We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Hotel Aurora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzale Dei Prontontini 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Our family with three boys (11,15, 17) had a wonderful time in this clean and nice hotel. The staff is very friendly. There is a parking in the hotel basement. It is a good idea to book in advance to avoid the very expensive parking in the city. Amalie is a great place to spend som days. It is nice for walking in the city and in the valley beyond the city. We rented a boat one day and went to Positano. That is a very good way to see the coast.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear TrondT
I was delighted to see that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found the hotel to be great value, rooms comfortable, clean and breakfast to be of large variety, garage facilities and great location.
Please know that I will be passing on your feedback to team.
Happy family makes happy Hotel!
Warm regards
Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Man
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    106
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
48
226
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel, we weren't quite sure what to expect. The front entrance is modest. The reception is on the 1st floor, and we were immediately reassured. Once we were shown our rooms we were really happy. We went with my brother and his wife. Both our rooms, with generous balconies, were spacious, bright and spotless. The service at the hotel was excellent. The location was ideal, within minutes of the main hub of amalfi, but on the end of the route, by the harbour. Which meant it was quiet. I would recommend this hotel unreservedly.

Room Tip: Definitely a room with a balcony to make the most of the views, on the 1st floor. 135 on the end has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear JillB_56
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I was really pleased to see that you had a great stay with us and found everything to be of an excellent standard.

Something we are working towards achieving consistently.Please know that I will be passing on your feedback to the rest of my team who will be delighted!

Hope to see you again
Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Man
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herz
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the aurora for 5 relaxing days and received wonderful service in a hotel without many facilities. This did not detract from the simple informality of the hotel
Service went beyond the call of duty. We forget our ipad and Andrea promptly contacted us and made sure it was at our next hotel and emailed to ensure we had received it
If you are looking for a great location superb service this is the hotel for you

Room Tip: A sea facing room but the terrace and garden will compensate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear JamJill
I was pleased to learn that you had a great stay us. Staff is very reliable and they take care of all guests in any moment. I will be passing on your comments to them that will be pleased.
Best regards
Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora - Man
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I chose this hotel because of the reviews in tripadvisor. But please do not choose it if you would like a nice room close to town. Courtyard rooms are terrible.
This hotel is very pricy and overrated. Location is not that good as you have a walk of 10 minutes to the town. And it is really pricy for just old dark rooms.
Their courtyard rooms are really dark and scary. Ours just had one window that opened to a wall. Really awful and claustrofobic!. I would not choose this hotel to stay in amalfi. Amalfi is a small town, so you can better stay in the town itself.

Room Tip: Never choose the courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
good morning
I am very sorry you complained about your stay with us, maybe because you have booked the cheapest accomodation, I guess. You suggested to travellers to find a room in the city centre omitting that all hotel located in the centre haven't sea view because they are closed in the city walls without considering the hustle and bustle night and day! Hotel Aurora is located on the Amalfi's bay at the end of promenade just 500 metres from city centre and we correctly specify the rooms we offer in the description on our web site. Anyway, we will be very happy to offer you a superior room with terrace overlooking the sea at the same rate of our basic accomodation to appreciate services and our helpful staff.
Best regards.
Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Man
dcarrano@aurora-hotel.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosslee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Wonderful holiday at hotel Aurora.staff very helpful in every way.Will return with pleasure,great location.Worth paying for superior room.Staff recommended some excellent restaurants worth trying especially Il Taro.Breakfast was always very good.Rooms and bathrooms both spotless.Nothing was too much trouble and staff always courteous.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Donna E
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Hotel Aurora. I was delighted that you enjoyed our superior room located at top floor with a stunning view on the Amalfi bay. As I always do I have passed on your lovely words to my team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.
Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora -Man
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel is great because it is located at the end of the street. Book in the middle and you will not get any sleep. The air conditioning worked great, which can be inconsistent in this part of the world. The staff was the best. I have visited expensive hotels from all over the world, but chose this one because of the reviews, and I must agree with them. Our veranda over looking the ocean was bigger than our room!!! The room is typical. I am an American, and we are spoiled by large lush hotel rooms, but those cannot be found here. This room is simple, clean, perfectly maintained, and all that one could ask. I can be hard to please when cleanliness is an issue, and I was comfortable here. Hot water was readily available. The included morning breakfast was outstanding. I would stay here again with complete confidence. You should probably bring your own hair dryer. The one in my room was tired. I took this picture from our veranda so you could see the view. The size of the veranda is huge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Many many thanks for this wonderful review which we really appreciate!!! I am very very proud of our staff and I will show them this review for sure. They all work hard to make your stay as pleasant as possible and it is so nice to hear when they succeed!! Thank you and please come again.
Daniela Carrano.
Hotel Aurora- Man
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I have never experienced such wonderful service in a hotel. I stayed for one night for business and found the hotel by chance at the last minute, I was only looking for a bed. Instead I found a total suprise, and from check in to check out I was overwhelmed by the service I received. The place is beautiful and wonderfully kept, the room stunning (room 32 on top floor) and breakfast was excellent too.

Room rate was very reasonable and I do not think that you could ask for a better Amalfi hotel experience. Thanks guys!!!

Room Tip: Top floor was very very quiet, but hotel is central so always some gentle noise as well as church be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Simon F

I was so happy to read your kind feedback following your recent stay with us at Hotel Aurora. I was so glad to read your kind words and that we met all of your expectations. I do hope that you will be able to come back to the hotel in the near future so we can once again ensure you have a wonderful stay with us.
Kind regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: Piazzale Dei Prontontini 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Hotel is the perfect spot to spend an unforgettable holiday in Amalfi.Located nearby the Amalfi Marina, the hotel is only 500 meters from the hustle and bustle of Piazza Duomo. It is the ideal accommodation for visiting the Amalfi Coast and its picturesque villages, such as Ravello, Positano, Capri and even the Pompeii Excavation, which are all within easy reach. The bus station and the wharf are only 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. After a long day-trip, Aurora Hotel is just a short walk to downtown and the beach, and it is accessible without climbing stairs. One final recommendation from the hotel management: if you want to spend a few relaxing days in Amalfi, please check Aurora Hotel location on Google Maps and compare it with other hotels. Most of Amalfi hotels are located in the noisy old Town, accessible by climbing long stairs; some others are located on the highway to Positano, so you will need to take the bus, a taxi or your car in order to reach the city, driving down one of the busiest roads in Italy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.