We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Hotel Aurora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzale Dei Prontontini 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Location Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had a great time at Aurora, very friendly and good position for the town. We had a superior room with a wonderful terrace view over the bay, well worth the extra. Breakfast was good served on the balcony. Not far to walk into town with the a large choice of restaurants, we went to the ones the hotel recommended and they were very good. Although we had a car, we used the open top tourist bus to Ravello - well worth it. I would recommend this hotel and stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Sir
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com; it helps us enormously to maintain our standards. I have passed on your comments to the departments regarding reception and housekeeping. They will be centenly happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
Many thanks and best regards
Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    103
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
47
224
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed in a group of a four family members in two rooms for 5 nights in the beginning of September. Excellent location close to the marina and town center; very friendly and helpful staff, clean, comfortable and well maintained and spacious rooms. Breakfast delighted on the seaview terrace. We had the chance of swimming in the marina among the boats, it was fantastic ! Also there is a private beach in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on TA giving us 5 stars.I was really pleased to see that you had a great stay and found us to be great value, breakfast we offer, service provided ,cleanliness and of course, location, in front of Marina! We love family finally reunited during the holidays! Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Best regards
Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora -man
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

When looking for a hotel in Amalfi we were weighing up cost (did it fall within budget), value (how much do you get for the price) and location (how well it was situated). This hotel was the best option compared to similarly priced rooms. Very reasonably priced, got a large double bedroom with balcony and sea view. Room was cleaned to a good standard everyday. Rooms are fairly basic as expected but very comfortable and clean (we was not in the room much apart from sleeping). Situated 5 - 10 minute walk from town (nice walk past the marina). Customer Service was excellent incredibly helpful and friendly staff. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Ross L

Thank you for your review, please know that I will be passing on your positive comments to the rest of my team.
I was pleased that you found our bedrooms comfortable and clean.We do try to keep our prices competitive with other hotels in the area so this does make great value.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Best regards
Daniela Carrano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Our family with three boys (11,15, 17) had a wonderful time in this clean and nice hotel. The staff is very friendly. There is a parking in the hotel basement. It is a good idea to book in advance to avoid the very expensive parking in the city. Amalie is a great place to spend som days. It is nice for walking in the city and in the valley beyond the city. We rented a boat one day and went to Positano. That is a very good way to see the coast.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear TrondT
I was delighted to see that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found the hotel to be great value, rooms comfortable, clean and breakfast to be of large variety, garage facilities and great location.
Please know that I will be passing on your feedback to team.
Happy family makes happy Hotel!
Warm regards
Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Man
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel, we weren't quite sure what to expect. The front entrance is modest. The reception is on the 1st floor, and we were immediately reassured. Once we were shown our rooms we were really happy. We went with my brother and his wife. Both our rooms, with generous balconies, were spacious, bright and spotless. The service at the hotel was excellent. The location was ideal, within minutes of the main hub of amalfi, but on the end of the route, by the harbour. Which meant it was quiet. I would recommend this hotel unreservedly.

Room Tip: Definitely a room with a balcony to make the most of the views, on the 1st floor. 135 on the end has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear JillB_56
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I was really pleased to see that you had a great stay with us and found everything to be of an excellent standard.

Something we are working towards achieving consistently.Please know that I will be passing on your feedback to the rest of my team who will be delighted!

Hope to see you again
Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Man
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herz
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the aurora for 5 relaxing days and received wonderful service in a hotel without many facilities. This did not detract from the simple informality of the hotel
Service went beyond the call of duty. We forget our ipad and Andrea promptly contacted us and made sure it was at our next hotel and emailed to ensure we had received it
If you are looking for a great location superb service this is the hotel for you

Room Tip: A sea facing room but the terrace and garden will compensate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear JamJill
I was pleased to learn that you had a great stay us. Staff is very reliable and they take care of all guests in any moment. I will be passing on your comments to them that will be pleased.
Best regards
Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora - Man
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I chose this hotel because of the reviews in tripadvisor. But please do not choose it if you would like a nice room close to town. Courtyard rooms are terrible.
This hotel is very pricy and overrated. Location is not that good as you have a walk of 10 minutes to the town. And it is really pricy for just old dark rooms.
Their courtyard rooms are really dark and scary. Ours just had one window that opened to a wall. Really awful and claustrofobic!. I would not choose this hotel to stay in amalfi. Amalfi is a small town, so you can better stay in the town itself.

Room Tip: Never choose the courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
good morning
I am very sorry you complained about your stay with us, maybe because you have booked the cheapest accomodation, I guess. You suggested to travellers to find a room in the city centre omitting that all hotel located in the centre haven't sea view because they are closed in the city walls without considering the hustle and bustle night and day! Hotel Aurora is located on the Amalfi's bay at the end of promenade just 500 metres from city centre and we correctly specify the rooms we offer in the description on our web site. Anyway, we will be very happy to offer you a superior room with terrace overlooking the sea at the same rate of our basic accomodation to appreciate services and our helpful staff.
Best regards.
Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Man
dcarrano@aurora-hotel.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: Piazzale Dei Prontontini 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Hotel is the perfect spot to spend an unforgettable holiday in Amalfi.Located nearby the Amalfi Marina, the hotel is only 500 meters from the hustle and bustle of Piazza Duomo. It is the ideal accommodation for visiting the Amalfi Coast and its picturesque villages, such as Ravello, Positano, Capri and even the Pompeii Excavation, which are all within easy reach. The bus station and the wharf are only 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. After a long day-trip, Aurora Hotel is just a short walk to downtown and the beach, and it is accessible without climbing stairs. One final recommendation from the hotel management: if you want to spend a few relaxing days in Amalfi, please check Aurora Hotel location on Google Maps and compare it with other hotels. Most of Amalfi hotels are located in the noisy old Town, accessible by climbing long stairs; some others are located on the highway to Positano, so you will need to take the bus, a taxi or your car in order to reach the city, driving down one of the busiest roads in Italy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.