We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel.....shame about the beds!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Venere.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzale Dei Prontontini 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 hotels in Amalfi
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel.....shame about the beds!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

We stayed at the Aurora between 17-21 April 2009. It's a great little budget hotel just a stones throw away from the main square in Amafi and is a perfect base for exploring the beautiful towns on the Amalfi Coast. The hotel was clean, airy and nothing was too much trouble for the extremely friendly staff. Our room at the front of the hotel (no. 21) had a sea view which was a little obscured by the trees outside but on the whole it was bright and pleasant. My only complaint was the bed! I got very little sleep on the first night as the mattress was much too hard and the pillows felt like rock. We informed the management who said that most of beds had been replaced and that all of the new mattresses were very firm. They did offer us a room move (to one with an older, slightly softer mattress) but to be honest there was little difference between the two so we stuck with our original room and had the mattress covered with blankets to soften it slightly. This helped as I managed to get to sleep the second night but even so a lie-in the following morning was out of the question! At the end of the stay the manager was kind enough to deduct some money from the bill for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    92
    24
    9
    7
See reviews for
42
176
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

As four college students on Spring Break with little to no expectations, we arrived in Amalfi at the Hotel Aurora, greeted warmly and hospitably by the manager, Andrea. He allowed us to park (FOR FREE!) at the hotel, even though we were staying at the apartments in the centro. Andrea was extremely kind and gifted us with a free upgrade to a suite with 2 bedrooms.
The apartment was very clean and included a fully functioning kitchen (with dishwasher), bathroom, washer and dryer. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable! The bathroom, although small, provided us with a surplus of big, clean towels- a luxury for those accustomed to youth hostels. Only 2 minutes walking distance from the beach and from the Duomo and Main Piazza.
The management was flexible, helpful, and hospitable! They texted us while we were on our way and told us another driving route, so we wouldn't run into a detour. VERY HELPFUL! Andrea also gave us many restaurant recommendations where we were given discounts! Score!
Overall, this was a great experience! And I recommend Hotel Aurora Apartments to families as well!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

A truly great spot for a very clean and well run Hotel. Easy walk into town to catch transport-flat all the way.
We had a superior room with a big balcony with the view to the beach, over the marina and into the town. Took so many photos as it was truly pictureque.
Sure the beach wasn't the best in the world but we had our first swim in Italy at this little beach and it was fantastic, warm and clean and very different for us "Kiwis" ( not used to having to pay to go to a beach ) and deck chairs everywhere, mind you there was no sand just pebbles so very relaxing in the strippy deckie.
Our room was huge , immaculate and very Mediterrainian with all its pretty glossy tiles. Breakfast was great ( in fact one of the better in 6 weeks in Italy ) and was served in a garden area outside, very nice as while we were there it was blue ,blue skies and mid 30's in temperature-YUM . The staff were very helpful too with information on local things to do.
Best value food was just off the end of the wharf , take away and Italian , good coffee. We would stay there again for sure.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

This hotel was disapppointing .The location was noisy and smelly,being right on the main road and opposite the wharf.
The beach was not worth using due to the smell of deisal fumes
the rooms were small,clean but very tired.
The staff were polite but I would have prefered to a nicer location

  • Disliked — location on busy road
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

Hotel Aurora has a great location at the end of the beachfront in proper Amalfi. That includes a small beach. Not a superb beach but nevertheless one of very few in Amalfi.
But the beach (shared with 2 other hotels) has a cost of 12 Euro per room and there are a bigger beach next to it (and actually closer to the hotel) with better sun conditions. The hotel beach is in the shadows from around 2 in the afternoon. So now you're warned.
The hotel itself has plenty of charm when it comes to classic rooms and the breakfast terrace. They really give you that sense of past times charm.
The staff varies from helpful to more interested in money than serving guests properly. And this hotel is one of few I've seen a written warning about bringing drinks and food in to the room (you will be charged for that!). I find rules like that a pitty and only makes me more eager on bringing a bottle back to the room.
The room was clean and we even had a small balcony with slight seaview (we hadn't booked seaview).
Amalfi as a town is a charmer despite being overcrowded. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enfield, london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

We visited Hotel Aurora to celebrate 50th birthdays. We were a group of eight, three rooms were booked with terraces and one without. The whole of the amalfi coast is very expensive to stay in, so paying 175 euros for a room in a three star at first seemed extortionate, but after a lot of research, it turned out these rates were pretty average. The hotel is in a fantastic location, a short stroll from the centre of town. The views from the breakfast terrace are beautiful. The rooms with a terrace have magnificant views and are well worth paying the extra money for. The cheapest rooms in this hotel are disappointing, and I thought slightly overpriced.

The hotel is a three star, not at all fancy, but clean and pretty. The rooms and location make it extremely chaming and we found the staff to be extremely friendly. Breakfast is pretty average, nice fresh criossants and cereal etc, but nothing spectacular. It is the setting on the terrace that makes getting up for breakfast worthwile.

Altogether Amalfi is a charming and beautiful place, with the stunning Ravello and Positano nearby. I would definately return to Hotel Aurora, but only to a room with a terrace. If you decide to go make sure you visit a fantastic Pizzeria in Ravello called Ristorante Salvatore. There is a seperate Restuarant and Pizzaria. We ate the most fantastic Pizzas at an extremely reasonable price, the house wine was great and very reasonable, especially compared to the rest of eateries along this coast. The thing that struck us most was the stunning view, we loved the place and would go back again and again if we could!

  • Liked — stunning views
  • Disliked — breakfast could be improved
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

As part of a family tour, we stayed for three days at the Aurora. It was SO GOOD that we returned again by ourselves for another three days.
Good value, great views, super friendly staff and a great location.
Andrew and Andrea absolutely make this place - it is great.

Kip & Nelliette (aka Carlos & Carla) Read
Melbourne Australia
August 2008

  • Liked — The friendly nature AND te comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Well, it IS Italy and paying E12 every day to use the beachside sunlounge was heavy.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: Piazzale Dei Prontontini 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aurora 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Hotel is the perfect spot to spend an unforgettable holiday in Amalfi.Located nearby the Amalfi Marina, the hotel is only 500 meters from the hustle and bustle of Piazza Duomo. It is the ideal accommodation for visiting the Amalfi Coast and its picturesque villages, such as Ravello, Positano, Capri and even the Pompeii Excavation, which are all within easy reach. The bus station and the wharf are only 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. After a long day-trip, Aurora Hotel is just a short walk to downtown and the beach, and it is accessible without climbing stairs. One final recommendation from the hotel management: if you want to spend a few relaxing days in Amalfi, please check Aurora Hotel location on Google Maps and compare it with other hotels. Most of Amalfi hotels are located in the noisy old Town, accessible by climbing long stairs; some others are located on the highway to Positano, so you will need to take the bus, a taxi or your car in order to reach the city, driving down one of the busiest roads in Italy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.