We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute and off the beaten track” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Piazzetta

La Piazzetta
Piazza dei Dogi, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
+39 (0) 89871372
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 95 Restaurants in Amalfi
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
San Francisco
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“cute and off the beaten track”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

With cruise ships nearby the ,main street is very crowded during the day. This little square to the left of the main street is very charming and has at least four local restaurants.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    24
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Must go - friendly, affordable and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We ate two meals here in our stay of two days in Amalfi- good food in an outdoor seating. They have a small sitting place inside but the outside seating is excellent in a small square in a bylane off the main street - cosy and quiet.

The hostess owner was very friendly and warm, gave suggestions, chatted with us.
The food is served in cute and colorful local ceramics. The food portions are large and very reasonable pricing with no service charge or cover charge.

I loved this restaurant for the true flavor of Italy and not trying to just ripoff tourists like in most other touristy restaurants.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buren
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“La Piazzetta: feel the real Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

La Piazzetta is a cosy and typical Amalfi mini restaurant and bar.
Located at a small and romantic little square , especially in the evening
with candle lights, where you feel immediately at home on the
teraca outside with embrellas and good atmosphere.
Viviana and Franco welcome you with Italian hospitality and
try to comfort all guests. Inside is a mini restaurant with a limited
number of tables, but also very cosy.
The food has a good quality and the prices are modest.
If you are in Amalfi you have to be at least in La Piazzetta once.
Ps and.......do not forget to drink the excellent morreti draught beer or the Pinot gringo
Wine and ......the lemon cake

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The bruscetta - best in Ialy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This restaurant is run by the a great family and on our short 3 day stay we managed to eat here 3 times. Each time we had suggestions made to us and on two occasions we enjoyed the bruscetta (yes with fresh Buffalo Mozzarella the second time). No other restaurant that we visited on our 3 wk holiday in Italy could rival the service and the food. I am now trying to find Buffalo Moz. in Aussie that might at least come close - but so far no luck!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Friendly and Helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Run by a very friendly family and very accommodating. We asked for one pizza between the two of us (we had been fed at lunchtime on an outing) which was delivered cut into two, on two plates. Service always with a smile.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Piazzetta also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Piazzetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Piazzetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.