We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fairy tale hotel overlooking Amalfi harbour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miramalfi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Miramalfi Hotel to your Saves list
Miramalfi Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Salvatore Quasimodo 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Winchester England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A fairy tale hotel overlooking Amalfi harbour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We spent a really memorable time at the Miramalfi a wonderful hotel which is built on the side of the cliff overlooking Amalfi harbour,to eat your meals on the terrace directly above Amalfi was an experience straight from a dream. The hotel laid on an Italian barbecue which was course after course of exquisite Italian food served in an alternative dining room which was lit by large candles in holders attached to the posts supporting the roof once again overlooking Amalfi harbour.
The hotel swimming pool was reached by a lift which decended through the actual cliff and the pool was accessed via a tunnel from the lift to the walkway around the pool.
All rooms have balconies which overlook Amalfi harbour.
The most memorable meal was ''Mussel soup''in actual fact it was a large bowl full to the brim with succulent mussels-----exquisite--.and not to be missed.
Trips To Sorrento and Ravello on the local bus are a must but not for the timid as the sheer drops from the road to the sea are fearsome and the drivers have no nerves

Room Tip: The rooms to the left have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    139
    51
    27
    11
See reviews for
74
219
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and the hotel is a pleasure to stay in. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the room fresh, clean and with a wonderful balcony view over the sea. Free shuttle bus into town was useful and we ate in the restaurant one night where the food was average for ok. Amalfi and the coast is stunningly beautiful, but the bus ride along the coast road to Sorrento is not for the faint hearted!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Rooms: We had a spacious room, with a balcony overlooking the sea with stunning views of Amalfi. It was a joy to wake up to this view every day and really made the holiday special. Bathroom was lovely too (though no bath).

Staff: Friendly and helpful, but nothing special, particularly for a 4-star hotel. Not sure about all the rave reviews about the staff.

Location: It was a just over 10min to town, but the walk involved walking along the main road - it wasn't pleasant trying to dodge traffic, particularly at night. Not the most convenient of locations, but then again the advantage of this location was the stunning view of Amalfi town. In case it isn't clear, from the main square where the buses stop, you have to take the main road uphill going in the direction of Positano. You will have to walk through two tunnels, and the hotel is another 5 min uphill after the 2nd tunnel.

Breakfast: basic, the normal cold meats and cheese.

Value: Think it was a bit pricey for what is was

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed with friends at the Hotel Miramalfi for almost a week. The hotel is beautiful. Very modern European look and feel with views that are breathtaking. It is built into the side of a cliff overlooking the water. All our rooms were directly facing the water with lovely balconies. Stunning to watch the sun come up in the morning and the moon in the evening. Room was nicely appointed (except, as in all of Italy - no tissues), beds comfortable, modern bathrooms. Wait staff was friendly and accomodating. Great choice for a home base to explore the Amalfi coast. Breakfast every morning in a beautiful dining room overlooking the water. Relaxing and welcoming. Bella

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

Planning a whole month trip to Europe, Amalfi would be a perfect place to stay for 3 or 4 days, and Miramalfi was our choice.

Despite the bad weather of the incoming fall season, the view, the atmosphere, the service and the food were excellent.

We can´t wait for our next time at Miramalfi.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

We booked here for our wedding anniversary and the hotel and area lived up to our expectations. The hotel is on an elevated position outside Amalfi and from the balcony in our room superb views over Amalfi town and out to sea. I took wonderful pictures of the sunset each morning. The room was a decent size with comfortable huge bed and spotlessly keen. The bathroom is a four piece with plenty of lighting. Minor gripe about the shower mechanism which was difficult to switch on (due to age?).
The staff were exceptionally courteous, friendly and helpful and really can'y praise them enough.
Really enjoyed the buffet breakfast and four course dinner (with smart waiter service) in the restaurant again with great views.
Little lounge area where you can go for an drink- not cheap but not that I expected it to be.
Had a look at the swimming pool area which was ok but did not really use it.
Any negatives- no but word of warning that not for infirm if walking to Amalfi town as reasonable walk and 210 steps down - worse coming back.
The weather was reasonable - late 60's F and quite sunny and half a day of rain in the week.
I would definetly light to come back to this hotel

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

After reading reviews of this hotel on this website I was expecting a top class hotel and unfortunately this was not my experience. The hotel is of 3 star standard and falls well short of value for money. Its only salvation is that the views are spectacular. The staff was ok but the rooms are spartan and certainly not reflective of the prices charged. The swimming pool was a joke and we ended up paying to use facilities on a private beach in Amalfi. As pointed out by another review the shuttle bus runs at unsuitable times and there is a steep climb home at night making it unsuitable for young children or the unfit. I will not be recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Miramalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramalfi Hotel

Address: Via Salvatore Quasimodo 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramalfi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Booking.com so you can book your Miramalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramalfi Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miramalfi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.