We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Great, Room only average, Food Ordinary” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel la Bussola

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel la Bussola to your Saves list
Hotel la Bussola
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare dei Cavalieri di San Giovanni di Gerusalemme, 16, 84011, Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Bellingen, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Location Great, Room only average, Food Ordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

We were travelling in a small group as part of a trip with Appian Lines of Rome.
We were to stay at the 4 Star Excelsior in Amalfi just out of town,
The La Bussola Hotel is at best a 3 star Hotel.
It is very dated circa 1970s although it is spotlessly clean.
When we arrived we were allocated a room on the second floor. We entered the room to find it was already occupied and not cleaned with underwear and baggage strewn about. Fortunately the occupants were not active.
We were then allocated a corner of the building room on a higher level with a nice outlook.
Its saving grace is the excellent location, with the beautiful outlook over the small harbour. Also close to shopping , Transport and village.
Using it as a base whilst visiting Capri, Sorrento, Positano, Ravello is quite good.
The rooms are pretty basic,although, as mentioned, the view certainly is very good.
The shower in our room was only 80cm by 80cm with an opening of around 45cm
Others had shower over bath.
During summer this would be a nice spot for a bit of swimming and sunbaking directly across the road from the Hotel.
The package that we had included breakfast and dinner.
I would not recommend the Dinner inclusion it was dreadful. The breakfast was the same day after day, cheese, cereal, toast, ham. Awful coffee unless you can have "coffee milk" which is a type of latte served in a tall glass and hot.
All in all I would recommend the hotel to be used solely as a base. As there are many nice little cafes only 200 metres away these would be far better for meals and half the cost for far better food is some incentive.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kalyngra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ellaville, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Great location in Amalfi, walk to everything, (which is what you have to do anyway) Staff courteous, and helpful, clean, a marvelous hotel

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cway56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

My daughter and I loved our stay at the Hotel La Bussola -- it was so easy to get to, just walked from the bus station with our bags up the street, and the hotel itself was well appointed and the staff extra helpful. Our room had a beautiful view of the sea, and the road in front wasn't crowded so not noisy at all. The room itself wasn't fancy, but had beautiful high ceilings, and was very clean. Amalfi itself is absolutely charming - some of the shops a bit touristy but if you look, you can find wonderful shops (like the cheese shop with the name Catarina in it that is a 4th generation shop filled with local cheeses.) From Amalfi you can go anywhere on the Amalfi coast - on our way back to Rome we stopped at Herculaneum and stored our bags -- a magical experience.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverapple857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Love the service, fool and location. Room small but adequate. Room attendants kept room spotless. Waiters and Head Waiter looked after me offering lovely veggie alternatives. Thanks! Heard lots of compliments on fish and meat dishes. Reception staff warm and welcoming helping with my appalling attemps at speaking Italian! Thanks to the Bussola Team - I will be back! Elaine

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

I stayed at this pleasant hotel (room 110) for a week with a friend. The location is great, being just a short walk from the ferry with no steps at all, but the road outside is noisy at night with la passegiata and vehicles (especially motor schooters) passing by under the window. But if you close the window (double glazed) at night the noise is barely noticeable and the AC comes on when you close the balcony doors. The beds were very firm, the room and bathroom clean, if not huge, but Amalfi is expensive so we thought €140 a night was OK. Towels are thin waffle cotton, but I thought they dried me fine and they were changed daily, as was the bed linen. Staff were very helpful and pleasant, booking a tour for us. All seemed to speak English adequately. The breakfast was the usual - yoghurt, cereals, breads and rolls, cold cuts, but not much variety in fresh fruit. The ordinary coffee was awful but if you ask for espresso (and hot water) or cappuccino it's much better. We had B&B, I would not recommend half board - I had dinner in the restaurant one night (3 courses for €20 but was not impressed. (Would be better if they gave 2 courses of better quality) . The hotel has a great sunterrace on the 4th floor with lounges and a pontoon on the harbour opposite with deck chairs and umbrellas. Both good and well used so get there early.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PollyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

I have been to the Amalfi Coast three times. Hotel La Bussola is now my favorite and definitely a "redo". The rooms exceeded our expectations and the view of the harbor from either of our rooms was terrific!! The breakfast is little above average but who really cares as long as it is clean and the food fresh- which it was. Walking to piazza in centro Amalfi was easy quick and interesting. Example: Locals fish for octopus across the street with steady success and a club team of canneggio (kinda a kayak water polo) is right there. The staff at the front desk were helpful and most spoke some English. Only caution is that, if you sleep with the doors open or you like fresh air, it might be a bit noisy until 11:00-12:00. Not as noisy as Sorrento can be but it was a little noisy. Very little if any vehicular traffic- just the sounds of locals and some tourists having a little fun. Small disadvantage also was the boat schedule during the weekdays ends pretty early. Example- last boat from Capri to Amalfi is 5:30 pm. Otherwise, boat to Positano and bus back to Amalfi. For those of you that have been to the Amalfi Coast, most would agree boat is the best travel. The bus rides can be long, long ,long. Beautiful but long. Hotel La Bussola is a great consideration especially if you are planning a little trip further south- like Paestum (exceptional) or Capaccio (delicious bufala mozzarella). Take the coastal highway if you can, more scenic and actually quicker.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Talini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

My husband & I stayed 4 nights In May 2010 at this excellent hotel. The location is perfect at the shore of the Mediterranean & it's just a short walk to the Main Square where all the shops & restaurants are. No hills to climb! All the rooms have a sea view and we found our room very beautiful & spotless. The breakfast was very abundant. No eggs & bacon but everything else. Italians don't eat eggs in the morning. The staff were all excellent. Vincenzo,at the desk ,spent hours on the phone for us booking us a flight. Anna Maria, booked us tours to Capri & Pompei with a smile. Even the cleaning lady, Assunta, was so pleasant & left our room spotless every day. We would definately return & would highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PortadownThunderBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#18 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 733 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Bussola

Address: Lungomare dei Cavalieri di San Giovanni di Gerusalemme, 16, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#9 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel la Bussola 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with balcony front sea view, air conditioning, parking, good restaurant, Meeting Rooms, American bar, lifts, roof-garden solarium. Well-positioned, in centre of Amalfi, on the Promenade, along the sea. In a quiet, panoramic location, few yards from the Cathedral Square, and the harbour from where every morning several steamers leave to Positano, Capri, Naples and Salerno. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel la Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bussola Amalfi
La Bussola Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing