We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel on water, close to downtown Amalfi, but with a rude staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel la Bussola

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel la Bussola to your Saves list
Hotel la Bussola
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare dei Cavalieri di San Giovanni di Gerusalemme, 16, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent hotel on water, close to downtown Amalfi, but with a rude staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

First of all, I want to point out that I grew up in Italy. My family is from Rome and so I am used to the Italian culture. That being said, I did think that the staff at La Bussola was a bit on the rude side. My parents, however, always stay at this hotel when visiting Amalfi, so we took their suggestion and booked a room here for three days during our honeymoon. The staff seemed very frustrated with the American travelers (my husband and I flew in from California). No niceties from the staff. Especially the men who run the free breakfast buffet every morning. Very gruff, almost to the point that you feel as though you are intruding in their home -- how dare us! The breakfast is just so-so, with cornetti (Italian croisants), some ham, cheese, cereal and cookies. The rooms are nice enough, but don't expect posh. Marble floors with basic bedding -- and very, very firm bedding. One small TV on the desk, with a small fridge. The bathrooms are updated and pretty -- but be prepared for the European style: small, small shower located on one end of the tub, with a rounded, closed-in door that will make even the average sized man feel very claustrophobic. We have a shower like this at our house outside of Rome, so I was used to this style, but even so, it felt smaller and tighter. The hotel is a very short walk to Amalfi's main downtown square, where you can find local shops and restaurants. It is also just a few minutes from the pier where you can catch a ferry to Capri, etc. The hotel is on the water, so most rooms, I believe, have a balcony. It's a nice central location, just go prepared that the staff isn't going to be overtly friendly. They have one computer that you may use, for two euro for 20 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    137
    56
    15
    8
See reviews for
55
147
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North West
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

My wife and i travelled to Amalfi with friends and stayed at the Hotel for six nights. The staff were really supportive, helpful and welcoming. We were initially allocated a standard room which in our view was far too small and dark - bathroom was so small and left no room for storing washroom equipment. However, after requesting an upgrade to a superior room we were delighted. We were allocated room 107 and the pleasant bathroom shower made such a difference. The menu was somewhat unimaginative but the food was superbly cooked and well presented. The hotel is situated near to the town which is very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
202 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Sayed here as part of a tour. Rooms were clean, bathroom was small, beds were good. The food was great and the location near town was excellent. It was beautiful sleeping with the shutters open to the cool bereze and the sound of the water. Nice balcony facing the water. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

We stayed at La Bussola for a week with an organised coach tour in March 2010. Our rooms were comfortable, although basic, since we had only paid for single rooms. The bathrooms could use renovation, but they were perfectly adequate. The hotel is very well decorated, with a welcoming reception and bar area. The bartender serves a large selection of cocktails, although they might do well to limit the number a little more as some of them were not really as they should have been (very cheap though at 4 Euros each)

Service in the restaurant was excellent, although it felt a little dated and overly formal for the level of food being cooked. The main quibble here was consistency. On the first day, we were not impressed by an overcooked seabass with boring vegetables and a bowl of past-its-best fruit as a dessert. On every other day, however, the food was at least reasonable for a 3 star, and on a couple of days was actually very good. All of the pasta dishes, in particular, were cooked well and tasty. On the final day we had a plate of lightly fried seafood that we would have been happy to pay for in a restaurant, and some of the local desserts were absolutely delicious! Breakfast was fairly simple, but better than continental breakfasts in a lot of hotels in Europe, and certainly nothing to complain about.

Without doubt this hotel's main selling point, though, is its location; close to the sea and just a couple of minute's walk into town. Overall, I'd recommend La Bussola if you want a comfortable environment at an affordable price.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
225 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 420 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

We arrived in Amalfi in early December and, with many of the hotels closed, asked the tourist office for recommendations. They suggested the Luna Convente and La Bussola. Luna Convente was eerily quiet and being refurbed. So went for La Bussola and did not regret it.

We had a beautiful room with lovely sea views. I think it had just been redecorated and had a large bathroom with jacuzzi bath. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was adequate. The restaurant and bar were open on a couple of the nights we were there but we never saw anyone use them.

As to going to Amalfi Coast in Decemeber - we loved it = no crowds and easy to get around and park. Even the weather was good - shirt sleeves for us Brits - sweaters for the locals.

Amalfi was quiet but very romantic with the square in front of the Duomo looking charming with its Christmas decorations. Many of the restaurants were closed but we ate twice at da Gemma near the Duomo - wonderful food and fantastic ambiance.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

My wife and I have just spent a week in this hotel and enjoyed an excellent holiday, that was made the better due to the first class organisation and running of the hotel and its facilities. Upon transfer from Naples airport the hotel had a vehicle awaiting us at the bus station in Amalfi and our luggage was unloaded and conveyed to the hotel. We were booked in quickly and given our room keys, and invited to join the holiday group in the lounge at six in the evening for a welcome cocktail.
The room was not on a grand style, but contained all that was needed for a short stay, beds were comfortable and in the chilly evenings the heating came on to keep the rooms at a comfortable temperature, the en suite could have been a little larger, but it fulfilled all our requirements, was clean, and maintained to the same high standard for the period of our stay with clean towels being exchanged on demand and hot water always being readily available.
We took the half board option and the menu which was changed each evening offered a three course meal with three choices of starter, three choices for main course and two courses for desert, in seven days I never had a meal that I did not thoroughly enjoy, and the service afforded by the head waiter and his staff was absolutely first class.
Each morning a buffet breakfast was available and the choices again were excellent, with cereals, various jams, pates, cheese and ham on offer each morning together with fresh bread, croissants, yoghurts, fresh fruit, fruit juices and choices of coffee or tea offered at the table.
The small bar was staffed by a very helpful barman who was both friendly and efficient at his task of providing whatever refreshment was asked for.

My general view is that the hotel is well run, clean, comfortable and functional and is an excellent base from which to explore the area. The staff during my stay provided a friendly and relaxed atmosphere that made our holiday very special.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

La Bussola is located in a great spot away from the noisier part of Amalfi but still in close walking distance to the centre of town.Our large balcony was brilliant with breathtaking 180` views of the coast and of any cruise ship/boat in the bay.Our room was spacious and large bed v.comfy and nice sheets. Nice fridge,a/con,3 English speaking TV channels,and lift and nice rooftop terrace.
Breakfast was very ordinary with small selection,no cooked, and (hard to believe in Italy) bad coffee that barely resembled coffee! Tiny little shower with dribbly shower head, harsh ,thin towels and couple of gruff reception staff.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#24 of 30 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#19 of 30 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#13 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Lara
Villa Lara
#7 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Bussola

Address: Lungomare dei Cavalieri di San Giovanni di Gerusalemme, 16, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#9 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel la Bussola 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with balcony front sea view, air conditioning, parking, good restaurant, Meeting Rooms, American bar, lifts, roof-garden solarium. Well-positioned, in centre of Amalfi, on the Promenade, along the sea. In a quiet, panoramic location, few yards from the Cathedral Square, and the harbour from where every morning several steamers leave to Positano, Capri, Naples and Salerno. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel la Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bussola Amalfi
La Bussola Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel la Bussola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.