We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and Well-situated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Aurora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzale Dei Prontontini 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 hotels in Amalfi
Fredericia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely and Well-situated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel with a very helpfull and friendly staff. Easy access to Amalfi town, only 5 min on foot. Very recommendable indeed. Still a bit pricy, but that's Amalfi. Parking is not easy, but for 20€ a day the staff arranged all.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Linda58
Thank you for your review, please know that I will be passing on your positive comments to the rest of my team. Unlikely parking slots are very expensive everywhere along the Coast, but we will try to offer a reduction to our clients.
Many thanks again for sharing your experience with other travelers.
Best regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    92
    23
    9
    7
See reviews for
42
175
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Odense
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Aurora Apartment is located at the heart of Amalfi was nice and clean but it lacks windows and the opportunity to sit outside.
The service at the service desk was excellent. Parking is expensive in Amalfi, but we got a discount by parking at the hotel, which is 10 min walk from the Apartments.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Lars 16
Thank you for your review. Aurora Residence is located in the heart of Amalfi next to Cathedral of Saint Andrew inside the city walls. Therefore all the hotels and flats in the same area haven’t sea view. The apartments are independent, just at 100 meters from the largest beach in Amalfi, shops and restaurants. They have all comforts and are particularly suitable for families and children.
We do try to keep our prices competitive with other hotels in the area so this does make great value considering we don’t charge for laundry , Wifi and final clean.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent a week at Hotel Aurora, and loved every minute of it. The location of the hotel is terrific; just a short stroll from downtown Amalfi, and right on the coast. We had a room on the fourth floor with a large terrace overlooking the harbour. A perfect spot for serious "boat and passenger watching", but also somewhat noisy (sound travels upwards). I would suggest asking for a room overlooking the beach rather than a room overlooking the harbour. The staff are friendly, service oriented. I definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the beach if you prefer quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear 378annette
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Location is our great value, on the Yachting Pier but far away from hustle of city centre. Please know I will be passing on your comments to the rest of my team who will be pleased.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Aurora soon.

Best regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Unfortunately we only had 1 night in Amalfi and this hotel but it was a real treat. The room was spacious and air conditioned (though this and the power only worked with the key in the slot). It was clean and the location great. Breakfast was good, simple continental with waiters only too happy to offer coffee. What's best about this hotel, however, is the service. We had a train dilemma and, as such, needed to leave our bags there for the day when we left. They were more than happy to accommodate that and allow us to continue to sit in their lobby and use their wifi which was great. He also printed our train ticket and was more than happy to help us with restaurant reservations. Overall a great stay, I would come back and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Kirshrick 1988

Thank you for your review, I was pleased that you found the hotel to be great value, rooms comfortable, clean and breakfast to be of large variety.
Please know that I will be passing on your feedback to the rest of my team. The aim of staff is to take care clients making train and transport arrangement, suggesting good and inexpensive restaurants.
We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Kind regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Although we possibly stayed in one of Aurora's smallest rooms, the hotel's location and staff sure made up for the lack of space. The lounge bar area and alfresco breakfast area with a fabulous view were superb and gave areal authentic and Amalfi feel to our stay. Access to a private and secluded beach and the helpful and friendly nature of all staff made our stay most memorable and relaxing. Just what we needed. We would not hesitate in going to aurora again and would recommend this hotel to our families and friends.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Lee D
I was pleased to learn that you had a great stay us. I will be passing on your comments to the rest of my team who will be pleased. Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future offering you a superior room with terrace overlooking the bay.
Best regards
Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Man
dcarrano@aurora-hotel.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I can highly recommend the Hotel Aurora to anyone wanting to enjoy the delights of Amalfi (and there are so many of them!!!). Ideally situated at the quiet end of the harbourside (no traffic....you can awake to just the gentle lap-lapping of the waves if your room faces the ocean) and the pleasant (5 to 7 minute?) level stroll along the foreshore (past lots of restaurants) to the town centre does not involve any steps, which is a bonus when it comes to selecting Amalfi accommodation. The views of Amalfi and the ocean from the rooms with private balconies are simply stunning. To access the privately-owned beach in front of the hotel involves a daily fee (but is free after 4 pm), so it is more exclusive and less busy.....another bonus. Breakfasts served on the delightful flower-filled terrace were magnificent and memorable. A special mention about the staff.....many thanks, Andrea, Andrew and all the staff for being so obliging and friendly throughout our stay.....attention to guests' requests was exceptional. This was my third visit to Amalfi and previously I stayed at more expensive hotels, but I would choose the Aurora again as a preference for any future Amalfi holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Merril 235

I am pleased that you did have an enjoyable experience at Hotel Aurora and you found all of our team from check in to check out to be excellent. Also that you enjoyed the breakfast and thought the location of the hotel was good for the city centre and major attractions.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards.
Daniela carrano
Hotel Aurora - Man
dcarrano@aurora-hotel.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just back from this hotel and was pleased with our stay.
It's situated right at the end of Amalfi so just a few minutes walk from loads of resturants and shops. It's a shame it doesn't have a pool or its own beach but then neither do most of the hotels. All along the Amalfi coast its almost impossible to enjoy the simple pleasure of a stroll on the beach. Everywhere it costs to even walk down to the sea. Have the breakfast at the Aurora as its as good as you'll get anywhere and works out a lot cheaper. Nice sized, clean rooms with towels changed every day. We had a lovely balcony with a great view. A special mention for Andrew, who was extremely helpful and made our stay very enjoyable. He was a real nice guy who went out of his way to make our stay special. The rest of the staff were also great and went the extra mile to make sure we were looked after.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Sihenderson

Nothing pleases us more than making sure your holiday at Hotel Aurora ran effortlessly and stress free.
I passed your positive comment to Andrew and staff who thank you so much.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora - Man
dcarrano@aurora-hotel.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: Piazzale Dei Prontontini 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aurora 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Hotel is the perfect spot to spend an unforgettable holiday in Amalfi.Located nearby the Amalfi Marina, the hotel is only 500 meters from the hustle and bustle of Piazza Duomo. It is the ideal accommodation for visiting the Amalfi Coast and its picturesque villages, such as Ravello, Positano, Capri and even the Pompeii Excavation, which are all within easy reach. The bus station and the wharf are only 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. After a long day-trip, Aurora Hotel is just a short walk to downtown and the beach, and it is accessible without climbing stairs. One final recommendation from the hotel management: if you want to spend a few relaxing days in Amalfi, please check Aurora Hotel location on Google Maps and compare it with other hotels. Most of Amalfi hotels are located in the noisy old Town, accessible by climbing long stairs; some others are located on the highway to Positano, so you will need to take the bus, a taxi or your car in order to reach the city, driving down one of the busiest roads in Italy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.