We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discrimination” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Moon

Silver Moon
Viale della Regione, 6 | Sulla spiaggia, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
089 872150
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 94 restaurants in Amalfi
Price range: $27 - $48
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Discrimination”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Price for English speaking visitors: 20 euros, Price for Italian: 8 euros
The place is ok, the beach is great, the service is rude.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mata E, Proprietario at Silver Moon, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Mrs or Mr Jo V,
The world discrimination doesn't exist in our vocabulary. We make no differences between sex, nationality or religion!!!!!!!
Our prices are exposed at the entrance and in the Silver Moon,too.Everyone may decided to come.
If you have felt discriminated against is only an impression!!!!!!I. If we make a discount it is not for the language but for the time of day, if someone arrives late in the afternoon we do not charge the full price.The price also varies if clients come from hotels with which we ave agreements.
We would like to know the reason why you think the service is rude. We have had no over complaints.
Yours faithfully, the proprietor of Silver Moon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    75
    43
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Super friendly family run restaurant with beach hire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Definitely the pick of the bunch for sun lounge hire in Amalfi, and great food in the cafe/restaurant as well, but what we really fell in love with was the family who own Silver Moon in Amalfi... they were so kind and friendly and welcoming to us, and our little girl just adored their little dog.

We spent a day at the beach and they gave us a great rate on the sun lounges and were happy to watch our little one as she played with their dog while we ate our lunch.

The food was also great - pizza and pasta were delicious, but the highlight of Silver Moon was definitely the owners... we would go back to Amalfi just to visit them! Loved it.

Silver Moon was by far the highlight of our stay in Amalfi - and that says a lot, because Amalfi and the Coast is incredible.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Amalfi for our long weekend in Jun-13. During this time, we had the chance to experience the beach-restaurants of both Amalfi and Positano, and I could say with certainty that Amalfi wins hands down compared to Positano; and Silver Moon was the best place we swam in by far. The beach-bed price was about half of typical Positano place, and all the employees were very friendly and professional. The beer was served in an ice-bag, and with complimentary snacks - and the free wi-fi was working very well. We tried the zucchini-lemon pizza which was very different than all the pizzas I had eaten, and went very well on a warm day under the sun.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hospitality of owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We've been in Amalfi silver moon for honeymoon. Considerable positive difference in all aspects...
Wonderful personell, hospitality of owners who are serving personally, fair pricing, wi-fi...
Clean and delicious restaurant

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Some words of praise from very satisfied repeat visitors (since 2005-Mr e Mrs Laws)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a welcoming and very friendly family-run beach with a snack bar and a restaurant. The restaurant menu is simple but the fish is cooked to perfection. They serve the best mixed grilled fish in Amalfi. Also try pizza caprese - warm pizza base topped with fresh tomato, mozzarella and basil salad - lovely!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Moon also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Silver Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Moon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.