We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location in Amalfi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel la Bussola

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel la Bussola to your Saves list
Hotel la Bussola
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare dei Cavalieri di San Giovanni di Gerusalemme, 16, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Alexandria, VA USA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Perfect Location in Amalfi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were here for two nights in three rooms--a triple, a double and a twin. All were superior with water views.

The place is a little quirky--'70s style furnishings. But, the rooms were comfortable and the views were wonderful. More importantly, the location was perfect. In three minutes we could walk to the Amalfi Duomo and main piazza. Two minutes the other direction to meet our chartered boat captain for a day on the water. Plenty of restaurants to choose from.

The only down side to the wonderful views was street noise from vacationers walking the board walk at night. But truly, that didn't really bother us.

I know you get much better views of the coast when you stay out of town on the cliffs, but with a travel group of 7, it was important to us to be walking distance to shops and restaurants so the group could split up at times.

I definitely recommend this hotel and would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    109
    46
    13
    4
See reviews for
44
121
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a great hotel. It is very much 1970's but in a cool way. The hotel is very clean and on the waterfront with great views of the marina. The staff was very helpful. We had a few problems with wifi but the staff was quick to help.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here in July. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, especially when my partner had trouble getting WiFi. The location was great and our room on the second floor offered splendid views over the sea. The decor was a little dated, but comfortable bed and adequate storage for cases and clothes. The air-conditioning a little disappointing as it stopped when you left the room, so room took a while to cool when you re-entered. There was a strange shower unit, which took a while to get used to, and we didn't even attempt a bath.The towels were very rough. We were a little cross about the mini bar where a charge would be made on any item that you left in the fridge which you purchased else where such as water etc. And the T.V single was poor. The room/hotel information pack could benefit from updating. Breakfast was sufficient and offered choices and served in an excellent room with sea views. We used the sun terrace and the sea front area, both services were good. On the whole we had an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: You need to book sea view. Smoking rooms are first floor. You will get waterfront noise as people te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

La Bussola is more than a 4 star hotel; with a friendly staff who goes out of their way to please. Our room #353 had ocean front view. It was on the third floor, I highly recommend it. The hotel includes fast wi fi, free in the rooms and throughout the hotel. Delicious Buffett breakfast is included with the price of the room and free parking. For a modest price you can have a great Italian dinner with wine at their restaurant while enjoying a beautiful ocean view. The hotel has a private swim platform with chairs, towels and a life guard at no extra cost... I highly and without reservations give The Hotel la Bussola the highest ratings.

Room Tip: Our room #353 had a great ocean front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

After a long day's travelling and a stay in a 3 star hotel, I was looking forward to our 4 star experience at La Bussola. It was easy to find and we were impressed by its location. The receptionist was welcoming and saw us up to our room, arranging for our bags to follow. The view from the balcony is amazing and if one could rate on that alone, this hotel would be 5 star! However, the room is very small, as is the bathroom - it's always irritating when there is nowhere to shelve your things, not even a soap dish in the shower. As for the shower, there was no hot water. I tried to phone down to reception to ask what I could do to sort it out, but the phone didn't work. So after trying everything humanly possible, culminating in a hasty and freezing shower, I went down to speak to the receptionist. There is no denying they are approachable, friendly and polite, but they were not in the least bit apologetic and said the problem couldn't be sorted until Monday. I asked if I could have another room with a shower that worked, but the answer was no, they were full. These things can happen, I accept that, but even just an apology rather than an apparent attitude of that's your lot, accept it, would have been better. The Internet reception is patchy at best. The room we are in could benefit from some soundproofing too. So far I feel I have got a 2/3 star experience with a 5 star view.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary,NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a great family vacation in Italy and stayed at Hotel La Bussola in Amalfi. The entire staff was extremely helpful and pleasant, especially Mena and Vincenzo who I dealt with a lot . The room had a balcony with a great view of the ocean. Amalfi is a great little Italian town with a lot of great restaurants. The town is also centrally located so we took day trips to Capri, Pompeii/Vesuvius, Ravello, and Posintano / Sorrento. Driving the Amalfi coast was an experience and not for the lite hearted. :-) The scenery was beautiful. We were there during the Festival of St. Andrew (Festa di Sant’Andrea) in Amalfi, which was a great experience. At midnight they had one of the best fireworks shows I have ever seen that we could watch right from our balcony. The roof top terrance also gave a nice view of the area. We only had breakfast at the hotel, but that was good. It was a great vacation !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The seafront view of this hotel is stunning. Most rooms offer a balcony opening onto a picture perfect ocean view. There is a rooftop terrace where the guests can relax. The rooms are clean and pleasant. The breakfast buffet offers good variety and quality. The hotel is located within walking distance of everything in Amalfi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel la Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Bussola

Address: Lungomare dei Cavalieri di San Giovanni di Gerusalemme, 16, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#9 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel la Bussola 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with balcony front sea view, air conditioning, parking, good restaurant, Meeting Rooms, American bar, lifts, roof-garden solarium. Well-positioned, in centre of Amalfi, on the Promenade, along the sea. In a quiet, panoramic location, few yards from the Cathedral Square, and the harbour from where every morning several steamers leave to Positano, Capri, Naples and Salerno. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel la Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bussola Amalfi
La Bussola Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel la Bussola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.