We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location at a good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel la Bussola

Save Saved
You added Hotel la Bussola to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel la Bussola
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare dei Cavalieri di San Giovanni di Gerusalemme, 16, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Walsall
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The hotel is situated right on the waterfront, a short couple of minutes stroll from the main centre of Amalfi. The hotel has its own area on the front that you can sunbathe on or take a dip in the sea, which is very useful as only a small section of the beach is free to the public ( much of it managed by bars or restaurants ).
We stayed for a week in a superior room in August 2011 during our wedding in Italy. The rooms have air con and jacuzzi bath and ensure you a room overlooking the front. The hotel has a small tight parking area underneath / behind the hotel that is much cheaper than paying the parking prices in Amalfi during the day. The rooms were comfortable and clean, with a nice small balcony overlooking the sea front although there are no chairs on the balcony which is strange, so you have to take the ones from your room out. Sort that out Bussola! Note - the air con only works when the doors to the balcony are shut, which is logical but one of our wedding guests didn't shut the doors properly on the night and suffered for it.
Breakfast is the typical Italian fare of bread, cheese, cold cuts, sweet cakes and strong coffee, whilst not being amazing, I'll tell you now that any buffet breakfast in Italy is all the same. The hotel staff are friendly, speak very good English, very helpful, they will park or move your car for you if you are daunted by the tight parking and truly made us feel welcome.
Yes it's very close to the centre of Amalfi, but tucked away enough so it's out of all the hubub, but if the stay at the one end you might get a little road noise as it's close to where the buses and coaches stop but don't let that put you of. It's nice to find a hotel in this area that doesn't require and walking or climbing up ramps or millions of steps, making it very wheelchair friendly. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    102
    43
    13
    3
See reviews for
40
111
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband and I were recently married in Amalfi, Italy (September 2012). La Bussola hosted the majority of our family and friends for a week of wedding festivities. We all arrived and departed at different times and we didn't have a single issue. In fact, they surpassed our expectations. At first glance, it is really easy to see that the hotel is clean, service is great, and staff is friendly. It wasn't until we needed something special that we realized La Bussola staff, especially Vincenzo, were really very exceptional! He helped us plan a boat tour of the Amalfi Coast, Capri, and a stop at Positano for dinner. He handled every detail and did it perfectly! He also handled car service, restaurant recommendations, wedding recommendations, and most importantly was happy to do it all. He was wonderful! We loved our stay, loved Amalfi, and simply can't wait to go back!

I would highly recommend staying at La Bussola. It gives you the charm of the city with passing guests, cars, scooters, and boats but in a very charming way. It is close to shopping and restaurants and has an amazing view of both sunset and sunrise. Each room is as beautiful as the next. Some rooms do come standard with a larger patio/deck area but those rooms aren't higher than 2nd floor. Either way, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Originally booked at Il Saraceno Grand Trip Adviser reviews persuaded us to change to be closer to the town. La Bussola was excellent. Car parking round the back (€15 a day, but scarce in these parts), free internet (although not always reliable outside the lounge), very convenient position, lovely room, comfortable large bed, balcony, view over the harbour, OK breakfast. Yes, a bit of noise evening and morning, evening the Italian noises of conversation below; in the morning some traffic. But we felt this was well compensated by the wonderful position. (You can always use ear plugs)! We stayed 5 nights and would certainly recommend the hotel- with the better, sea view room of course. Friendly and helpful staff, who manouvered my hired car in the back passage with Italian skill.

Room Tip: Pay extra fo sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were there some 4 weeks ago in October 2012. For 1 night.
We wanted to explore Amalfi city and surroundings and stay for 2-3 nights. We stayed 1 night in a sea view room for which we paid 130,- Euro with breakfast included and we could very kindly use their garage for free which was an extremely nice gesture from the hotel because if you need a parking space in Amalfi then you pay really much for the day ( cannot remember how much but much it was....)
Hotel has a beautiful sea view IF you take a sea view room which is more expensive then a backside room but there ( I can guarantee you ...) you shall not sleep a wink because of a heavy used ( also at night and in the low season when we were there..) small coastal road.
The room was very small so small you need to negotiate were you could possibly put your luggage ( 2 small suitcases and 2 small bags). The room has a small balcony where you could sit if there were any chairs.
Bathroom uncomfortably small but clean. Breakfast OK.
Staff very kind and helpful; they speak very good English and French.
Then at night at around 04.00 am you will wake up and stay awake because (something we did not notice during the day) just beneath the hotel at about 15 meters away the buses come for gasoline and have to turn there twice; once to get in the bus garage and one to get out again and that one bus after another. You even smelled the *perfume* in the room, were we slept with the windows wide open.
That spoiled a lot for us travelers because we were tired after days and days exploring and visiting the south of Italy. So we checked out the next day and traveled further.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away as possible from the bus garage and at the seafront. If you don't you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had the pleasure of 4 nights in a superiour room at this hotel and reckon that the location is the pick of hte bunch in Amalfi. Opposite the ferry and bus terminal yet just off the main strip for some piece and quiet. Ask the staff where they woudl take thier famlies for a nice meal and you wont be dissappointed.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room on a corner - will have the biggest balcony. Of you are not happy with the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The service in this hotel is superbe as well as the location right on the harbor. Rooms have balconies with sea views and the floors are beautiful in ceramics. The hotel is very clean.
Therre is luggage service and very helpful people at all times behind the desk. They refuse to pay the city tax.

Room Tip: try to avoid the first floor as there is not a view. Except 112 has a large terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Pros:
1) Close to Town
2) Friendly Staff; knowledgable and helpful making travel arrangements
3) Clean
4) Great views from "ocean view" rooms and great roof deck.
Cons:
1) Small rooms (by American Standards)
2) Dated decor. Was a Factory converted to hotel in 1963. Decor is from that era without the "cool factor"
3) Wi-fi poor in room. Computer available in lobby.

Room Tip: Specify Ocean View, upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel la Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Bussola

Address: Lungomare dei Cavalieri di San Giovanni di Gerusalemme, 16, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#9 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel la Bussola 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with balcony front sea view, air conditioning, parking, good restaurant, Meeting Rooms, American bar, lifts, roof-garden solarium. Well-positioned, in centre of Amalfi, on the Promenade, along the sea. In a quiet, panoramic location, few yards from the Cathedral Square, and the harbour from where every morning several steamers leave to Positano, Capri, Naples and Salerno. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel la Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bussola Amalfi
La Bussola Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel la Bussola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.