We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute and off the beaten track” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Piazzetta

La Piazzetta
Piazza dei Dogi, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
+39 (0) 89871372
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 102 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
San Francisco
Level Contributor
359 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“cute and off the beaten track”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

With cruise ships nearby the ,main street is very crowded during the day. This little square to the left of the main street is very charming and has at least four local restaurants.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kinnoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Must go - friendly, affordable and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We ate two meals here in our stay of two days in Amalfi- good food in an outdoor seating. They have a small sitting place inside but the outside seating is excellent in a small square in a bylane off the main street - cosy and quiet.

The hostess owner was very friendly and warm, gave suggestions, chatted with us.
The food is served in cute and colorful local ceramics. The food portions are large and very reasonable pricing with no service charge or cover charge.

I loved this restaurant for the true flavor of Italy and not trying to just ripoff tourists like in most other touristy restaurants.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PG1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buren
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“La Piazzetta: feel the real Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

La Piazzetta is a cosy and typical Amalfi mini restaurant and bar.
Located at a small and romantic little square , especially in the evening
with candle lights, where you feel immediately at home on the
teraca outside with embrellas and good atmosphere.
Viviana and Franco welcome you with Italian hospitality and
try to comfort all guests. Inside is a mini restaurant with a limited
number of tables, but also very cosy.
The food has a good quality and the prices are modest.
If you are in Amalfi you have to be at least in La Piazzetta once.
Ps and.......do not forget to drink the excellent morreti draught beer or the Pinot gringo
Wine and ......the lemon cake

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donleo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The bruscetta - best in Ialy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This restaurant is run by the a great family and on our short 3 day stay we managed to eat here 3 times. Each time we had suggestions made to us and on two occasions we enjoyed the bruscetta (yes with fresh Buffalo Mozzarella the second time). No other restaurant that we visited on our 3 wk holiday in Italy could rival the service and the food. I am now trying to find Buffalo Moz. in Aussie that might at least come close - but so far no luck!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nojanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly and Helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Run by a very friendly family and very accommodating. We asked for one pizza between the two of us (we had been fed at lunchtime on an outing) which was delivered cut into two, on two plates. Service always with a smile.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ps5108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Piazzetta also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Piazzetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing