We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anxious to return, to Amalfi and the Hotel Aurora” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Hotel Aurora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzale Dei Prontontini 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Anxious to return, to Amalfi and the Hotel Aurora”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

As it was our first trip to Italy, we were unprepared for the sheer majesty of the landscape! And Hotel Aurora was a delightful surprise - about five minutes walking along the shoreline from the City Centre of Amalfi - the sea to our right, the terraced mountains to our left. It was not even necessary to go all the way into town, as restaurants and bars are located along the seaside walk. From the Aurora, you can walk directly up the mountain to other villas, restaurants, towns, and hotels - with breathtaking vistas every step of the way.
The hotel itself was immaculate. Service at all levels was impeccable. The extra euro cost for the terrace rooms is well spent - provides a huge amount of extra living space, outdoors, overlooking the sea - and we met some wonderful fellow-travellers in adjacent suites. Your terrace can be as private or open as you feel you want to be.
Access to all the surrounding towns and sites is easily available from Aurora - five to ten minute walk to buses and ferries! Also, the staff are highly qualified to help you when you just can't decide which towns you just can't miss! Amalfi itself was our favourite of the towns we visited, and we are ever so pleased we had some extra time to discover it at our leisure. Ciao Amalfi, and our dear friends at the Hotel Aurora - till next time!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    103
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
47
224
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston Ontario Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

We stayed at the Aurora for 11 nights - pay the extra for one of the terrace rooms. The hotel is an ideal base to explore the entire Amalfi coast by local bus + ferry services - a 5 minute stroll to the ferry/bus stations. The staff are exceptionally helpful + friendly. The breakfast is always freash and the coffee is excellent. The ebtire hotel + rooms are very modern and very clean. We would return in a minute + not heistate to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

The service is attentive, the structure and location of the hotel are great but the room looks bad, uncomfortable bed, old TV running only three channels. We are in the best room with a large terrace which has a window to the hotel area which allows access to anyone at our terrace. The breakfast is poor. Go to the center and the port was very easy but being in the hotel, especially in the room was uncomfortable, with the exception of the garden.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

We stayed at Aurora for 3 nights in the begining of September (hotel also organized transfers from/to airport from us) in one of the apartments that the hotel owns in the Center of town near Duomo, which have just been renovated and modernly furnished.
We particularly enjoyed the breakfast served in the terrace of the hotel with great seaview and the friendliness of the staff.
For those into sports, the hotel has also a small gym, which is located in the center of town where the apartments are located.
A special thank you to Daniela, the hotel manager, for suggesting and organizing for us 1) a 1 day kayak trip, which proved to be the best way to see the coast near Amalfi while at the same time having an active day out!
2) a dinner in a small family-run fish restaurant that can only be reached from the sea about 15 mins from Amalfi (they pick you up at the main pier upon reservation)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

The staff were really nice and very helpful, The rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was nice. This was our first trip to Italy so were a little nervous at how we'd get by as none of us speak Italian. But had a great time locals were a blast, Almalfi is beautiful and plently of things to browse. We took a bus to sorrento which was well worth it lovely shops, cafes etc. I wouldn't recommend hiring a car unless you have nerves of steel, My Husband drove thank god. The roads are VERY twisty turny to say the least and the Italians driving skills are scary. ( i did wonder what the driving test consists of) Would really recommend Almalfi it has to be seen to be believed!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

From the beginning to the end of our stay at the Aurora hotel we were made extremely welcome and very well looked after. All the staff were very helpful and friendly and provided excellent advice on excursions, restaurants and travell around the area.
Our room had a sea view with a large terrace on the top floor with lovely views of the harbour and coastline.
The hotel was spotlessly clean and only a 10 minute walk into the centre of Amalfi.
Weather permitting breakfast was served on the beautiful outside terrace. We would like to thank Andrew, Gaetano, Walter and Andrea for making our stay so enjoyable and would happily return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESAV37
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We couldn't fault The Aurora as it offered everything that we wanted for this particular weekend break and seemed to be good value for money for Amalfi. The Aurora is conveniently located just a brief walk from the centre of town and the ferrys. The room was comfortable, no frills but clean with a bath, shower, King size bed and minibar.What made all the difference though was booking a room with a large terrace which was fantastic as the views were stunning and we were able to lounge around, read and sunbathe away from the crowds when not shopping or eating. The staff could not have been more helpful and Andrea the reception manager was excellent having arranged a number of things for us before we arrived.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: Piazzale Dei Prontontini 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Hotel is the perfect spot to spend an unforgettable holiday in Amalfi.Located nearby the Amalfi Marina, the hotel is only 500 meters from the hustle and bustle of Piazza Duomo. It is the ideal accommodation for visiting the Amalfi Coast and its picturesque villages, such as Ravello, Positano, Capri and even the Pompeii Excavation, which are all within easy reach. The bus station and the wharf are only 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. After a long day-trip, Aurora Hotel is just a short walk to downtown and the beach, and it is accessible without climbing stairs. One final recommendation from the hotel management: if you want to spend a few relaxing days in Amalfi, please check Aurora Hotel location on Google Maps and compare it with other hotels. Most of Amalfi hotels are located in the noisy old Town, accessible by climbing long stairs; some others are located on the highway to Positano, so you will need to take the bus, a taxi or your car in order to reach the city, driving down one of the busiest roads in Italy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.