We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 3 days!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Hotel Aurora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzale Dei Prontontini 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great 3 days!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely 3 days at the Aurora Apartments in Amalfi, Andreas at reception was fabulously helpful and always an absolute pleasure to communicate with about anything.
The apartments are away from the hotel in a quiet plaza at the other end of the main waterfront, no views but a very clean, practical apartment in a quiet & safe area.
We tried the restaurants Andreas recommended and were very satisfied with the quality of the food and service.
We recommend this apartment #2, the 3 of us were very comfortable.
Ciao !

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam
Thank you, we are always pleased to read such positive feedback! Andrea glowed when he read it and we are soooo pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our apartment, thank you and please come again!
Daniela.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    103
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
47
224
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 week at the end of May into June. We loved the hotel, we had a standard room with sea view and we found it perfect for us.Large bed, very clean. There are other superior rooms with large balconies which look fabulous, but I suppose it depends on what you prefer to spend your money on. We dont spend much time in our rooms, prefering to be out sightseeing or on the beach. The garden terrace is gorgeous with wonderful views of the coast where we enjoyed the breakfast and the coffee in particular.Unfurtunately there was unusually terrible weather at the start of our week, we arrived to cold, pouring rain and thunder storms, just pure bad luck as the first day was our joint birthdays, we were hoping for a day on the beach! Ah well. The weather improved and was red hot towards the end of the week.
We found all the staff were very welcoming and feel a special mention needed to Andreas on reception and Andrew at breakfast. Would return if had the opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks for the super comments and feedback and we have sent your special thanks to both Andrea and Andrew. Please come and visit us again as we love to see folks return to the Aurora Hotel and we always make a special effort to meet your needs.
Daniela.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have travelled extensively since our retirement and 5 years ago we stayed at the Aurora and were delighted with everything: since that time it has been at the very top of our list. Earlier this year our friends suggested a joint holiday and we in turn proposed the Aurora - the only time that we have returned to a 'holiday' hotel. None of us were at all disappointed; rather the contrary. In a beautiful small city (yes - there is a Cathedral) midway along a breathtaking coast and with excellent road and sea ferry transport links (and rail from nearby Salerno), the hotel is in an outstanding situation with sea-view rooms barely 50yds from the sea the hotel benefits, in our opinion, with being possibly in the best location in the area. And the Staff could not be more attentative. A return is definately part of our future plans.

Room Tip: Talk direct with the hotel and ask for a top-floor sea-view room with a patio. DON'T BE TEMPTE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear John C
Well time passed but Amalfi and the Aurora try very hard to remain attractive!! PLEASE come again and we will do our best to make your stay memorable.
Thanks, Daniela.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

It was our first visit to Amalfi and we spent some time pondering which hotel to stay in. Overall our choice of the Aurora was a good one. The staff were very good and the management excellant. Andreas and Andrew outstanding. The hotel would have been even better with it's own restaurant as it is a long walk( for us!) into the centre. However there is a mini bus service into Amalfi on weekday mornings and also a good restaurant across the road from the hotel, the " delle Sirene" so that helps. Not too far from buses and boat trips.The hotel arranged taxi transfers from and back to Naples Airport at a very reasonable 95 euros e/w.

Room Tip: 29 a corner room with good views and large terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Dderekfw
Thankyou for the excellent review and both Andrea and Andrew were very pleased to read it! Please come back and see us and they will look after you again.
Best wishes, Daniela.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

First things first, for the little bit extra you pay, it is worth it to get a room view and a terrace. The prices are reasonable anyway but if you pay in advance you get a further discount. The terraces are large, clean, well provided with 2 chairs, 2 loungers and a sturdy, prettily tiled table. The room is spacious, with a large bed,(albeit two large singles together) mirrors, a large wardrobe and plenty of other furniture. Air con was a little noisy but worked superbly. Tastefully tiled and very clean. Bathroom was nice enough with a sunflower head style shower,(a little on the snug side, no bath and could be a touch temperamental but these are very minor complaints) and a hairdryer.
The safe is small,(2 passports and a wallet and purse at the most) but free. Besides, you also get a large lockable drawer, so laptops and such can be secured. Seriously good Wifi free after obtaining a password.
The staff are wonderful and on arrival suggested a few restaurants to us and gave us cards to get 10% off a few of them. The Silver moon was one of these and was fabulous and unbeatable value even without the discount. The other was a restaurant near the hotel called Lo Smeraldino and i would urge everyone to go. No discount but a truly wonderful suggestion and we had the best meals there of any on the coast.
Breakfast was on a beautiful, flower drenched courtyard terrace overlooking the sea and was always delicious. Meats, cheeses, bread, rolls, cereals, yoghurts, juices and fresh fruit were always available and waited by professional, friendly staff.
Speaking of the staff, the difference they offer is that as well as being professional they also come across as personable, smiley and genuinely interested in your welfare. You could see some of my fellow holiday makers clearly adored them. Yep, they are a definite plus. At any time of day or night they will make you a drink to enjoy al fresco or in the lounge area. Good prices too.
Yes it's away form the centre but this is good. Peaceful and calm. Anyway, it's only a few minutes flat stroll away from the centre, so there really is not a problem.
Great value, great staff, great hotel! Love it, love it, love it!

Room Tip: Balcony room with terrace a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Perivalers
Wow thank you for this wonderful review!!! Your comments are truly charming and I have thanked my staff for making you feel so welcome. Please come back and let us show you even more??? Best wishes
Daniela.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Aurora 7 years ago and came back because of that experience. Once again, we were delighted with our accommodations and the location. The hotel is located at the end of the waterfront area, away from the crowds and noise but still very close to town, transportation and great restaurants. Be sure to reserve a room with a terrace, it is a great spot to sit and relax and stare at the sea while you recover from the days activities, or make plans for the next day. Breakfast is served in the lovely garden terrace area and is fairly typical European breakfast fare. The rooms are spotless, and the staff is very helpful and friendly. They spoke English, helped us with tours and transportation suggestions, and knew us by name throughout our week. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Order a superior room with Terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Laurie S
We LOVE to receive return visitors, as well as enthusiastic visitors of course, thank you! Amalfi awaits your return and so do we at the Hotel Aurora!!
Daniela.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daleslegacy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a beatiful hotel in an ideal location for easy access to the beaches, restaurants and transport to rest of the Amalfi coast. The service is excellent with friendly staff and the rooms very clean. You have wonderful sea views enhanced by breakfast mainly being served in the pretty terraced garden. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: choose non smoking sea view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear DalesLegacy
Wonderful to read this review and we can almost hear you smiling!!! Thanks you and please come again.
Daniela.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: Piazzale Dei Prontontini 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Hotel is the perfect spot to spend an unforgettable holiday in Amalfi.Located nearby the Amalfi Marina, the hotel is only 500 meters from the hustle and bustle of Piazza Duomo. It is the ideal accommodation for visiting the Amalfi Coast and its picturesque villages, such as Ravello, Positano, Capri and even the Pompeii Excavation, which are all within easy reach. The bus station and the wharf are only 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. After a long day-trip, Aurora Hotel is just a short walk to downtown and the beach, and it is accessible without climbing stairs. One final recommendation from the hotel management: if you want to spend a few relaxing days in Amalfi, please check Aurora Hotel location on Google Maps and compare it with other hotels. Most of Amalfi hotels are located in the noisy old Town, accessible by climbing long stairs; some others are located on the highway to Positano, so you will need to take the bus, a taxi or your car in order to reach the city, driving down one of the busiest roads in Italy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.