We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Croce di Amalfi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Croce di Amalfi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Croce di Amalfi
Via San Nicola dei Greci 13/15, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 32 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Cannot speak too highly of this great little boutique hotel or its staff. Stayed 6 nights in September 2013. A little tricky to find initially and there were quite a few steep steps for 2 tired hot travellers to negotiate with the suitcases - suggest arange for porter - but very friendly and efficient welcome. Room just off reception area was clean, cool, comfortable, functional and tastefully renovated with nice bed, fresh clean linen and towels, bespoke furnishings and great lighting. Had shuttered balcony (standing room only) with magnificent intimate view down over harbour (picturebook Amalfi scene). Some occasional traffic noise wafting up from the road just below was our only real annoyance and, though the premises were obviously secure, there was no safe in room. Charming communal terrace upstairs for breakfast which, apart from absence of hot toast for Aussies, Poms, Kiwis, &c. was fresh and tasty (nice fruit). No kettle in room initially but we were quickly given one on request. Good wi-fi connection in room and everything worked. Handy access to busses, ferries, restaurants and shops. During our stay my wife became quite unwell and the staff simply couldn't do enough for us, Natalia, in particular, was an absolute angel - taking me to the pharmacy late in the evening, talking it over with the pharmacist at length (my Italian being somewhat basic) and even paying for the medicine from her own purse (in my panic I had forgotten my wallet) and giving me her home phone number just in case. Then in the morning she directed us to the hospital at Castiglione where we received prompt and kind attention. Over the ensuing days my wife naturally spent a lot of time just resting and recuperating in house and all the staff extended us the utmost concern, kindness and consideration. Truly wonderful and decent people - the very very best of Italy. Heartfelt thanks, especially to Natalia, and the highest recommendation. We will definitely return (but with porters).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    8
    6
    0
See reviews for
2
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in Sep '13, and were unfortunately a bit let down.

Upon check in, the hotel manager was lovely and welcoming and told us to ask her if we had any questions at all as she was happy to help.

The next day I had some questions about Amalfi etc, so I asked a few questions. From then on, it sort of seemed like we were interuppting or annoying to the staff everytime we asked something. One afternoon we asked for a couple of cappuccinos, which was apprehensively done with a little huff and puff.

Also, upon check in, we were advised our room was just outside the main building as this was the room given to agent bookings (made through a travel agency). The room had a view of a neighbouring roof top, the WiFi didn't work as we had to sit at our doorstep and it is directly underneath the breakfast room, meaning you're woken up every morning by chair being dragged across the ground. Breakfast was okay but very basic.

The worst part, was the bed. Two singles pushed together, but somehow the middle of the 'double' bed seemed to sag inward. The result - epic back pains in the morning.

The good parts - very close to the port, beach and main town square. Nice, charming coastal property. Nice view from breakfast balcony.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Comfortable, spacious, friendly and helpful. Beautifully appointed rooms, views. Oh, and a breakfast well worth waking up for. All very Amalfi - just remember there are steps. Quite a few. Especially with luggage.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel during the height of summer and the price per night for the rooms were very well priced considering. Our room had a beautiful view to the sea which was lovely to wake up to each morning. The room was very clean and spacious and the bathroom was so big and new! We were very surprised as European bathrooms are usually very small. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is sufficient with various options and the view on the breakfast terrace is gorgeous. Will stay here again and recommend to others. Thanks for providing such a lovely stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Martha, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We loved this little hotel, it was perfect for our 5 night stay. There are steps up to the hotel, but we thought it actually added to the charm. Amalfi is full of steps, and it seems fitting to climb some. Our room was spacious, the bathroom large, and the views lovely. The terrace for breakfast, or a drinking the evening was an added bonus.
The staff were most helpful, and very friendly.
The Amalfi coast is a stunning area, and Hotel Croce Di Amalfi a perfect place to base ourselves.
Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights, very easy to find with beautiful rooms, spa jet bathtubs, cool blue LED lights, with a simple, very simple breakfast and reception that is only there part of the day, it took us 20 minutes to find someone kind enough to call them for us to have someone let us come check in, but overall great stay for a great value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Croce di Amalfi for three nights. It has been reconditioned in the last two years or so. It is a converted residence from an aristocratic family. This small boutique style hotel was located steps away from the central square, shops, restaurants and the harbor. The rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable. We had a view of the sea, the top of the duomo and of course the mountain cliffs all around us from our little terrace. The hotel terrace where we enjoyed a free continental breakfast each morning had a stunning view. The staff of the hotel were very friendly and helpful. We throughly enjoyed our stay in Amalfi and the Hotel Croce di Amalfi.

Be sure to visit the little hilltop town of Rovello when you are here. The views are incredible and the Garden of Villa Cimbrone was incredible.

The one thing to be sure visitors are aware of is that there are 77 steps to get to the hotel entry. Steps are not uncommon for hotels in the Amalfi coast, but good to be aware if you are carrying your luggage and have health challenges.

We arranged for transportation from the Naples Airport to Amalfi through Amalfi Car Experience. Definitely the way to go versus other options. So easy and helpful after the long flight from the states.

Room Tip: Request a terrace / sea view if one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Croce di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croce di Amalfi

Address: Via San Nicola dei Greci 13/15, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Croce di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Croce di Amalfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.