We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aurora residences perfect for a large family!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzale Dei Prontontini 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Aurora residences perfect for a large family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Our family of 5 (kids ages 12, 14, and 16) stayed in the aurora residences for a very comfortable 10 days. The friendliness and warmth of the staff was so appreciated. Andrea was fabulous with his prompt communications and always available to answer any and all questions. The space, cleanliness, and hospitality truly made our stay perfect. We highly recommend Hotel Aurora when staying in Amalfi.

Room Tip: The Aurora apartments (residences) are a great large family "home base". No views, but abs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Aurora during your visit to Amalfi this year.
Apartments are suitable especially for family. It’s lovely to hear that you received a warm welcome from our team and found the accommodations to be comfortable and clean. We are so pleased that you felt relaxed here and that your stay with us set you up well for your road trip around Amalfi coast!

We look forward to welcoming you back, perhaps on a future visit

Best regards
Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    97
    21
    11
    7
See reviews for
47
205
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We booked a standard room through our travel agent, the images we were shown in the brochure (and on the website) are for much better rooms. We were advised we had a mountain view not a sea view but when you opened the window it was of a brick wall! The rooms were clean and staff were friendly however noise was a real issue. When guests came back to their rooms late at night or early in the morning (2 or 3am) the noise would travel and would wake us, we could even hear the reception phone ringing one level down, I can only assume this is due to the tiled floors and all of the doors being open. The breakfast was very basic but a lovely setting. The location is perfect to walk into town (about a 10min stroll) without endless steps. A very convenient location, however I am surprised it is considered 4 stars.

Room Tip: Try and get a room higher in the hotel to avoid the reception noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

I am disappointed to read about your experience at the hotel due to have had a standard room with courtyard view maybe. I’m very sorry about the inconvenient the other clients caused to come and go night and day. I apologize but we will not cover our decorated tiled floor with an impersonal carpet because ceramic of Vietri is our tradition and we are very proud of it. It could be a bit noise but how bright and colorful! I do hope I get the opportunity to contact you personally to follow up on your experience.
Kind regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband and I splurged on a room with a terrace and had no regrets. The accommodations were very comfortable, the view from the terrace was amazing, the staff was wonderful and happy to recommend great hiking trails and restaurants.
We will return and would highly recommend!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I very much enjoyed to read your comments and have communicated them with the Team who were delighted to hear them! I am glad that you enjoyed room with sea view, hiking trails and restaurants recommended by the staff.
Thrilled by the news that you will return to us again I can say that we are looking forward to welcoming you back with us!

Warm regards
Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Entered the hotel and room with some reservations since it was not a four star as advertised. However, the friendliness and helpfulness of staff elevated the quality of stay to four star. The hotel was a very easy walk to the main part of Amalfi, including the church and an excellent patiserrie with choc coated cherries to die for. We came away very satisfied with the hotel and particularly the excellent staff.

Room Tip: Highest floor gave best view with very large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com; it helps us enormously to maintain our standards. I have passed on your comments to the relevant departments regarding the maintenance and there will be improvements where necessary. We do hope we get the opportunity to welcoming you both back in the near future.

Kind regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed in hotel Aurora which is very convenient for Amalfi's town centre but sufficiently far down the coast to be very quiet ( a slow ten minute walk to the centre). Large room with efficient and quiet air con and good bathroom. Immaculately clean and nice simple italian decor. Very friendly and helpful staff. Aurora serves breakfast outside when the weather is fine but no restaurant or swimming pool. Very good prices. The ideal place to stay if you want a comfortable and peaceful hotel. Lovely sea views across the bay. No steep hills to climb in the boiling sun!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view as many room have balconies or large terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your review. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us especially our location, helpful staff and cleaning. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We have just returned from Amalfi. This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel, which speaks for itself. It is in a beautiful location, a short level walk to the town centre. It is a peaceful oasis - hotels in the town itself are constantly surrounded by noise and bustle. The rooms are spotless. The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is in the beautiful garden with views of the sea framed by the bougainvillea.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back do not have a view - you get what you pay for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
It is nice to know you are regular visitors with Aurora Hotel. Have you joined as a member with us? This gives you benefits such as complimentary breakfast and wifi on arrival and many other special offers. Next time you make a reservation with us, ask the reservations staff and they will be happy to give you further information. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Aurora Hotel soon!
Best regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had a family group of 8 who stayed 4 nights in superior rooms with terraces facing the ocean. The accommodation for our group was perfect as all our rooms were in a row and we could sit and enjoy the views from the terrace together in the morning or evening. The view of Amalfi is stunning! Rooms were spacious and clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. They helped us book dining reservations in the evenings and answered our many questions about the area. Breakfast in the garden was lovely. We used Amalfi as our launching point to visit Positano, Ravello and Capri. The boat dock to Capri is a 5 minute walk from the hotel and also goes to Positano and other locations. There is a beach out front of the hotel which has an admission charge. We paid 3 Euro to enter although you can pay more if you want a towel and a chair. The walk to town is quite nice, a flat and easy 10 minutes. There are many restaurants near the hotel or right in town itself. We can't wait to go back. Thanks Daniela and all the staff at the hotel.

Room Tip: This is a great hotel to spend the extra money on superior rooms with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks for the positive comments and I am happy to see you and your family enjoyed your visit. Next time, please note we offer a special welcome drink in the garden giving you more time to enjoy the facilities we have to offer.
There is nothing more I like than to know we have made a family very happy!

Best regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: Piazzale Dei Prontontini 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aurora 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Hotel is the perfect spot to spend an unforgettable holiday in Amalfi.Located nearby the Amalfi Marina, the hotel is only 500 meters from the hustle and bustle of Piazza Duomo. It is the ideal accommodation for visiting the Amalfi Coast and its picturesque villages, such as Ravello, Positano, Capri and even the Pompeii Excavation, which are all within easy reach. The bus station and the wharf are only 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. After a long day-trip, Aurora Hotel is just a short walk to downtown and the beach, and it is accessible without climbing stairs. One final recommendation from the hotel management: if you want to spend a few relaxing days in Amalfi, please check Aurora Hotel location on Google Maps and compare it with other hotels. Most of Amalfi hotels are located in the noisy old Town, accessible by climbing long stairs; some others are located on the highway to Positano, so you will need to take the bus, a taxi or your car in order to reach the city, driving down one of the busiest roads in Italy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.