We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a decent option.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel la Bussola

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel la Bussola to your Saves list
Hotel la Bussola
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare dei Cavalieri di San Giovanni di Gerusalemme, 16, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Washington, DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Still a decent option.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I stayed at this hotel five years ago and loved it. I had no second thought of making this my home in Amalfi again for my return trip a few years later. The staff is still wonderful - so very helpful on everything from restaurant recommendations to travel along the coast - they continue to just be so accommodating and friendly at every turn. It does break my heart to say that the property needs some updating. While my room was clean there just are some issues that I hope they get resolved soon around the property - some cracks in walls and holes in the ceiling tiles and just general updates that need to be made. This was a good prepay value but there are better quality properties in the city itself. And - with the bus system you really can stay in any city along the Amalfi Coast and have easy transportation to the Amalfi Coast and have easy transportation to any other city or location along the coast. One note - the wireless internet does not work. The hotel does provide a computer in the lobby for free - which is nice. The breakfast is included and was very good by Italian hotel standards in my opinion.

Room Tip: There are rooms with larger balconies in the center of the hotel. This also is along a popular walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    115
    46
    13
    4
See reviews for
45
124
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Great location...short level walk from ferry...private swimming area (dock, not beach). Modern conveniences. A bit large and lacking in personal attention if that is important to you. Great rooftop deck where you can have drinks delivered from the bar or bring your own pizza & wine for dinner. The room had a sweeping view of the sea. The only bad taste was that they did not honor the Rick Steves discount. They told me I was getting an upgrade instead of the Rick Steves discount, but my room rate was the same as posted on the door.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo55, Manager at Hotel la Bussola, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Dear Sir
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Amalfi. As you say our Hotel has a great location ...short level walk from ferry...private swimming area, we are glad you underline this.
We deeply apologize about the Rick Steve's discount, there has been a misunderstanding as we always apply this discount. We will do all the best to make your next stay with us the must confortable one, should you return to La Bussola in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

My wife and i stayed here for 2 nights. It is clean, good food, fast free internet and nice views of Amalfi. Unfortunately no in room tea or coffee making, this I feel is a must have in my opinion. The only fault I found was that the staff were a little bit cold and stand offish. Helpful when asked but not forth coming. If we ever return to Amalfi we will stay here for sure.

Room Tip: If you have a room that is facing Amalfi don't have your window open early in the morning. The l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We are a mature couple and stayed in La Bussola Hotel in Amalfi for 2 weeks last June. It was a holiday to remember for all the right reasons. The hotel was comfortable and it had all we were looking for, good food a friendly atmosphere and a nice old fashioned room which was very clean and which met all our requirements. We had a great view from our room which was right at the front of the hotel. You could see the whole harbour and little beach and there was a passing scene of people going up and down the prom all the time. It could be a little noisy at night but it was just people enjoying themselves and it stopped soon after midnight most nights.
The hotel had quite a few guests who stay there every year and who were very friendly and chatted to us a lot so we always felt at home. Outside across the street there was a private platform belonging to the hotel on which we sat in deck chairs with umbrellas or swam in the clear green sea by way of a ladder.

Amalfi is a very central location from which you can reach Capri by ferry or go up or down the coast to Sorrento and other stunning locations by bus. The feast of St Andrew was celebrated while we were there and there were processions, bands, fireworks. cannons booming and big crowds all great fun.

If you make your way up the little streets ( its very steep) overlooking the town especially before the sun sets the view of the whole town and harbour is breathtaking. There is also lovely small villages which can be reached by climbing up steep steps on both sides of the town where you can stop have a drink and a rest before climbing down again. All very scenic and enjoyable but you would have to be quite fit as its a good climb. In fact the only fault I could find with Amalfi is that its quite hilly and not suitable for anyone with poor mobility.


It was a lovely holiday and we would love to go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencoe, IL, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I do not agree with the reviews that describe the rooms as dated with old or shabby furniture. This is a classic hotel. The furniture is quality, almost antique. I do not understand people wanting everything new. The rooms are very large with balconies immediately looking over the Mediterranean Sea. The floors in the room are vietri ceramic and the balcony floor is also a vietri ceramic design. My sister and I stayed here for 4 nights in early October. We each had a large double or queen sized bed. At night we left our balcony door open so we could listen to the waves all night long, and the see the lights of the fishing boats. It was glorious to sit out on the balcony and take in the sun by day and the stars by night. One day there was a torrential downpour. We kept the door open and enjoyed the coziness of our room and the weather outside. The street below is tree lined and quiet because the street dead ends. It is fun to see the families out for walks in the evening. The bathtub is jacuzzi and I actually used it for a jacuzzi bath! There are towel warmers too. The room had a refrigerator, which allowed us to buy proseco and bring it back to the room for evening consumption after dinner out. The breakfast is very nice, with cold cuts, hard boiled eggs, fresh veggies and fruits in addition to the traditional breads, cakes and pies. On the first floor there is a very large, relaxing seating area with lots of couches and stuffed chairs and a very large, welcoming bar lively with people in the evening. The front desk is a combination of family and friends. Very nice and helpful. We were directed to this hotel by the tourist office. It was in our price range, which was a bit on the low side for a sea-fronting hotel. Amalfi is expensive and the sea-fronting hotels are very expensive!! This was very reasonably priced. It also has a rooftop patio that you can sit out on at any time, but we never felt the need because we were so busy and also had a great view from our room. From Amalfi, we took day trips to Capri, Ravello and Pasteum (via Salerno). Transportation to all locations is very convenient, just a block from the hotel. The tourist office is also very helpful. In general, we found the people in the shops and restaurants to be very grateful for the business and consiencious of their guests needs. On our first day while we were trying to land a hotel, the main restaurant in the plaza at the foot of the historic church in the town square let us sit there for hours with just a couple items purchased.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Spent 2 nights at this hotel as part of a group and the location was fantastic. We had views of the sea from our room which were just beautiful. The hotel itself is older and the rooms were comfortable enough but certainly not 4* standard. The room had quite a cold feel to it and the bed was not the greatest. The bathroom was a bizarre set up and the shower absolutely tiny. I am a smaller build and struggled to wash my hair without whacking my elbows constantly! The staff were absolutely lovely and the service was fantastic however the hotel overall could do with a renovation. I cannot say that I would pay the asking price to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

This hotel has seen better days. Considering this is a 4 star hotel, the standard is not up to an international 4 star rating.

The rooms, which although clean, are very dated with old and shabby furniture. The bathroom was small and old-fashioned with a weak shower and intermittent hot water.

The dining room has the potential for a great view of the harbour had it not been for the overgrown foliage directly in front of the windows.

The breakfast was acceptable but the waiting staff were condescending.

We had emailed and requested a sea view when booking our room. When we arrived, we were shown a room with a partial side sea view which was not acceptable. The receptionist was unsympathetic offering us instead a room with a full sea view at an extra cost of Eur 20 per day but with poorer furniture and a shower not bath. We pointed out that we had requested a sea view on booking but they continued to insist that we pay the extra charge. We accepted the room with the full sea view after negotiation with the management at an eventual extra cost of Eur 10 per day.

To add to our dissatisfaction with this hotel, on checking out they tried to charge us double the advertised rate for the car park.

With updating of the rooms, completely new staff and a tidy up of the exterior, this has the potential to be a great hotel in such a good location.

.

Room Tip: The only good feature is the sea view (if you have one)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel la Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Bussola

Address: Lungomare dei Cavalieri di San Giovanni di Gerusalemme, 16, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#9 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel la Bussola 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with balcony front sea view, air conditioning, parking, good restaurant, Meeting Rooms, American bar, lifts, roof-garden solarium. Well-positioned, in centre of Amalfi, on the Promenade, along the sea. In a quiet, panoramic location, few yards from the Cathedral Square, and the harbour from where every morning several steamers leave to Positano, Capri, Naples and Salerno. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel la Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bussola Amalfi
La Bussola Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel la Bussola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.