We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location at a very reasonable rate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Hotel Aurora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzale Dei Prontontini 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Bayern
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location at a very reasonable rate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

The hotel is located right at the harbour within a 10 min. walking distance to downtown Amalfi. Despite the high prices everywhere around - this one is a real bargain. The rooms are medium sized with charming interior, bathroom small but not too small (with everything's working properly). The hotel itself is very charming, patio breakfast with a stunning view on the ocean and a deluxe breakfast italian style (excellent cold cuts, chesse, fresh rolls and toast, jam....you name it). The staff was among the most friendly I've encountered - ever. Helpful, attentive, discrete (even multilingual: english, german, italian). If you go to Amalfi, book the Aurora - don't bother to go anywhere else. This is the place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    98
    21
    11
    7
See reviews for
47
209
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
near London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

The location is wonderful - you don't need shuttle buses or to be super fit to cope with the return from town- it's flat.
The staff are great- friendly, helpful but not pushy
We paid the extra for a superior room and it was definitely worth it.
I'm a light sleeper and slept well which in Italy is unusual
Would I recommend this hotel- definitely; a three star find ( don't expect five star and you won't be disappointed and don't forget that all costs are high when you compare the Euro and the pound)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Take breakfast , morning or afternoon tea on the garden terrace, ask at reception for use of PC (at nominal charge), staff very friendly and speak English, manger can arrange private limousine to points of interest, possibility of free concert tickets and other select cultural events in season - ask manager.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon in Italy and loved it! It's at one end of the main shopping area, not right in the middle of it, so it's nice and quiet, but only 5 minutes walk. The staff are lovely and waited up for us when we missed the first bus from Salerno and arrived close to 10pm. The bedroom and bathroom are spacious, with a fantastic balcony overlooking the water- a great place to rest in the early evening before heading out to dinner. The breakfast is lovely and comes with the best coffee I've ever tasted! I'd been waiting to taste really good coffee during our trip to Italy, and just hadn't found it- until Hotel Aurora! Smooth, rich- perfect

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

We were upgraded to an air conditioned room which was a great relief as it was extremely hot. We had balconies overlooking the sea. Rooms and bathrooms were big. Breakfast was served on the patio overlooking the sea. There was parking outside hotel at a fee of E10. Garage Parking was E15. The private beach was just below and very clean and not crowded. It cost E12 a day for 2 beach chairs an umbrella and 2 beach towels. You booked the chairs and they were yours all day. This was cheap with other beaches in Italy. The hotel was an easy 5-10 minute walk from centre

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

This is the best hotel we ever stayed in for several reasons. Firstly Andrea (the manager) and the rest of the staff go above and beyond their duty for each guest. They are so helpful and kind I can't speak highly enough of them all. The hotel itself has the best location in Amalfi - right on the water, also unlike other hotels in the area you dont have to climb steps or get a taxi from town, its 5 mins from the town walking. We looked forward to breakfast each morning as not only was the food exceptional but the view from the breakfast area was breathtaking! Finally the hotel has its own private beach across the road, literally 30seconds away and it was uncrowded even in peak season. Overall 11/10!! Thanks Andrea for a lovely stay we will certainly be back for another visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

We stayed at the Aurora only one night, but could have easity stayed the whole week! When we booked two rooms for our family of 5, we were told that only one with a view of the sea was available. When we arrived, both rooms were with a sea view and terrace! The concierges were exceptionally friendly and were the most helpful of any receptions of the 6 hotels in which we stayed in Europe! The rooms were large, very clean and tastefully decorated. Bathrooms were large with double sinks, ample counter space, and stand-up showers! The breakfast on a lovely garden terrace was standard European, but especially nice due to the terrace. The staff were extremely attentive to making sure all foods were stocked, and coffe available. Breakfast is the only meal, there is no restaurant. We arrived by boat, and were able to easily walk the 1-1/2 blocks to the end of the street along the water to the hotel. The concierge recommended several restaurants, and the one we tried was excellent. (They had a fabulous white wine made in Ravello, a must to try!) Overall - don't let the Aurora's modest exterior fool you. This hotel is just fine! We'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: Piazzale Dei Prontontini 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Hotel is the perfect spot to spend an unforgettable holiday in Amalfi.Located nearby the Amalfi Marina, the hotel is only 500 meters from the hustle and bustle of Piazza Duomo. It is the ideal accommodation for visiting the Amalfi Coast and its picturesque villages, such as Ravello, Positano, Capri and even the Pompeii Excavation, which are all within easy reach. The bus station and the wharf are only 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. After a long day-trip, Aurora Hotel is just a short walk to downtown and the beach, and it is accessible without climbing stairs. One final recommendation from the hotel management: if you want to spend a few relaxing days in Amalfi, please check Aurora Hotel location on Google Maps and compare it with other hotels. Most of Amalfi hotels are located in the noisy old Town, accessible by climbing long stairs; some others are located on the highway to Positano, so you will need to take the bus, a taxi or your car in order to reach the city, driving down one of the busiest roads in Italy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.