We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Hotel Aurora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzale Dei Prontontini 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We thoroughly recommend Hotel Aurora - the staff were most friendly and helpful especially Andrew. The room was compact but very clean and offered everything that we required. The balcony allowed us to gaze over the picturesque jetty as the sun went down and lights began to sparkle. The Hotel is well located being a short walk along the seafront and away from the bustle of the square. There was a good choice for breakfast with great coffee and I was amply provided with gluten free breads and biscuits. Breakfast on the terrace in the morning sun is a fantastic way to start the day!
The knowledgeable and helpful staff allowed us to make the most of our visit to Amalfi. I can recommend the free tour of Amalfi by Michaelangelo - very informative. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Choose either a top floor room with large verandah or a lower room with a balcony. This allows you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Richard H
Thank you very much for your excellent review. Andrew and the staff are really pleased to hear that they were able to contribute to ensuring your stay was a pleasant one. Hotel Aurora location is very convenient for spending relaxing days in Amalfi just few minutes walk from the hustle of city centre. Thanks again to appreciate the guided tour of Amalfi, free of charge, this year.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Daniela Carrano
dcarrano@aurora-hotel.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    103
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
47
224
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We loved our stay at Hotel Aurora! The room was nice-a bit small-but who spent any time inside when we enjoyed the fabulous spacious terrace with breathtaking view! The room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and delicious with a selection of hot and cold foods. The hotel has so much charm and character, even the hallways are beautifully decorated! Friendly and helpful staff. The complimentary boat ride along the coast to Amalfi was a memorable experience. Everything was perfect!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Robertbry
Thank you for your positive remarks on the friendliness of the staff and the hotel in general. We are striving to satisfy our guests requirements and needs on a regular basis. we look forward to see you in the future.
warm regards
Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Manager
dcarrano@aurora-hotel.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We spent six nights in Aurora Apartment in Amalfi. Having two active children we find apartments preferable to hotels when staying more than a night or two. The apartment is well located behind the Cathedral, close to the main street with its Restaurants and cafes. Hotel staff were very helpful including pointing places where the locals shop. It does not have a sea view but is just 50 steps to the seaside. The apartment was well equipped, comfortable and quiet. There is a small gym located in the building and they play music in the afternoon and evening but it was not too loud and always stopped at 10 pm. If driving, be aware that the coast and mountain roads are narrow with many dangerous bends and parking is difficult to find, i.e 20 euro a day in Amalfi's well organized underground car park if you are staying in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Good evening Michelle
Thanks for the positive review and I am happy to see you and your family enjoyed your visit. next time, please note we offer a special discount for gym centre to enjoy the facilities we offer at the Hotel Aurora.
There is nothing more I like than to know we have made Mum & Dad plus kids very happy!
Kind regards

Daniela Carrano
hotel aurora - manager
dcarrano@aurora-hotel.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Montana, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This apartment was a great find for our first trip to Amalfi. It was located close to the town square (not on the water like the actual Hotel), but it was still in a good location. It included a kitchen, living room with pull out couch, and two bedrooms, and a nice bath. You also have use of a washer and dryer. Andrea, the proprietor, was very helpful and even met us at the bus stop. My only complaints are that there was no view from the hotel and it is located in the same building as a dance studio. (The classes go a bit late...)The town itself is wonderful as well. I much prefer this quaint village over the larger towns on the Amalfi coast. It is centrally located between Sorrento and Salerno and is most easily accessed by taking a train directly from Rome to Salerno and then grabbing a Sita bus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Jenifer P
Thank you for sharing your trip experience with other travelers on TA. As well specified apartments are located in city centre, close to St. Andrew Cathedral, with no sea view, although the sea is 50 metres far. They are targeting for very independent guests but with all hotel services you needed. Aurora Apartments is the ideal accommodation for visiting Amalfi Coast and even Positano, Capri and Pompeii Excavation.
Thank you again for your contribution
Daniela Carrano
dcarrano@aurora-hotel.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights back in June 2011 when we were on our honeymoon. We had a lovely room with a huge patio and sunbeds, and a beautiful view of the ocean. The outdoor breakfast area is beautiful and was a lovely place to sit in the mornings. I did have an issue with the ban on outside food and beverages...why? This doesn't seem fair.

The hotel was reasonably priced and quiet, located at the far end of town but a five minute walk to the town centre. The little restaurant right out the front of the hotel was lovely. It was obviously family owned and run. We went in quite late one night they cooked us up a delicious meal without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing HOTEL AURORA for your last stay in June in AMALFI. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them. You noticed our ban in the guest’s room to invite people do not bring any outside food or beverages. Unlikely many people left or stored food for days causing bad smells and daily housekeeping problems. Therefore we had to put the ban and we apologise if we seemed unfair for that. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you again for reviewing your experience and we hope to see you again soon at HOTEL AURORA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Great little hotel, in a lovely quiet spot and only about 10 mins delightful walk into the town centre, with a local bus stop outside if you can't walk the 10 min. Situated near to a small pebble beach with restaurant. Attention to customer service great, breakfast delightful and room very clean. For the price great! we did not stay in much as there is plenty to see and do and enjoy. This hotel must be in new ownership as there is no restaurant in the hotel but plenty in town and that's the fun of it and also we saw no gym room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Direttore at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest
Many thanks indeed for choosing HOTEL AURORA for your recent stay in Amalfi. Thank you too for writing to Trip Advisor, we always appreciate your feedback and you made some wonderful comments, thank you! I'm very sorry any member of staff did not tell you that our gym center is located in our apartment hotel near the Cathedral, in the heart of city about 600 metres from Hotel Aurora.
I am pleased to hear you will stay with us again and I look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Best regards:
Daniela Carrano
dcarrano@aurora-hotel.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Friendly, cosy hotel close to both city center and ferries to Capri.
Experienced during work related stay. But although a memorable experience.
Recommend breakfast outdoor in the hillside overlooking city and the sea. Beautiful:-)

Room Tip: Order room directed opposite city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Good afternoon HansOttoL

Thank you for your three star rating and positive comments on the public areas and accommodation. I am pleased to hear you will stay with us again and I look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Daniela Carrano
dcarrano@aurora-hotel.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: Piazzale Dei Prontontini 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Hotel is the perfect spot to spend an unforgettable holiday in Amalfi.Located nearby the Amalfi Marina, the hotel is only 500 meters from the hustle and bustle of Piazza Duomo. It is the ideal accommodation for visiting the Amalfi Coast and its picturesque villages, such as Ravello, Positano, Capri and even the Pompeii Excavation, which are all within easy reach. The bus station and the wharf are only 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. After a long day-trip, Aurora Hotel is just a short walk to downtown and the beach, and it is accessible without climbing stairs. One final recommendation from the hotel management: if you want to spend a few relaxing days in Amalfi, please check Aurora Hotel location on Google Maps and compare it with other hotels. Most of Amalfi hotels are located in the noisy old Town, accessible by climbing long stairs; some others are located on the highway to Positano, so you will need to take the bus, a taxi or your car in order to reach the city, driving down one of the busiest roads in Italy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.