioned car picked us up and drove us to the train station.
A beautiful hotel, highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlingford, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed in the Miramalfi from 03Sep - 10Sep and we both agree that it was the best hotel in Amalfi - not only was the location fabulous but the views from the hotel were second to none!!! The facilities were excellent and the staff were top class,very proffessional and immaculately turned out in particular the head waiter/manager Giovanni who always made us feel welcome with a smile and a chat... (in fact they all did...)The food was amazing and the pizza is to die for!!! The rooms were very comfortable - we stayed in a superior double and could not fault it. Again fab views from balcony ( All rooms have a sea view ) Rooms cleaned daily. We had a brilliant week at the Miramalfi and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Superior double rooms have a larger balcony including loungers which the standard double doesnt have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Excellent hotel, after reading previous reviews both negative and positive was a little concerned but had to experience it for ourselves. I am so pleased we chose this hotel as, in my opinion, it was certainly the best in Amalfi. The location is superb and the facilities excellent. Staff were all very accommodating and most helpful at all times. We were on the half board basis and, if we were to go again, would probably choose bed and breakfast only because 4 courses each night was far too much. Good choice of food, however, and only real complaint was the service at breakfast was a little chaotic with having to wait for tea/coffee etc. Beautiful views from every room and very relaxing. Would be good to have courtesty bus running more frequently so that perhaps you could go later in the evening to Amalfi but we did find a short cut down to the harbour but only really used this in the daylight! We stayed a week and it was slightly noisy some evenings with activities going on in Amalfi which travelled up to the hotel but other than that would certainly recommend it. Very expensive but a great experience.

Room Tip: Always worth asking for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed here for 3 days in early May, probably about 2 weeks before the high season. We took a bus from Salerno to Amalfi (was planning on the ferry but seas were too rough.) Bus lets you off in the main square on the waterfront and taxi (10 euros) up abuout 1/2 mile to the hotel on the cliff. We had a room with a balcony looking down the cliff to the sea. Small fishing boats out every morning. Hotel has a simple elegance with colorful ceramic tile in all the rooms and public spaces. Access to Amalfi is by paths and stairs which wind along the cliff and takes about 15-20 minutes going down. Longer going up. Breakfast was included in a very large dining room with panoramic views. Staff was quite friendly and helpful. The pool is at the bottom of a long elevator ride and their is a very small beach if your want to swim in the Mediteranean.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Very, very clean. Air con works brilliantly so you almost feel cold at night if you turn it up too much. The staff are charming and do everything they can to please. We are on half hoard and if something on the four course menu is not to your taste, they will ask what you would prefer and it costs no more.
Anthony's taxi is a great way to get around. Not cheap so check out other visitors who may want to share the taxi with you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Had all the benefits of a hotel in Amalfi with lovely views but the noise.....incredible! Scraping chairs, clonking feet, slamming doors, flushing toilets and much much more. Not a hint of a lie-in with such a racket. The rest of the hotel facilities were OK but not up to the price. Far better value for money elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miramalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramalfi Hotel

Address: Via Salvatore Quasimodo 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramalfi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Miramalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramalfi Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miramalfi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.