We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Died and gone to heaven many times.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Da Teresa

Ristorante Da Teresa
Via Santa Croce, 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
+39 089 831237
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 94 restaurants in Amalfi
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Died and gone to heaven many times.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Another place that Jamie Oliver should visit. Here you sit immediately above the sea and you MUST eat seafood.
Ask in broken Italian or English for seaweed balls and accuighe (anchovy) with mozzarella. All that as a starter. If you are very nice and ask their advice without requesting a menu, you will probably get much more on top. Then I strongly recommend the spaghetti a la Vongole in bianco. One alternative is a plate of cottze [mussels]. They also do a perfectly ridiculous spaghetti with fresh lobster and this has quite frankly shocked family friends. I have tried other plates and they are all divine, but why ask for meat and other mountain dishes when you're on the sea? The food here is better than I have had anywhere on this coast in 30 years and frankly better than anything I have eaten over the same period in London. I have been eating here in summer for very many years and I am entirely confident in these comments. As another reviewer has said, ask for white wine in a brocca, with peaches. This is actually good wine and works perfectly with the food. It delivers a perfect dessert at the end of a meal. Make sure you have previously hired (€10 for the long day) beach beds to sleep on afterwards and buy a coffee before you leave. This will be an experience you remember for many years.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    27
    7
    4
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sotogrande, Spain
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Outstandingly Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Ok - here we go .....

The whole experience was fabulous. Being picked up by the (free) boat to a wonderful location.

Mario, the owner greeted us like old friends. All a bit reminiscent of the great Chiriguitos in Spain. The food was beyond wonderful, fresh, served with love.

As a seasoned traveller, trip advisor bag 'n' all - this is an experience NOT to be missed.

Bellisimo

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing, amazing !! So fresh, so authentic, home cooking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We arrived by boat, that we had hired for a day of sight seeing up and down the coast. The boat docked us here for lunch after a swim in the lovely surrounding beach area. We were wet, with bathing suits, and tshirts, flip flops, and they welcomed us like VIPs. The food was unbelievable ... wine with fruit swimming in it, amazing pasta and salads, and these big huge lemons as decor on the table. They gave me one to take with me when I left as they could see how thrilled i was to see such organic freshness right at our table. One of our most memorable stops for lunch ever ... just beautiful, yet simple, and delicious!! Still dreaming of that place, day, lunch!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food & service, Absolute waterfront location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We arrived in our own hire boat (from Amalfi Marine) & one of the staff came out in a dinghy to help us moor before taking us to the restaurant jetty. That is definitely the cool way to do lunch on the Amalfi coast !
We intentionlly arrived early (12:30) to avoid the weekend tourist crush, and had the restaurant & staff to ourselves. Wonderful views from our waterfront balcony table, attentive service, and superb seafood. We had been to a few other restaurants on previous days, between Amalfi & Positano, in our boat - and this was the better of them.
Fortunately we were well into our main meal before the tourist ferries started arriving to disgorge wave after wave of hungry tourists ! The atmosphere & service took a bit of a dive from that point on, so we decided to escape back to our boat & were ferried back by the friendly restaurant 'boat boy'. Our tip? - if you can, get there early to really enjoy this great restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Simply Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

You will never find a restaurant quite like this. Right off of the water on the unparalled beauty of the Amalfi coast. The food was to die for. Seafood fresher than you could imagine and wonderful pasta dishes. Perhaps the most memorable part of the meal was the perfect white wine with ripe peaches inside to soak up the flavor. The kind of food of food and atmosphere that you can't even dream about

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Da Teresa also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ristorante Da Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Da Teresa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.