We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Must Go Back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Save Saved
You added Santa Caterina Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Santa Caterina Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 31 hotels in Amalfi
Boston, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I Must Go Back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2006

I was hesitant to spend the money to stay here, as I am more of a moderate spending traveler. However, I was there last September and I still think of the first time I walked out on their patio and the VIEW every few days! It was worth the splurge in every way!

The rooms are very clean, the staff is outstanding. They were extremely responsive while booking and throughout our stay. If you are going to this area this is one place you can't miss!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    417
    50
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
61
320
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2006

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights during our 2 week tour through Italy. Overall we really enjoyed our time at the Santa Caterina, but probably would try somewhere else if we were to return to the region. There is no questionning the very attentive service, outstanding views, superb private beach, good food, and general cleanliness. Only two negatives really: very high prices, although they may not be too far out of line when compared locally, and noise, both from the busy road next to the hotel and the beautifully tiled floors throughout the hotel (no carpets). We would strongly recommend going for at least a Superior room, which we did despite the 30% extra cost. We saw a Standard room on our last day: much smaller, closer to the road, only a side view of the sea, and no privacy on the balcony (although it was provided as a courtesy room after we had checked out).

In comparison to Reids Hotel in Madeira, where we have also stayed recently, the Santa Caterina is much more personal having only a third of the rooms, but overall Reids wins both on quietness, extent of the gardens and value for money . . . but then Madeira is not the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2006

The Santa Caterina in Amalfi, Italy is an amazing hotel with the most impeccable service we have ever experienced. From the moment we walked into the hotel, after a stressful drive along the Amalfi Coast, a weight was lifted as they catered to our every need with sincere kindness.

The pool and private bathing area is 80 meters down by glass elevator which puts you on the Mediterranean Sea, where you can swim in the sea and/or pool as you overlook the town of Amalfi and the jagged cliffs.

They even have a complimentary shuttle to take you 2km into Amalfi, a nice bonus. Also, when we asked the concierge for romantic restaurant recommendations, they supplied four choices with no push toward one or the other. We happened to pick Ristorante Eolo, which coincidentally is owned by the same family that runs the hotel. They certainly could have pointed us in that direction, but they allowed us to make our own decision - class act. By the way, Ristorante Eolo overlooks the beautiful town of Amalfi and the Mediterranean Sea and was a wonderful dining experience. And, make sure to go just before sunset and request one of three coveted tables on the balcony. Awesome!

We booked a partial ocean view, king room, which was amazingly large, and it included a Jacuzzi tub. It also included a balcony overlooking the garden, lemon groves and the Mediterranean Sea. The hotel is very clean and the smell of lemons is everywhere!

We paid 400 Euros per night, and it was worth every penny, even with the USD/Euro conversation rate. The rate included a wonderful (big selection) breakfast on the terrace with spectacular views. Or if we pleased, they offered room service; truly fitting their motto "with great pleasure, no problem at all". As a side note, every other hotel charged us for the little things. Santa Caterina did NOT - free internet access in the living room (with computer you can use), bottled water in the fitness center and in your room every night, cookies/treats in your room, free parking, etc... The spa was also tremendous and the fitness center has all the right equipment.

I cannot recommend Santa Caterina enough as we stayed at luxury (and more expensive) properties all over Italy - this hotel was clearly the BEST.

In closing, if you are a neat freak or obsessive-compulsive about cleanliness, this is the property for you! Enjoy the views and service!

Let me know if you want photos of the property, I'd love to share!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2006

This is a lovely hotel. The service is warm, genuine and personal. We arrived, having booked a side-sea view room (all that had been available), but were upgraded to a wonderful room with captivating view of the sea and a large bathroom carved out of the rock. Despite some photos on the hotel website giving something of a 70's impression, our room must have been recently refurbished, because it felt more like something out of the Hip Hotels Guide (Ypma).

The hotel's access to the sea, down a spectular glass lift (elevator) is unbeatable and had a been a kid I suspect I would have been happy going up and down all day. Downsides? Some of the common parts are indeed quite dated; the food in the evening restaurant is good but not outstanding (lunch in the lower-level restaurant is much better), and the extras (mineral water, tea etc) are too expensive (8 Euros for a cup of tea!).

The only other complaint is not about the Hotel at all, but about the Amalfi coast. It is indeed beautiful, but all the towns, in particular Positano, are so over-run with tourists and shops selling tat, that their charm has all but disappeared. But if you stay in the Hotel Santa Caterina, and do mountain walks instead of town tours as your day trips, you will have a lovely time.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2006

Yes, this hotel is in a fabulous location. And the staff are just as charming as everyone says. But don't get carried away.

First, some areas of the hotel could do with updating. In particular, the bathroom in my junior suite was a legacy of the 1970s. Crude lighting, some mould around the bath and cracks in the tiles.

Second, noise is an issue. The tiled floors are terrific to look at and everything is scrupulously clean, but slight drawback of tiled floors is that anyone walking along a corridor in high heels sounds like a drum's being beaten - and I was woken up every morning by the maids crashing their cleaning equipment around near my room. Quite a number of rooms are near or underneath the restaurant so there's also the noise of chairs/tables being moved about.

Thirdly, it is too expensive. I'm very happy to pay top dollar for top hotels, but this is just a bit more expensive than I'd expect to shell out for the very very finest place - and it does fall short of those. The rooms are great but not out-of-this-world and the food is fine but not stellar. It's therefore the more irritating that they nickle-and-dime internet access, as one example, at a rate of 6 Euros for any fraction of 30 minutes.

None of this is to take away from many strengths. The views are wonderful, especially from the restaurant terrace. Nothing is too much for the staff (to the extent of being mildly irritating when they carry your plate back from the self-service breakfast buffet). The glass lifts down to the swimming area and the pool itself are in an excellent place alongside the sea with a relaxing deck area. But it's 4 star not 5.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2006

This hotel is one of the best I've ever experienced. There is only one warning to those who stay, okay two warnings...1. If you are sensitive to noise, do not stay in the rooms below the restaurant... and 2. You will not want to leave.

The views are amazing, the grounds are refreshing, the service is 5star luxury and the food is out-of-this-world. Just remember, in Italy, there is a price for it. But if you have the means, I highly recommend it… you will not regret it.

During our first night we were put in a noisy room below the restaurant. So, at 6:30AM the set-up for breakfast began and we heard it all. So, after speaking to the manager, we were moved that day, and upgraded as well. The suite he moved us to was amazing and so quiet.

The staff was always ready to assist and help and always so friendly. I would love to stay here again someday…after I save up some pennies! LOL!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2006

This is a special place. Not for the location - although it is perfect, being peacefully situated above the town, allowing you a short walk down the hill to Amalfi and its picturesque central square, with plenty of shops, bars and restaurants. (You might prefer a cab back if the hotle's shuttle bus is not running!) Not for the view - although it is absolutely breathtaking. Not for the rooms - beautiful though they are. Not for the food - excellent though it is, though better, for my taste, at lunch just above the sea. No, the real gem of this family owned hotel is the staff. We returned for a second visit last summer and were greeted by name and treated like old friends. Nothing - nothing - is too much trouble; it seems like a real pleasure to make the guests feel good and, although we are fortunate enough to stay at some truly great hotels, the attitude marks this one out as special. Not cheap, but worth every penny. We look forward to our third visit in June, when we shall met the couple whom we met and with whom we became friends two years ago, also on their third trip and my brother and his partner who recommended the hotel to me in the first place on their third trip too. Says it all, really!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina
Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Caterina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.