We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piazza Duomo Restaurant & Bar

Piazza Duomo Restaurant & Bar
Piazza Duomo, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
089 - 872849
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 95 Restaurants in Amalfi
Price range: $38 - $86
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

As the title suggests, great pizza & great value!

Very impressive & situated in a very easy to find location.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    60
    19
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Fab food in the midst of it all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Had a late lunch at this great little restaurant in the village square of Amalfi after being turned away by a couple of other restaurants whose kitchens were closed at 4:30pm...
It's right in the midst of a bunch of places filled with tourists but this one is a little gem - really good food and a great recommendation for a lambrusco (not like any chilled red I had drunk before..).
Service was fine but the food really was special - exceeded my expectations.
Location is also very nice when a local wedding is taking place in the church - great views!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Piazza Duomo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Excellent and kind service! Seafood is tasty but the Pizza Plebiscito is very good. I recommend! In the Piazza Duomo

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sister restaurant to Trattoria da Gemma in Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We arrived too late in Amalfi to enjoy the great food and relaxing sun terrace for Trattoria da Gemma, but the waiter was incredibly helpful and directed us to their sister restaurant in the square opposite the fountain. Salvatorie greeted us and soon we were enjoying a nice chilled glass of rose carruso from Ravello - delicious. The food was great, do try the stuffed anchovies and the scialatiella amalfi pasta with courgettes and bacon, yummmmy!!! (Shame my husband liked my main course too)! Im not sure how the price compares to other restaurants in Amalfi, but for great food and location - we feel you get what you pay for.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Average food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Choose this restaurant becose of excellent location, right on the squere, also looks clean and more cozy then other places arround.Lunch was good , very tasty pizza but salads were average. Dinner time was disapointing - lack of good service, tasteless pastas and the worst fillet steak in my life, despite they put raw meat on display as some steak house do you could think they specialized in steaks.Anyway fillet was chewy and well over cooked. Gotta say we got some discount on the bill, but want go back there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza Duomo Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Piazza Duomo Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piazza Duomo Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.