We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service on the main square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piazza Duomo Restaurant & Bar

Piazza Duomo Restaurant & Bar
Piazza Duomo, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
089 - 872849
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 94 Restaurants in Amalfi
Price range: $45 - $104
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service on the main square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We went here twice during our 5 day stay in Amalfi. The waiter had some very good wine suggestions and recommended to share a T-bone. The meat was really tender and well cooked. The starters were equally nice. Good atmosphere on the main square in amalfi.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    50
    14
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California, United States
1 review
“Our home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This restaurant not only has amazing fresh cuisine, but the service was the best ever. We felt like home. Maria Barba was our server, and Salavatore is the manager. They are the epitome of the word "best"! We became fast friends, and they made us feel special. So special that we ate all but one of our meals there the entire time we spent in Amalfi. You must visit this wonderful place, and please make sure you meet Salvatore and Maria. We will never forget them :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lunch at the Piazza Duomo Restaurant & Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went to the beach at the town of Amalfi and then decided to eat at this lovely restaurant. The food was delicious and fresh, I had a hamburger because I was tired of eating pizza and pasta, the girls had pizza and our friends had chicken. It cost about 80 Euros for 6 of us. We sat outside and there was a band of guys playing music outside and walking around to all the restaurants and taking requests (for a fee). There was a Japanese wedding taking place in front us and apparently a destination place for Japanese weddings. The bathroom is very clean.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best steak on the Amalfi coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

After eating so much good fish it was great to eat an amazing steak, fish courses here good too, the location is fun on the main square, plenty to watch as you dine. The staff were very friendly and attentive, one of the best places overall we ate at during our stay.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London (sojourning)
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delicious and central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

By the end of 10 days, we were craving different and steak it was! Fantastic job. Also enjoyed the seafood plate - perfectly cooked and great product.
The dessert we had (panna cotta) was a bit average - not quite the right consistency or flavour - but didn't hamper the overall experience.
Great location too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza Duomo Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Piazza Duomo Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piazza Duomo Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.