We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating in amalfi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piazza Duomo Restaurant & Bar

Piazza Duomo Restaurant & Bar
Piazza Duomo, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
089 - 872849
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 93 restaurants in Amalfi
Price range: $47 - $107
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Chalfont Saint Peter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Eating in amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We explored several restaurants in Amalfi and you were certainly spoilt for choice. We had a meal in this restaurant because the menu was uncluttered and it had interesting décor. We didn't have to wait long and the waitress was very friendly and chatty. My partner had anchovies which I didn't think I liked but which were absolutely delicious and he had fish which was the same with lovely quenelles of potatoes. I had ravioli which was light and fresh and a hazelnut parfait beautifully presented and just melted in the mouth. As I have a sweet tooth I always make sure that check out the desserts. All in all a lovely meal. Sara Shipton Chalfont St Peter England

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    84
    47
    12
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Best pizza in Amalfi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Of all the meals I had in Amalfi this one topped the lot! I had a spicy pepperoni pizza with rocket which packed a punch with flavour and heat! I made a special request for no cheese which was no problem at all. The service was very warm, welcoming and relaxed and the location is in the heart of the piazza with a great view and vibe. Special mention to the handsome manager Salvatore, who we became good friends with while visiting. A truly memorable experience. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Go here just to look at Salvatore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I'm not even kidding. The hottest man in all of Italy works at this restaurant, Salvatore. I got the caprese salad and a pasta I don't remember, but I do remember him.

The food was great. The scenery greater...and I'm not just talking about the waiter. The restaurant is right in the center of Amalfi's City Center with views of the church and great for people watching.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We tried to eat everything on the menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The service and food brought us back; we had dinner two out of our four nights in Amalfi. We made an attempt to eat as much from the menu as possible between the 4 of us, and it was all delicious. It was wonderful to have some variety in a menu after almost 2 weeks of pasta and pizza. The service was fantastic! The staff here was so careful to make sure our meal was timed in a way that was pleasing to us all, they made recommendations, and they were very personable. Loved this place! And, it doesn't hurt that its outdoor seating is right in the main square for the music and the people-watching. Any visitor to Amalfi must visit Piazza Duomo!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service on the main square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We went here twice during our 5 day stay in Amalfi. The waiter had some very good wine suggestions and recommended to share a T-bone. The meat was really tender and well cooked. The starters were equally nice. Good atmosphere on the main square in amalfi.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza Duomo Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast

Been to Piazza Duomo Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piazza Duomo Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.