We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When I return, this is the only place I will stay...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Caterina Hotel to your Saves list
Santa Caterina Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Northern California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“When I return, this is the only place I will stay...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

That was the comment from my lovely sister-in-law. While she enjoyed our travels through Italy (and we stayed at some really wonderful places both in Italy and elsewhere), this is the only hotel that earned such a review from her, ever. The service, the view, the food, the location... all quite spectacular. Unfortunately, during our stay in March, it rained "spectacularly" as well (big surprise that 60% of the hotels on the peninsula are closed at that time of year). Despite the rain we LOVED it! And, for an expensive hotel, it was definitely worth the cost. Our bathroom tub overlooked the water, as does the pool (which was closed for the season). We will, of course, choose a better time of year when we can enjoy the pool, but we will definitely return. The service was very friendly and top notch. We ate just about every meal in that dining room, too, because we couldn't imagine finding anything else in town that could surpass. The beds were super comfortable and the rooms very quiet and nicely sized.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    63
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
76
401
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

We spent seven days at this hotel and loved it for the most part. We travel extensively and must say that the service here was some of the best we have experienced anywhere. Very professional, very courteous and consistent.

The hotel itself is gorgeous. The location on the side of a cliff is world class, with literally hundreds of lemons outside your window. The amenities are wonderful (Frette bedding, fresh fruit in your room, pool/seaside bar service.

There was two downsides to the property. The first is that we were in a building that was located quite far from the main part of the hotel. It was a real hike to get to the front, and there were times where it would have been nice to be in the main building. This is a two edged sword however, because sitting on our balcony away from the crowd and noise was also fabulous.

The second downside is where it is located in Amalfi. It is not in the town but about a mile up hill from it. The hotel offers limited (and I mean very limited) shuttle service, and it seems like the deliberately eliminate the shuttle around all meal times and into the late evening to ensure that you eat on site. We felt that this was just not great customer service and while paying the 10 Euro cab to go up the hill was not awful (on a per km basis it was high).

Finally, this hotel was extremely expensive. Probably one of the most expensive we have ever stayed in - but the location was unimaginably beautiful (see the evening picture from our room). What they say is location, location, location - and this has it. They are also closed half the year, so they have to make their money in summer months.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Santa Caterina was the place to stay in Amalifi !!!!!! our stay there was a amazing
service ... food ....staff... room .... the view .....everything about it was beautiful...
a warm family feeling is what we got when we arrived it was a pleasure ..and it is a family owned hotel for generations

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

On my recent holiday in Italy, I stayed at the Santa Caterina Hotel*****L situated on the Amalfi Coast only a few steps from the renowned town of Amalfi. An exemplary establishment that fully encompasses what true 5-star treatment and accommodations should be, boasting a panoramic coastal setting of incomparable beauty and breathtaking sea views.
From the moment we arrived, the service and hospitality was impeccable from the hotel attendants’ helpfulness with our luggage right through to the very efficient check - in process. The staff took their time in thoroughly explaining and demonstrating all of the hotel amenities and/or facilities as they accompanied us to our room. The room was enormous, very clean, and had a private balcony overlooking the panoramic sea and coastal view. If that weren't enough, it's inviting fresh scent made the room that much more inviting.
I was truly impressed with the attention to detail the staff put forth in all aspects of their daily duties. Whether it being conversing in multi languages, assisting us by the beach and/or poolside, or simply providing additional towels, the Staff was always on cue to make that extra effort.
Our check-out was as straight forward and rapid as our arrival with again complementary beverages provided by the reservation agent prior to our early 5:30 am departure drive to Rome.

I would give my full recommendation to anyone traveling to Amalfi that they stay at Hotel Santa Caterina *****L

Maria

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

OK, the one downside - if cost is a concern, you should not stay here.

Now, the rest. This is quite possibly the most beautiful hotel in the world. I can not say enough about the treatment we received at this hotel. The staff will do anything legal to make your stay more pleasant. We did not meet anyone who was not helpful and friendly. You can tell from the minute you walk in that it is a family owned hotel.

Upon our arrival, via the scary Amalfi Coast road, we were warmly greeted by Franco who informed us that we had been upgraded to a junior suite. The hotel is built along side the cliffs of the Amalfi Coast and has incredible views of the Mediterranean. Our room was away from the main building of the hotel along a walkway covered in hanging, football sized lemons. The room was large and spacious. The amenities were large Bulgari soaps and shampoo that would normally cost $40 in most stores. Our room had a small balcony with a table and two chairs that looked directly out over the water 600 feet below.

The pool and dock area required a ride in an elevator to sea level. The drink and food service was incredible. I have to pause and say that eating the little bowl of fresh olives will change your life and your mind about what olives are supposed to taste like.

Breakfast is included in all reservations and it is very good. The dinner menu is expensive but the food is very good and the view is beyond words.

The hotel offers half hour free shuttle rides to the town of Amalfi which is about .5 miles down the hill. Do not walk the highway, it is very dangerous.

All in all, probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in. We will be going back. The hotel can arrange most any tour you could want, including boat charters to Capri. We also arranged a tour to Mt. Vesuvius and Pompei at reasonable prices.

We highly recommend this hotel! It is a great place to do as much or as little as you want. Excellent place to relax and enjoy the food, views and service.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

The experience wa brillant in every way: gorgeous rooms, views, swimming pool and breaksfasts. All the charm of an old institution with all the modern comfort. The service and attention to details are there.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

It might be expensive but it was worth every cent. From the moment we stepped into the hotel we were treated like royalty. The concierges were exceptional. We were made to feel so welcome. We were also lucky to be introduced to one of the owners.

The view from our room was out of this world. I have stayed in many top rated hotels but this is by far the best. I have just returned from spending two nights there...I wished I had booked more. Some of our party have decided to return for a week next year. I too am seriously considering doing the same.

The service, the views, the beach and pool, the food all were top quality and more.

For a great experience you cant go past this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, LHW, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Caterina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.