We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Amalfi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel la Bussola

Save Saved
You added Hotel la Bussola to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel la Bussola
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare dei Cavalieri di San Giovanni di Gerusalemme, 16, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay in Amalfi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed at La Bussola in Amalfi for 4 nights in July 2012 with our 3 children and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our parents had stayed there a couple of years ago and so recommended it. Friends of theirs go there every year and were actually there at the time.

Although La Bussola doesn't have inter-connecting rooms, we were next door and it wasn't a problem. They were happy to park our car and organise restaurant bookings for us.

The hotel is centrally located and easy to get to everything. It sure was a relief driving in to Amalfi from Sorrento to see the hotel clearly marked. It was so easy to get to.

The children really enjoyed jumping off the platform in front of the hotel into the ocean.

All in all I would recommend La Bussola to anyone staying in Amalfi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    100
    43
    13
    3
See reviews for
40
113
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

lovely location in central ( albeit quite part) Amalfi, friendly staff, clean. A little expensive but so is all of Amalfi. Cant go wrong here unless you are full of nonsense.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent 6 nights in Hotel la Bussola in beautiful Amalfi coast. Hotel had excellent location, just few hundred meters from Cathedral of Amalfi. From my point of view, this excellent location was giving good value for this hotel. There were many hotels in center of Amalfi, but those didn't usually have view for the sea or anything like that.

In our room, breakfast was included, however, I could say that breakfast could be improved, selection of foods offered during breakfast weren't so great.

Hotel had nice own private swimming area in front of hotel, not a sand beach, but still own place, where you could easily take sun and go swimming after a day.

Hotel had also private parking place, wery small, but luckily our car fitted there nicely. Hotel personnel was very helpful in getting car out from parking place.

Room Tip: When getting a room, request a room with sea view. We had a "Superior room", which had own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We met Mena in June 2011 when we were in Amalfi booking our wedding. We were actually looking for accommodation for our guests and got chatting to Mena who showed us the beautiful roof terrace. We decided to book this for our pre wedding pizza party, held at the hotel in June this year. We cannot speak highly enough of the hotel and the organisation put into our event. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was specatular, and the staff so attentive. The location is also fantastic being so close to the sea and Amalfi town.

Our guests that stayed in the hotel spoke very highly of the accommodation. We thank everyone at La Bussola for making our evening so special. Would highly recommend for anyone thinking of getting married /staying there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is an excellent hotel, superior to many an Italian 4-star hotel (though seemingly, from other reviews, not reaching everyone's expectations). As with so many hotels, however, the experience depends very much on which room is chosen. The standard rooms with side view of the sea are perfectly acceptable for a short stay, but for a very relaxing holiday with wonderful views out to the Mediterranean across the small harbour you should choose a 'superior' front-facing room with balcony. The room we were given was immaculate, perhaps a little 'traditional' but very good all the same, and the room servicing was excellent.

The balcony was quite small but large enough to sit out on and, although there is a small road directly in front of the hotel, there was very little traffic and we had much amusement watching the antics of those on the wide promenade opposite. We were too early in the season for the private swimming platform but delighted in the rooftop patio–great for sunbathing (and views). We also found the comfortable lounge on the ground floor an excellent place to recover after counting the steps exploring the back streets of Amalfi.

The breakfasts were very good: large selection of cereals, Danish pastries, croissants, fresh rolls, meats, cheese, eggs, conserves, juices etc, and excellent continental coffee (tea if you wish). Dinner was 'fine dining', not cheap but very good; although sweets (puddings) were limited. Unfortunately one of our party was alcohol-intolerant, and the sweets all seemed to be alcohol-rich; and no Italian ice cream!

The hotel is ideally situated, a short flat walk from the town, bus terminus and boat jetty. We highly recommend the tourist bus to Ravello, Minori and Maiori, the boat trip to Capri and the walking tour of Amalfi suggested by, and bookable at, the hotel.

Overall an excellent hotel in a wonderful area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a 'superior' front-facing room for a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Found the hotel by chance, and it was great location on the water, good parking, excellent service and value.would recommend to any traveller seeking value, and location. Excellent staff who were very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

Being across the road from the shoreline, the rooms have an excellent view of the shore and out to sea from their balconies. The room was clean and well furnished, charming but not modern. If you like hard beds (fairly typical of Italy), it would be perfect. The staff were friendly and the owner has a delightful sense of humour. We would certainly stay there again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel la Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Bussola

Address: Lungomare dei Cavalieri di San Giovanni di Gerusalemme, 16, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#9 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel la Bussola 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with balcony front sea view, air conditioning, parking, good restaurant, Meeting Rooms, American bar, lifts, roof-garden solarium. Well-positioned, in centre of Amalfi, on the Promenade, along the sea. In a quiet, panoramic location, few yards from the Cathedral Square, and the harbour from where every morning several steamers leave to Positano, Capri, Naples and Salerno. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel la Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bussola Amalfi
La Bussola Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel la Bussola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.