We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Peaceful, Outstanding Service, but a bit out of the way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Save Saved
You added Santa Caterina Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Caterina Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Peaceful, Outstanding Service, but a bit out of the way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

We spent seven days at this hotel and loved it for the most part. We travel extensively and must say that the service here was some of the best we have experienced anywhere. Very professional, very courteous and consistent.

The hotel itself is gorgeous. The location on the side of a cliff is world class, with literally hundreds of lemons outside your window. The amenities are wonderful (Frette bedding, fresh fruit in your room, pool/seaside bar service.

There was two downsides to the property. The first is that we were in a building that was located quite far from the main part of the hotel. It was a real hike to get to the front, and there were times where it would have been nice to be in the main building. This is a two edged sword however, because sitting on our balcony away from the crowd and noise was also fabulous.

The second downside is where it is located in Amalfi. It is not in the town but about a mile up hill from it. The hotel offers limited (and I mean very limited) shuttle service, and it seems like the deliberately eliminate the shuttle around all meal times and into the late evening to ensure that you eat on site. We felt that this was just not great customer service and while paying the 10 Euro cab to go up the hill was not awful (on a per km basis it was high).

Finally, this hotel was extremely expensive. Probably one of the most expensive we have ever stayed in - but the location was unimaginably beautiful (see the evening picture from our room). What they say is location, location, location - and this has it. They are also closed half the year, so they have to make their money in summer months.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    479
    60
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
71
371
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Santa Caterina was the place to stay in Amalifi !!!!!! our stay there was a amazing
service ... food ....staff... room .... the view .....everything about it was beautiful...
a warm family feeling is what we got when we arrived it was a pleasure ..and it is a family owned hotel for generations

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

On my recent holiday in Italy, I stayed at the Santa Caterina Hotel*****L situated on the Amalfi Coast only a few steps from the renowned town of Amalfi. An exemplary establishment that fully encompasses what true 5-star treatment and accommodations should be, boasting a panoramic coastal setting of incomparable beauty and breathtaking sea views.
From the moment we arrived, the service and hospitality was impeccable from the hotel attendants’ helpfulness with our luggage right through to the very efficient check - in process. The staff took their time in thoroughly explaining and demonstrating all of the hotel amenities and/or facilities as they accompanied us to our room. The room was enormous, very clean, and had a private balcony overlooking the panoramic sea and coastal view. If that weren't enough, it's inviting fresh scent made the room that much more inviting.
I was truly impressed with the attention to detail the staff put forth in all aspects of their daily duties. Whether it being conversing in multi languages, assisting us by the beach and/or poolside, or simply providing additional towels, the Staff was always on cue to make that extra effort.
Our check-out was as straight forward and rapid as our arrival with again complementary beverages provided by the reservation agent prior to our early 5:30 am departure drive to Rome.

I would give my full recommendation to anyone traveling to Amalfi that they stay at Hotel Santa Caterina *****L

Maria

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

OK, the one downside - if cost is a concern, you should not stay here.

Now, the rest. This is quite possibly the most beautiful hotel in the world. I can not say enough about the treatment we received at this hotel. The staff will do anything legal to make your stay more pleasant. We did not meet anyone who was not helpful and friendly. You can tell from the minute you walk in that it is a family owned hotel.

Upon our arrival, via the scary Amalfi Coast road, we were warmly greeted by Franco who informed us that we had been upgraded to a junior suite. The hotel is built along side the cliffs of the Amalfi Coast and has incredible views of the Mediterranean. Our room was away from the main building of the hotel along a walkway covered in hanging, football sized lemons. The room was large and spacious. The amenities were large Bulgari soaps and shampoo that would normally cost $40 in most stores. Our room had a small balcony with a table and two chairs that looked directly out over the water 600 feet below.

The pool and dock area required a ride in an elevator to sea level. The drink and food service was incredible. I have to pause and say that eating the little bowl of fresh olives will change your life and your mind about what olives are supposed to taste like.

Breakfast is included in all reservations and it is very good. The dinner menu is expensive but the food is very good and the view is beyond words.

The hotel offers half hour free shuttle rides to the town of Amalfi which is about .5 miles down the hill. Do not walk the highway, it is very dangerous.

All in all, probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in. We will be going back. The hotel can arrange most any tour you could want, including boat charters to Capri. We also arranged a tour to Mt. Vesuvius and Pompei at reasonable prices.

We highly recommend this hotel! It is a great place to do as much or as little as you want. Excellent place to relax and enjoy the food, views and service.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

The experience wa brillant in every way: gorgeous rooms, views, swimming pool and breaksfasts. All the charm of an old institution with all the modern comfort. The service and attention to details are there.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

It might be expensive but it was worth every cent. From the moment we stepped into the hotel we were treated like royalty. The concierges were exceptional. We were made to feel so welcome. We were also lucky to be introduced to one of the owners.

The view from our room was out of this world. I have stayed in many top rated hotels but this is by far the best. I have just returned from spending two nights there...I wished I had booked more. Some of our party have decided to return for a week next year. I too am seriously considering doing the same.

The service, the views, the beach and pool, the food all were top quality and more.

For a great experience you cant go past this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

The Santa Caterina is beautiful and is located in a unique and stunning location. As you would expect from a 5 star hotel it is not cheap but the service is good and the food was of a high quality. The rooms are very nicely decorated and most have great views. The downside was that there was a lot of noise from an adjoining room, which resulted in 2 nights of broken sleep - I suspect that much of the noise was as a result of some inconsiderate guests and is not common of the usual clientele however the response of the hotel was very disappointing and as a result I would not recommend to a friend. Amalfi is not a very nice town although Ravello is well worth a visit and would be in my opinion a better place to stay (Hotel Cimbrone) although is not located on the sea.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LHW, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Caterina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.