We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amalfi fabulous - hotel "adequate".” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzale Dei Prontontini 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Glasgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amalfi fabulous - hotel "adequate".”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We’ve been visiting Amalfi for 25 years & in our opinion, it’s a very special & unique place. It’s not cheap though, so if cost is important it may be best avoided in favour one of the other less expensive Amalfi coast locations. This was our first time at the Hotel Aurora & our choice was heavily influenced by the reviews on this site. I’m pretty well travelled, pragmatic & have no axe to grind, but I just don’t understand the effusive praise generated about the Aurora. For me, it’s a fairly basic “no frills” 3 star hotel at 4 or 5 star prices.

On the positive side, the hotel is very clean, well maintained, in an excellent location and with a lovely breakfast terrace overlooking Amalfi itself. It also has a nice private area within the local lido across the road, but there is a 12 euro charge per couple which seemed a wee bit cheeky given the cost of staying at the hotel.

On the negative side, the sea view room we had was basic, although the air conditioning unit was very effective and was a godsend given the mini heatwave during our stay. It’s also bed & breakfast only with no room service or snacks etc available during the day. The breakfast is also a very basic “minimum effort” & fairly monotonous buffet, with no hot options. Some reviewers mention the friendliness of the staff, but Italians are friendly by nature the & the staff here were certainly no friendlier than anywhere else we’ve stayed, with the possible exception of Walter the night watchman, who simply a really lovely bloke who will do everything he can to make you happy.

Also if you do decide to holiday here, it would be worth paying the extra for a sea view, otherwise your bedroom window will be a few feet from the cliff face.

Bottom line – Amalfi is fabulous & the hotel is adequate, but probably about 30% overpriced considering its basic 3 star quality (in my opinion).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    91
    21
    11
    6
See reviews for
47
199
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Purchase, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We booked this hotel for one night to break up the drive from Rome to Calabria. We arrived around 3:30PM well past check in time and we were informed that our room wouldnt be ready for another hour. Based on their website they stated they had parking. First off to get to the hotel is a nightmare. One small road packed with cars. My car was nicked in a few areas. Apparently the hotel parking is very limited and only for small cars (basically 2 doors) so they arrange for someone to pick it up and take it to a garage just ten minutes away. When we checked out we had to wait 45 minutes to get the car back. When the room was ready they told us they gave us an upgrade to a bigger room for the same price. This was a lie because the room we got was the one we had reserved in the beginning. The beach was very small and cramped with umbrellas on top of each other. The room was a decent size but it could have been cleaner. There were ants in the bathroom. Breakfast was nothing special. Would not go back here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Direttore at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

I know it is a nightmare to have a car in Amalfi! We always encourage our Guests to not use a car; Amalfi Coast road is famous to be “the road of 1001 curves”, parking places are very limited and very expensive, garages with valet service are outside of town and sometimes the parking spots they can offer are digged in the rocks!!! We usually send a pre-stay letter to our clients explaining what they have to do if they come with their own car.

We apologize for the late check in, sometimes it can happen during August which is a very busy month; if a room is not available when a new Guest arrives we always try to make him welcome and while waiting the receptionist is ready to offer a refreshing drink and makes sure that everything else is in order. It’s very difficult to grant a free upgrade in August; we just tried to accommodate you in a larger room.

Rocky beaches are one of the features of the Amalfi Coast, where mountains fell down into the sea; the landscape makes The Amalfi Coast a Unesco Heritage Site but also does not allow enough space for large and sandy beaches.

The hotel is surrounded by pine trees and pergolas of bougainvillea, lovely setting for Guests but also perfect home for ants, birds and bees!

Kind regards,

Daniela Carrano
Dir. Hotel Aurora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011 via mobile

We recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and we had a fantastic time. Our bus trip from Sorrento to Amalfi was not the relaxing trip we thought it would be. Once we arrived at the hotel we were told that there was a better way to travel and this was by boat rather than bus. With the help and friendly advise we arranged to change our train ticket to a later time and to get a boat rather than bus. The hotel Manager arranges weekly drinks for all the hotel guests,we were very impressed,the Manager came around to all the guests and introduced herself.This made for a friendly atmosphere.we had a great time and met some lovely people.
Sue & Dave

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Great location, even if it's the last hotel on the waterfront strip. Nice room with beautiful large deck overlooking the sea. Breakfast, and as everywhere in Italy- cappuccino, served by uniformed waiters on waterfront terrace. Very helpful staff, lovely hotel 5 min walk from town center.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

A magical holiday the Aurora is a hidden gem on the beautiful Amalfi coast. Wonderful staff so helpful. Rooms very clean and brilliant house-keeping staff. Loved breakfast on the lovely terrace. We will return

Bob and Carol ^Tomlinson.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We had 8 days at the Aurora in late April - booked a room with a deck - really really worth it. Our Room was not huge, but just fine, our deck was really large, and great to spend our evenings on - just so much happens in Amalfi Harbour. The Hotel had only just opened from its Winter break - but the staff were right into it - courteous, and seemed great with each other - I enjoyed watching them - including the lovely cleaning ladies, have a cup of coffee together before they got the day started - I enjoyed using the internet at the same time - a happy and laughing lot. Breakfast was very good, most of the time we ate it out on their pretty deck, no noise at night, situated so perfectly. The Concierge is just so accommodating, he really is very helpful, as are all the staff. We celebrated our 35th Wedding Anniversary there - the Concierge sent up a bottle of iced wine when he found out. The only thing for us, but we didn't mention it at the time, was we personally found the pillows a little hard for our liking, but again I believe had I mentioned this - that situation would have been sorted

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We have just come back from a week at the Aurora and had a brilliant time. The hotel is very convenient for all of Amalfi's attractions but also for visiting other places around the coast as it is near to both the harbour (for ferries to Positano, Capri etc.) and the main bus stops (which we used for the bus up to Ravello).
The staff at this hotel really made a difference and helped to make our holiday in Amalfi a fantastic experience. When we arrived to check in we were given recommendations of places to eat. Although the hotel only caters for breakfast when we showed the cards given to us by the hotel at the recommended restaurants in Amalfi we received discount on our meals. The reception staff were always ready to offer advice and maps etc regarding transport for our excursions to Ravello, Positano and Capri. We enjoyed listening to one member of staff play great music one night in a restaurant near the hotel (Lo Smeraldino) and on our last night the night porter, who was always extremely helpful, recommended a pizzeria where we had a great meal. With the help of the team on reception and a map that they gave us we were able to plan a walk from Ravello through Scala and down to Amalfi where the views were spectacular (not suitable for anyone who dislikes walking down steps as the descent into Amalfi was taken using the most steps I have ever walked down in one go!)
We had a room overlooking the sea with a small balcony which was a lovely place to end the day with a cold glass of wine from the reasonably priced mini bar in the room (3 euros for most things). The air conditioning worked well and helped to keep us cool after the hot days. The room was always clean and restocked. Breakfast was good and served on the garden terrace which has lovely views of Amalfi, the staff at breakfast were again excellent and the choice of food and great coffee meant that we were always well set up for the day ahead.
We will definitely stay at the Aurora again. Thank you to all the staff for helping us to have a wonderful holiday in this beautiful part of the world!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: Piazzale Dei Prontontini 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aurora 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Hotel is the perfect spot to spend an unforgettable holiday in Amalfi.Located nearby the Amalfi Marina, the hotel is only 500 meters from the hustle and bustle of Piazza Duomo. It is the ideal accommodation for visiting the Amalfi Coast and its picturesque villages, such as Ravello, Positano, Capri and even the Pompeii Excavation, which are all within easy reach. The bus station and the wharf are only 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. After a long day-trip, Aurora Hotel is just a short walk to downtown and the beach, and it is accessible without climbing stairs. One final recommendation from the hotel management: if you want to spend a few relaxing days in Amalfi, please check Aurora Hotel location on Google Maps and compare it with other hotels. Most of Amalfi hotels are located in the noisy old Town, accessible by climbing long stairs; some others are located on the highway to Positano, so you will need to take the bus, a taxi or your car in order to reach the city, driving down one of the busiest roads in Italy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.