We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Spring Treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel la Bussola

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel la Bussola to your Saves list
Hotel la Bussola
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare dei Cavalieri di San Giovanni di Gerusalemme, 16, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Province of Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Spring Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely hotel located right on the water in Amalfi. The staff was friendly and helpful at all times. Our room was clean, spacious and the view was great. They offer a grande breakfast buffet with a great cappuccino.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    123
    51
    14
    5
See reviews for
50
133
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although the very narrow access road was challenging we came to appreciate it is the norm on the Amalfi Coast. While the online photo of the swimming platform may deceive we soon realised that it was a step above neighbouring crowded beaches. The swimming attendant was a little remote (til generously tipped) but the concierge and lobby staff were a real treat in this family owned Hotel. We loved it, a lot, couple and two teenagers. Very relaxing for a spot so close to the village. We would stay again, definitely.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have views, lower rooms the outdoor patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amalfi Coast, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have wonderful memories of our holiday in the beautiful Amalfi. Without exception is our stay at the Hotel La Bussola, a first class establishment, with lovely en suite rooms & balconies overlooking the harbour giving perfect panoramic views. Drinks at the hotel bar are very reasonable, breakfast & the evening restaurant were excellent. The hotel is very close to all shops & restaurants. We would definitely return to the La Bussola.

Room Tip: You need not worry, I think I am correct in saying that all rooms faced the front, every room has th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrabeen
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Amalfi Coast is one of the most breathtaking regions in southern Italy. However hotels like this are not needed here.
Situated along a narrow, very rough roadway which leads to the main breakwater and protects the local fishing fleet, it also fronts the small harbour as well.
The staff were far from obliging, the bar was never open unless it was for on organised group of travellers and the dining room was also very plain. Dinner and breakfast were also included in our tarriff. Dinner was set with a choice of two dishes and cutlery were wanting during the spread. Breakfast was just plain and very limited offering basic packaged cereal cold meats and eggs to boil if you wanted something hot.
Our room although with a view was very small, quite sparce and very dark unless the curtains were open.
The bathroom has to be the smallest I have ever experienced. How someone can include a shower recess, toilet bowl, and hand basin in a room that measures 9 tiles long by 8 tiles wide must be an illusionist but that was the size.
Being close to the city center and cafes would be the only positive I have for hotel LaBussola.
For the same money I'm sure something far better would be available.
Dismiss this hotel from your search.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs, overpriced and far from adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo55, Direttore at Hotel la Bussola, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We regret not being able to meet your expectations.
Thank you for the comments made, help us make improvements.
But you say that you have not even visited the sitting room of the hotel where we have our main bar.
What you say is only open a few hours is the bar of our Meetings area, that sometimes we open, if there are groups in the restaurant.
You say that you were at the hotel in April, but at that time in our restaurant we serve an extensive menu with great choice, not only two choices, we do not understand your observation.
It' true that some rooms are not big, but we have also a lot more comfortable that we call Superior. All rooms have a nice balcony overlooking the picturesque marina and the sea.
We hope to have you our guest again.
We look forward to the challenge... see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth Junction, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location can't be beat - close to everything and amazing views. My mom couldn't stop talking about how clean the property was; it was true - walking around barefoot in the room, we did not end up with black feet! The staff was very helpful and recommended so of the best restaurants of our trip; they helped with our every need. Breakfast was nice - no complaints here! Really would love to go back....

Room Tip: Loved our balcony and sleeping to the sound of the ocean!!! Took great photos on their roof deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are looking just for a bed and willing to pay a bit more to have a room with sea view than this hotel is good. Location is ok, 5 min walking from main square and beach front. The view from the rooms facing the sea are very nice and worth. But shower goes from cold to hot without touching, spa bath does not work, service is ok and breakfast is poor. Not even scrambled eggs.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015 via mobile

walking distance to town with amazing views. However if you are looking for miserable reception staff and the worlds worst breakfast then this for you. Such a shame as this is a family hotel since 1963 and obviously not moved with the times. Seem to us that they cater mostly for coach parties.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel la Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Bussola

Address: Lungomare dei Cavalieri di San Giovanni di Gerusalemme, 16, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#9 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel la Bussola 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with balcony front sea view, air conditioning, parking, good restaurant, Meeting Rooms, American bar, lifts, roof-garden solarium. Well-positioned, in centre of Amalfi, on the Promenade, along the sea. In a quiet, panoramic location, few yards from the Cathedral Square, and the harbour from where every morning several steamers leave to Positano, Capri, Naples and Salerno. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel la Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bussola Amalfi
La Bussola Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel la Bussola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.