We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit let down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Croce di Amalfi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Croce di Amalfi to your Saves list
Hotel Croce di Amalfi
Via San Nicola dei Greci 13/15, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 32 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A bit let down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in Sep '13, and were unfortunately a bit let down.

Upon check in, the hotel manager was lovely and welcoming and told us to ask her if we had any questions at all as she was happy to help.

The next day I had some questions about Amalfi etc, so I asked a few questions. From then on, it sort of seemed like we were interuppting or annoying to the staff everytime we asked something. One afternoon we asked for a couple of cappuccinos, which was apprehensively done with a little huff and puff.

Also, upon check in, we were advised our room was just outside the main building as this was the room given to agent bookings (made through a travel agency). The room had a view of a neighbouring roof top, the WiFi didn't work as we had to sit at our doorstep and it is directly underneath the breakfast room, meaning you're woken up every morning by chair being dragged across the ground. Breakfast was okay but very basic.

The worst part, was the bed. Two singles pushed together, but somehow the middle of the 'double' bed seemed to sag inward. The result - epic back pains in the morning.

The good parts - very close to the port, beach and main town square. Nice, charming coastal property. Nice view from breakfast balcony.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    10
    6
    0
See reviews for
3
40
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Comfortable, spacious, friendly and helpful. Beautifully appointed rooms, views. Oh, and a breakfast well worth waking up for. All very Amalfi - just remember there are steps. Quite a few. Especially with luggage.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel during the height of summer and the price per night for the rooms were very well priced considering. Our room had a beautiful view to the sea which was lovely to wake up to each morning. The room was very clean and spacious and the bathroom was so big and new! We were very surprised as European bathrooms are usually very small. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is sufficient with various options and the view on the breakfast terrace is gorgeous. Will stay here again and recommend to others. Thanks for providing such a lovely stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Martha, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We loved this little hotel, it was perfect for our 5 night stay. There are steps up to the hotel, but we thought it actually added to the charm. Amalfi is full of steps, and it seems fitting to climb some. Our room was spacious, the bathroom large, and the views lovely. The terrace for breakfast, or a drinking the evening was an added bonus.
The staff were most helpful, and very friendly.
The Amalfi coast is a stunning area, and Hotel Croce Di Amalfi a perfect place to base ourselves.
Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights, very easy to find with beautiful rooms, spa jet bathtubs, cool blue LED lights, with a simple, very simple breakfast and reception that is only there part of the day, it took us 20 minutes to find someone kind enough to call them for us to have someone let us come check in, but overall great stay for a great value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Croce di Amalfi for three nights. It has been reconditioned in the last two years or so. It is a converted residence from an aristocratic family. This small boutique style hotel was located steps away from the central square, shops, restaurants and the harbor. The rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable. We had a view of the sea, the top of the duomo and of course the mountain cliffs all around us from our little terrace. The hotel terrace where we enjoyed a free continental breakfast each morning had a stunning view. The staff of the hotel were very friendly and helpful. We throughly enjoyed our stay in Amalfi and the Hotel Croce di Amalfi.

Be sure to visit the little hilltop town of Rovello when you are here. The views are incredible and the Garden of Villa Cimbrone was incredible.

The one thing to be sure visitors are aware of is that there are 77 steps to get to the hotel entry. Steps are not uncommon for hotels in the Amalfi coast, but good to be aware if you are carrying your luggage and have health challenges.

We arranged for transportation from the Naples Airport to Amalfi through Amalfi Car Experience. Definitely the way to go versus other options. So easy and helpful after the long flight from the states.

Room Tip: Request a terrace / sea view if one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Absolutely gorgeous location high up, with bedroom and terrace views across Amalfi rooftops towards the cliffs and the sea.
Hotel was finished in 2011, Amalfi style floor tiles, marble decor. Clean, modern, uncluttered.
Bathroom is to excellent standard, large dual head shower, lots of hot water and CLEAN.
Friendly family style hosts treat you to a good breakfast, italian style, fresh coffee, rolls, muffins, cereals, fruit, meats, cheeses and fruit juices.

Only thing is, like most of Amalfi, it is accessible only on foot up 110 narrow stone steps (Piazza to bedroom - I counted every one !!). So not for the weak-of-knees or for anything heavier than a carry-on cabin bag.
Car parking is in the underground municipal park across the town, assume ten minutes walk before arriving at the steps in Piazza Dei Dogi.

Room Tip: Be sure you are up to climbing steps !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Croce di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croce di Amalfi

Address: Via San Nicola dei Greci 13/15, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Croce di Amalfi, once an historic house belonged to the aristocratic family Scoppetta, is situated in the ancient district "Vagliendola", one of the most panoramic and suggestive place of the city. Surrounded from picturesque houses and overlying from the bizantinic belltower of saint Biagio's church, the Hotel has an unique and privileged location and offers breathbreaking view. Very closed to the Cathedreal and the beaches, the position's hotel makes possible for our guests to reach in a few minutes the bus station and the mole for the boats departures and to visit by foot the historical center and walk along the seaside promenade. The renovation works, finished in the year 2011, kept the ancient look the same as before but inside is made comfortable and modern. Owners' love for the art has made a perfect union between history and tradition, ancient and modern, mediterranean and classic styles. The cross ceilings and the tipical amalphitan capitals give to the structure the historical charm of the ancient sea republic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Croce di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Croce di Amalfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.