We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem on Amalfi sea front” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzale Dei Prontontini 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Bologna
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A gem on Amalfi sea front”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

My wife and I celebrated our 5th wedding aniversary in Amalfi. We spend 4 nights and we had a really good time there. We reserved a room with sea view from their website, but because of the not very high season, for the same price we got a sea view with terrace on the top floor, a must for everyone. The room was clean and very large with fournishing in old style that is giving a flavour of other ages. The bathroom had both bath and shower (separate) but the shower was a bit tiny. From the terrace we could see the Amalfi gulf, an amazing view. But the best was to see the moon mirroring in the water by night. THe breakfast was held on a terrace looking at the sea, covered by umbrellas and bougainvilleas. The breakfast itself was quite simple: you could get whatever you want (from continental to british) but with not much choice. But to tell the truth eating was the last from our holiday. The people at the hotel were always very helpful and kind. They have a garage where to keep the car at 15 euro per day (less than the 18 asked by other garage in town that are in any case not so close as the hotel one). The hotel is 10 minutes of slow walking from the center of Amalfi (the cathedral) and just 5 minutes from the bus stop and the dock where you can take the boat to Positano or Capri. Definitly a great place where to stay if you want to see the Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    98
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
45
193
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

it was great being so close to the hub of Amalfi but far enough away for it not to feel too touristy! the hotel is located very close to the water - so it was great that you didnt have to trek 200m up a steep hill like many hotels.
you must hire a speed boat for a day - no license needed (only in Italy)!! we cruised around to positano and anchored at one of the smaller islands for lunch/swimming - it was amazing!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

This was my second stay at the Aurora and foud it to excellent once again.
The location is ideal, a couple of minutes walk to the centre with the beach just opposite.
Big clean room with balcony and sea view. Pretty terrace for breakfast each morning. Very friendly staff. Reasonable rates. What more can I say?

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

Our honeymoon consisted of a leisure two weeks along the Amalfi Coast. The Aurora Hotel, in Amalfi, was our first stop. The location is perfect, as it is at the end of town and down by the waterfront, offering wonderful views of the sea. Breakfast is served on the veranda, covered with a trellis of climbing flowers and lemons. There is plenty to eat and the menu is exactly as it should be for a good continental breakfast. It is absolutely incredible. The walk to town is only 5 minutes. The room had a breathtaking view of the town and sea. The staff assistance was impeccable. We loved this place and will plan to stay again. A big thanks to Andrea, Andrew and the young man who helped us find our luggage.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy and USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

The Aurora Hotel was a very pleasant place to stay.
They helped with making every aspect of the trip enjoyable even down to recommending very fine restuarants to eat.
I would recommend the hotel to my family and friends. It was just right for a fantastic get away with a friend.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

very easy to get to and in walking distance of the town and restauraunts.. staff were very helpul and had great english.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

We stayed at the Aurora between 17-21 April 2009. It's a great little budget hotel just a stones throw away from the main square in Amafi and is a perfect base for exploring the beautiful towns on the Amalfi Coast. The hotel was clean, airy and nothing was too much trouble for the extremely friendly staff. Our room at the front of the hotel (no. 21) had a sea view which was a little obscured by the trees outside but on the whole it was bright and pleasant. My only complaint was the bed! I got very little sleep on the first night as the mattress was much too hard and the pillows felt like rock. We informed the management who said that most of beds had been replaced and that all of the new mattresses were very firm. They did offer us a room move (to one with an older, slightly softer mattress) but to be honest there was little difference between the two so we stuck with our original room and had the mattress covered with blankets to soften it slightly. This helped as I managed to get to sleep the second night but even so a lie-in the following morning was out of the question! At the end of the stay the manager was kind enough to deduct some money from the bill for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: Piazzale Dei Prontontini 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aurora 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Hotel is the perfect spot to spend an unforgettable holiday in Amalfi.Located nearby the Amalfi Marina, the hotel is only 500 meters from the hustle and bustle of Piazza Duomo. It is the ideal accommodation for visiting the Amalfi Coast and its picturesque villages, such as Ravello, Positano, Capri and even the Pompeii Excavation, which are all within easy reach. The bus station and the wharf are only 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. After a long day-trip, Aurora Hotel is just a short walk to downtown and the beach, and it is accessible without climbing stairs. One final recommendation from the hotel management: if you want to spend a few relaxing days in Amalfi, please check Aurora Hotel location on Google Maps and compare it with other hotels. Most of Amalfi hotels are located in the noisy old Town, accessible by climbing long stairs; some others are located on the highway to Positano, so you will need to take the bus, a taxi or your car in order to reach the city, driving down one of the busiest roads in Italy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.