We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Hotel Aurora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzale Dei Prontontini 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here on our recent trip. The rooms were clean and tidy, the reception staff were extremely helpful and the view was simply stunning. The balcony faced directly to the ocean with full ocean views. This location was in short walking distance to the main town but far enough away to feel secluded. Fantastic hotel, would highly recommend..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear gaylinne

Thanks alot for a great five star review ... happy guests are what we like to hear!!
I will pass on your comments to the staff. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Daniela Carrano
dcarrano@aurora-hotel.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    107
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
48
229
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This small hotel is a gem of a hotel, beautifully situated overlooking the harbour with a magnificent flower filled terrace to eat breakfast on. I have never met nicer, more helpful staff, they couldn't do enough for us. Amalfi is the perfect location for trips to Sorrento, Capri & Ravello & of course Amalfi town & cathedral. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would heartily recommend the Aurora.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Maggie 1132_13

Thank you for your positive remarks on the friendliness of the staff and the hotel in general. Happy to hear you enjoyed breakfast on ' al fresco ' garden terrace. The owner, a lady of eighty, look after personally flowers maintenance every day.
I am happy you enjoyed your stay and awarded us five stars. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Daniela Carrano
dcarrano@aurora-hotel.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It is hard to say whether we were blinded by the beauty of Amalfi, but I'm PRETTY sure that this hotel is great. We booked a standard room and were surprised by how great it was. The room was very clean, with a comfortable bed. I'm sure that the shower in the bathroom was the smallest I've ever seen, and made showering a chore. The staff was the best we had during our 2 week stay in Italy. They immediately made us feel at home, with their kindness; I'm sure that they would have given us a kidney if they could. They recommended restaurants and showed us on the map where they were, as well as giving us the restaurant business cards and telling us about the discounts for hotel guests. Lo Smeraldino is the closest restaurant and was a great experience. The location of the hotel was perfect; it was a couple minute walk from town, with minimal noise. Breakfast was served in a lovely garden terrace, with a typical Continental Italian Breakfast.The yachting pier is right in front of the hotel, and is a great spot to have lunch, take pictures and relax. If I went back Amalfi I would stay at Aurora again; no need to take a risk when I already know there is a great place waiting for me.

Room Tip: Room 37 is a standard room with a Balcony and a little bit of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Stacia B

thank you for taking time to share our experience with other travellers. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed location of Hotel Aurora, on the sea-side, in front of Yachting Pier but far from hustle and bustle of city centre. Staff and I thank you again for awarded us 4 stars!
We look forward to seeing you soon!
Best regards
Daniela Carrano
dcarrano@aurora-hotel.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We are back home from our holiday in Amalfi, where we had a 6 nights stay at hotel Aurora. This hotel I will not hesitate to recommend. Friendly service available 24 hours. Any question or enquiry we came up with, the staff was always there to do the best for any guest. Breakfast served on the outside terrace was a lovely Italian experience (although we could wish some warm dishes and wholemeal bread). Unfortunately a couple of mornings the weather was not allowing us to eat outside, but the hotel is not to blame for that. We had a superior room located at the top floor. Highly recommended, lot of space with sun beds available. Sitting on the terrace in the morning sun or in the evening with a glass of wine listening to the waves crashing against the rocks below us, just one word to describe that - lovely.
The location of the hotel - great - just a few minutes stroll away from Amalfi center, quiet, the only sound we could hear was just the waves.
Perhaps the hotel is in need of a small refurbish outside, some places the walls seems a bit shabby, and also the yard in front of the hotel.
But, this is Italy, when we look around, buildings and surroundings are not in the same condition as we perhaps are used to in Norway - but still charming - and one of the reasons that we love Italy.
If anyone is planning a trip to Amalfi and ask for a recommended hotel, I will undoubtedly point out Hotel Aurora as my first choice in this town.

Room Tip: Superior rooms located at the top floor with large terraces, table, chairs and sun beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear BenInDa
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on TA giving us 5 stars.I was really pleased to see that you had a great stay and found us to be great value, due to breakfast we offer, service provided and cleanliness
Your comment and suggestions will also help us how we can improve to provide excellent service for our guests.
Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Man
dcarrano@aurora-hotel.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Part of our train trip to Sicily. We spent 3 nights here. Wanted a sea view room with terrace near the town and this fitted the bill exactly. Hotel arranged transfers to and from Salerno railway station for €135 which was reasonable and very efficient. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast in the garden was beautiful. The superior room on the 3rd floor was exactly what we wanted with fantastic views and 2 sun beds. Some noise from the small marina but we chose to sleep with the doors open to appreciate the sound of the sea. Great location if you want to be in Walking distance from Amalfi centre

Room Tip: Room 29 has own terrace not overlooked by others with lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Good morning Rhoosecatlover
Thank you for your review, please know that I will be passing on your positive comments to the rest of my team. I apologize for the small noise came from Marina but consider that sea view on the wharf is very romantic as well as to lay down on sunbeds on the terrace to relax.
I hope that on your next visit to Amalfi we will be your first choice and very much look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards
Daniela Carrano
hotel Aurora Man
dcarrano@aurora-hotel.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at this lovely gem of a hotel at the end of the pier in Amalfi in November of 2012 after deciding to change from a hotel in Ravello. Not expecting anything like what we arrived at, we were greeted by the most courteous of staff and ushered into a spotlessly clean room with a balcony overlooking the sea, having been upgraded because it was the quiet end of the season (without additional cost!). We couldn't have been more delighted with our last minute choice. The location is fantastic. We (I should say "they") parked our car after a harrowing drive down the Amalfi coast road and we didn't see it again for a week. We walked everywhere, took the bus to Ravello for a cooking class (an entirely different fantastic adventure!), and took a boat trip to Capri from the dock, a mere five minute walk away. Amalfi square itself is only a few minutes walk away. We were two women, old friends who hadn't seen each other in ten years and we felt perfectly safe and rottenly spoiled by the staff every single day. They bent over backwards to provide us with every amenity, answered questions and spoke flawless English, and hardly laughed at our attempted Italian. If I ever had the chance to choose a honeymoon spot again, this lovely little hotel would definitely be on my short list, and I would call Andreas my favourite hotel manager of all time! (The waiters were wonderful too!)
Thank you to everyone at the Hotel Amalfi for helping to make my last week in Italy with a dear friend so very special!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea at the front with balconies are preferred but may cost more in high season...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear silversuitecase140

I was delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us and how much making the arrangements with Andrea it was a pleasure. We try to offer to our clients our best service, but women travelling alone deserve a preferential treatment!
Please know that I will be passing on your feedback to him as well as the housekeepers with regards to the very clean standard of rooms.
I am glad that the recent weather enabled you to enjoy our garden terrace, perfect for having breakfast in the morning!
Superior room are a bit expensive compared with standard ones but they are offered with reduction in off season or in free upgrade when booked in advance.
Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora -Man
dcarrano@aurora-hotel.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great staff, helpful in all areas. Breakfast on the terrace was an unforgettable experience. Rooms airy and light and spotlessly clean. We had a balcony facing the sea which we really enjoyed. Location is great, just a pleasant 5 minute walk away from the main area so very quiet and relaxing. Spent 4 idyllic days there and will highly recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Front room with balcony facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Good morning Jmpdg111

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

I was very pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and you found all of our team from check in to check out to be excellent. Also that you enjoyed the breakfast and thought the location of the hotel was good for the city centre and major attractions.
Thank you again and I hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards.

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora - Man
dcarrano@aurora-hotel.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: Piazzale Dei Prontontini 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Hotel is the perfect spot to spend an unforgettable holiday in Amalfi.Located nearby the Amalfi Marina, the hotel is only 500 meters from the hustle and bustle of Piazza Duomo. It is the ideal accommodation for visiting the Amalfi Coast and its picturesque villages, such as Ravello, Positano, Capri and even the Pompeii Excavation, which are all within easy reach. The bus station and the wharf are only 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. After a long day-trip, Aurora Hotel is just a short walk to downtown and the beach, and it is accessible without climbing stairs. One final recommendation from the hotel management: if you want to spend a few relaxing days in Amalfi, please check Aurora Hotel location on Google Maps and compare it with other hotels. Most of Amalfi hotels are located in the noisy old Town, accessible by climbing long stairs; some others are located on the highway to Positano, so you will need to take the bus, a taxi or your car in order to reach the city, driving down one of the busiest roads in Italy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.