We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location on the harbour in Amalfi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzale Dei Prontontini 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Chateauneuf de Grasse, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location on the harbour in Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Excellent location on the harbor in Amalfi just a few minutes walk from the city gate and old center with its restaurants and shops. Shuttle bus in front of the hotel and a few minutes from the Amalfi bus station with buses up and down the coast to Postano, Ravello.

Beautiful room with very large terrace overlooking the harbor and the coast, view could not be better. Breakfast in the garden with good room service for breakfast on the terrace or a bottle of wine in the evening. Excellent fish restaurant across the street on the harbor.

Staff very helpful with concert reservations, travel arrangements etc. Avery easy place to stay, relax and enjoy the Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    96
    21
    11
    7
See reviews for
47
204
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

We stayed at the Aurora while we were in Amalfi for a fiend's wedding. The hotel itself was as described on the web, fairly basic but clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. We didn't spend very much time at all in the hotel, but the breakfast terrace was very pleasant with beautiful views on a sunny morning. The location is absolutely perfect; less than 5 mins walk to the busy centre of town. Plus there is a small beach right outside. Definitely reccommend to anyone visiting Amalfi.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Thames
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

We booked a superior room and would highly recommend doing that. The large terrace had table and chairs and two sun loungers and overlooks the harbour and Amalfi. The hotel is also at the end of the road so no passing traffic. A big advantage as the local beach directly in front of the hotel charges 12€ for loungers and and an umbrella
It's an easy 5 minute level walk into town and the ferries and the buses and the many many restaurants. The breakfast terrace is beautiful and the staff are really friendly and helpful. The only downside is the lack of English TV programmes - only BBC World and CNN so set the recorder if there's anything you desperately can't miss! When we realised how remote many of the other hotel's were from Amalfi we realised how lucky we were in chosing the Aurora! Maid service daily was a big plus and the rooms were kept spotless. Breakfast on the terrace was really lovely and the buffet breakfast was excellent too. Would certainly stay at the Aurora next time we visit the Amalfi coast1

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Crewe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

Having looked on Trip Advisor we decided to book the Hotel Aurora for a 9 night stay on the Amalfi Coast - what a great decision!! The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the main bus stops and harbour tours to/from other areas around the Amalfi region and less than 10 minutes walk to the centre of town - the beauty being that this walk is all on the flat and is along the promenade.
We booked a superior room with large terrace overlooking the sea - room on there for a table,2 chairs,2 recliners and room to spare.The floors throughout the room were tiled and clean, bedlinen and towels were white cotton and again very clean - with daily maid service too.
Staff were very helpful throughout,especially Andrew who is originally from England but has been in Italy 20 years and lives in Amalfi town.

TIPS:
eating: in Amalfi our favourites were La Perla, Il Tarri and one just past the Doumo called something Marina?? (red seats inside v.modern look).

visit: Ravello (by Sita bus) / Positano (ferry 6 euro pp each way) and definitely Capri - when get off ferry at Capri harbour make sure you either get bus/taxi/fenicula(?) to town centre as walking takes 20-25 minutes and is severely steep.Make sure you go to Ana Capri (bus takes you straight there) and once there the more adventurous should go on chair lift to highest point of the island.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

great value find in an expensive area. Only a 5 minute walk along the water into the main part of town. Amalfi is definetely the best launching point to explore the Amalfi coast, and Aurora is very close to all the buses and ferries. We had a superior room- they are on the top floor and have a terrace that are literally right on the water. Was a little weird that you actually shared the terrace with the room next door, but the view made you forget about that. The beds are not the most comfortable, and the breakfast is very simple, but enough to get you started in the morning. And the efforts of Mr. Andrea were above and beyond what you would expect from a hotel manager. We were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

We wanted to stay within tne town of Amalfi, whilst having the seafront location, and chose this hotel as it was the only one within our budget. What a great decision this was after reading reviews about the more expensive hotels within the area. We arrived late at night after a hideous day travelling and went to bed thinking that nowhere in the world would be worth the hassle; on waking the next day, in our standard room, we were greeted with the most beautiful view in the world, which made all the effort worthwhile. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean, slightly small, but very comfortable and the breakfast terrace was the ideal place to start your day from. There was a 5 minute walk to the town centre, past all the locals who always said hello, where you couldn't help but get carried away with the italian way of life. The lack of pool was made up by the private beach area directly opposite the hotel, run very effectively by the lovely Pepe who always managed to find the perfect spot for a lazy day watching the yachts sail by. We are already planning our return visit to Amalfi in Sept 2010 and will be booking a room at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

We chose the Aurora on the basis of value for money after negotiating a deal via email. We were not dissappointed. We had one of the larger rooms with a terrace overlloking the sea. rooms were kept nice and clean and towels and bedding changed regularly.
Air conditioning was a must as the temperature at night did not go below 18 celsius and the insects would eat you alive if the doors were left open at night. Breakfast were continental style and as we expected but enhanced on the days that we sat outside to have them. Use Reception to book excursions as it costs no more. Did not use the internet but it seemed to work Ok for people once vthey were 'registered' and paid a fee. We had the hotel arrange a car to collect and return us to Naples airport it was an extra but worth it for the security of knowing that the driver was under the direction of the hotel to meet us. There are a couple of restaurants locally the one in front of the hotel at the 'beach' was over priced and not so great quality the other Lo Smeraldino about 40 metres way towards town was better but we preferred to walk into to town (about 15 minutes at a slow pace0 and we found several within a few minutes walk of the main piazza that offered quality and value for money. Locanda de la Marina (?) was a great find just on the edge of he piazza and good for lunch or dinner. Hotel will provide a few cards that get a discount of 10% usually if you show them when requestig the bill.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: Piazzale Dei Prontontini 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aurora 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Hotel is the perfect spot to spend an unforgettable holiday in Amalfi.Located nearby the Amalfi Marina, the hotel is only 500 meters from the hustle and bustle of Piazza Duomo. It is the ideal accommodation for visiting the Amalfi Coast and its picturesque villages, such as Ravello, Positano, Capri and even the Pompeii Excavation, which are all within easy reach. The bus station and the wharf are only 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. After a long day-trip, Aurora Hotel is just a short walk to downtown and the beach, and it is accessible without climbing stairs. One final recommendation from the hotel management: if you want to spend a few relaxing days in Amalfi, please check Aurora Hotel location on Google Maps and compare it with other hotels. Most of Amalfi hotels are located in the noisy old Town, accessible by climbing long stairs; some others are located on the highway to Positano, so you will need to take the bus, a taxi or your car in order to reach the city, driving down one of the busiest roads in Italy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.