We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will come back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Caterina Hotel to your Saves list
Santa Caterina Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We will come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

This Santa Caterina is a really good place. A beautifull view, a very nice garden that takes you down to the sea ,a lift to bring you back to your room (may be 100 meters above the sea level). The room itself had a funny bathroom, and more important, opened on a small terrace on the garden and had a breathtaking view.
We were there in May, and were looking for a place that could be warmer than the average (no cold wind), and with the cliff behind us, this one was great. By the sea side, there is a nice swimming pool.We had prevailing winds from the North West, and the sea itself was calm and clean (with a small grotto to swimm in).Sea temperature was at 20C, the pool at about 25C (salt water)
With the good local weather condition, many tropical plants are at home in the hotel s garden (more than in Capri or Ravello), and you really fear far from Europe.
In addition, the staff is friendly, they will take care of your car and your boarding passes, the restaurants are good, and walking to Amalfi is not that difficult (when compared to San Pietro in Positano) .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    63
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
76
401
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

We just came back from a trip to Amalfi and a stay at Santa Caterina. Amalfi and Santa Caterina are the most welcoming and beautiful places we are ever seen. Every place we went, every person we met and everything we ate were absolutely amazing. Santa Caterina is not only beautiful with the best location, but has the most welcoming personnel. We will be back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

This hotel is a great grand dame. She has kept herself up beautifully and knows how guests enjoy being treated. Beautiful grounds. Very nice breakfast. Great room - ours had an expansive terrace overlooking the sea. Great pool. My one and only negative is that she is a bit out of the center of Amalfi. One must either take the complimentary shuttle during its "open hours", hire a taxi, walk, or drive your car into town and hope for a space to park.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

I stayed here with a friend for 2 nights. I had spent a lot of time researching in Trip Advisor reviews for something special and this was definately The One.
We were in Amalfi for a wedding taking place in Ravello and knew that we needed space elsewhere. From the minute we checked in and were given a massive upgrade from stadard twin (250Eur) to Suite (1100EUR) for free, so lounging by the pool, eating amazing food, sleeping well and being taken of to the minute we left everything was perfect.
This is I think traditionally a honeymooners hotel. Small and intimate with lots of paces to lounge and enjoy the stunning views to Amalfil and over to Capri.
We clearly were not on honeymoon (I left my hubby at home but feel the need to return with him!), it didnt matter and we were treated like royalty.
This hotel offers a great courtesy car into the centre of Amalfi every 30 mins - its only 1KM down the road, but the roads are thin and the cars go fast!
It is possible to walk it, you just need to take care.
The pool is accessed by a lift built into the rocks and there are lots of places to sit. I wouldnt go here in high season in general as I think it would be really busy as a resort.
The BIG TIP for our stay: if you are flying in from Naples, book a car service to drive you here. The buses and trains take hours and the boats wont sail in rough seas. We used Caruso Limos and again got treated like royalty. It was 100EUR each way in air conditioned people carriers that could easily take 4/5 passengers with luggage. They really know the routes, its a 90minute drive through some hair raising terrain up and down the mountains and hugs the coastline. Spoke perfect English and were from the area so had lots of history and pointed out things along the way. All other quotes we got were 120EUR upwards.
In short - this place is not a Hilton or 4 Seasons. Its beautiful, relaxed and tranquill but still remains 5 star.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

We came to Amalfi coast in mid july, We had booked on amalfivacation before we came. But only for one night. When we arived Naples we came in contact with the manager Alesandro. From the first moment he lifted our holiday up and forward. He was always awaileble and helpfull. From talking to the taxi driver and help us finding the hotel, from letting us live at his nice apartments in amalfi. After some days the stay at his apartments came to an end. The apartments were rented out. Then the fairytale started.. Alesandro was also the manager and owner of the magnificient hotel Santa Catarina. We stayed there fore two nights. And what a place! It was a beatiful view, an outstanding breakfast, perfect staff, nice rooms and marvelous food. We walked on cloud nine. And not to forget the swimmingpool area! Like James Bond agents we took the lift down to the ocean and swimmingpool. We got a towel roled out on a swimmingbed and got ice cold drinks served by friendly staff. They also came with icecold towels when we melted into the sun. It was also perfect to jump into the water. The lunch at the restaurant was perfect!
So thank you Alesandro! We have brought the memories into our heart!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

We stayed for 5 nights after our wedding. All I have to say is what a great place to relax, walk into Amalfi. (they also have a complimentary shuttle every 30 minutes into Amalfi a few times a day)

Franco who works at the front desk is the nicest and most helpful person you will ever come across. Of course, the whole staff was that way. The breakfast in the morning was great! It had your typical American option and local Italian meats, cheeses, fruits and vegetables. Also, some sparkling wine if you wanted.

The restaurant was one of the best in Amalfi! We went to some other restaurants in Amalfi that were on a comparable level and only one other even came close to the restaurant, Eolo.

The pool area is nice and quiet with very good views of the sea. We did not visit the spa, but, I could imagine it will be great like everything else we experienced.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

This hotel may be the best hotel I have ever stayed at. My wife and I were visiting our daughter in Rome and made a four day excursion here for our 25th Wedding anniversary. The room was immaculate and the tactfully decorated. Our balcony overlooked the Amalfi coast which is one of the most beautiful places on the planet. We had breakfast at the hotel every day in the restaurant which opened onto an open air veranda. We had dinner at the hotel two of the four nights both of which were outstanding meals with outstanding bottles of wine. After dinner they have a lounge are that is lit by candles – perfect for a port or lemoncello. The facilities, the grounds were all just wonderful. The fitness room overlooks the Mediterranean – it does not get better than that.

Everyone runs to help you – regardless of your need – a taxi, a train station transfer, more wine. Franco is the head concierge at the hotel. One afternoon he was not working and we ran into him while walking around the town of Amalfi. He knew our names, he suggested where to eat, he genuinely wanted to make sure our day was going well. One evening I asked him if he could arrange for a taxi since we were having dinner in Amalfi. He literally turned and ran to the desk to make the call. You don’t get service of this caliber at many places but they made us feel like royalty and family at the same time.

We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, LHW, Priceline, Venere, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Caterina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.