We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Save Saved
You added Santa Caterina Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Caterina Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A really great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

Although when you enter, you may find the hotel a little aged, you soon realize that this is one of the really great hotels, with excellent service. Do charter a boat from the hotel, and visit Capri. It will be the highlight of your trip.

Restaurants both at breakfast and dinner, were very good. There is no beach at the hotel-as in most hotels in Amalfi, but a very convenient lift takes you to a deck where you can swim.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    463
    57
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
69
357
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

This is one of the most beautiful properties I have been too and I have been to a few 5-star hotels/resorts.
The view will blow you away, and it is amazing from wherever you are situated!
They upgraded us to a gorgeous suite when we arrived, and the service was fantastic.
It is a very romantic and special place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield county, CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

We stayed at the Santa Caterina for 4 days as part of a longer vacation to the Amalfi Coast & Capri. We were picked up at Naples Airport by a chauffered Mercedes (140 euros), arranged by the hotel. A bit over an hour of winding hairpin curves, we arrived at this beautiful hotel.

We stayed in Room 42, direct sea view with balcony. The hotel had known it was our anniversary, and they left a bottle of champagne, fresh baked biscottis and cookies as well as a huge fruit bowl. The room was a bit small, but had beautiful Frette linens. The bathroom was spacious and their shampoo products are really great (so take them with you!) The help is very accomodating, friendly and helpful. We fell into a routine of having their delicious buffet breakfast (meats, cheeses, breads, pasteries, eggs - if you want an omlet, let them know and they will make it to order) and then relaxing on the sun deck. The sea is amazing and it is great to have stairs that lead right into the water from the bathing platform. The lounge chairs are very comfortable, and the staff goes through pains to ensure you get the chairs and view that you want to make you happy. I tiped them well to ensure I got what I wanted!

The restaurants are excellent. The outdoor casual restaurant makes wonderful pizzas
(18 euros) in their brick oven. We had pizza many times there, as well as in other places and I can tell you it is the best at the Santa Caterina.

They run a free shuttle down to Amalfi town for a period of time in the morning and the afternoon. The walk is completely do-able, but it is a bit scary since there are no sidewalks, and the cars and mopeds are going so fast. The shuttle does not run after 6 pm. so to get back to the hotel you must either walk or take a taxi (10 euros).

The hotel also makes amazing fried stuffed zucchini flowers. Stuffed with ricotta, they melt in your mouth - they are unreal. (22 euros). We had them with a bottle of wine for a late night snack overlooking the water.

Highlights include walking through their lemon groves, situated along the sea and also finding little benches and quiet places to sit in their many gardens.

It is truly a wonderful, romantic place I would go back to many, many times.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

My wife and i have just returned from our second vacation at this wonderful hotel.

Once again - faultless!
What sets this hotel apart from any other we have ever stayed at are the staff, from the efficient and friendly chambermaids along with the waiting staff at breakfast and lunch, via Raffaelo on the terrace through to the utterly fantastic Franco on the front desk.

We visited Le Sirenuse in Positano for lunch and for us there is absolutely no comparison to the Santa Caterina, which is much brighter and airier and has the advantage of the sun deck by the waters edge.

Just a quick note about the restaurants in town....two i would heavily reccomend are "Marina Grande Riviera" overlooking the beach and "Da Gemma", above the shops and at the beginning of the narrow walkway.

Already looking forward to a return visit next year!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a glorious vacation at the Santa Caterina with our 4 teenage children. Situated on the gorgeous Amalfi coastline, the Santa Caterina provides everything you could possibly want from a luxury hotel. Inviting, sunny public spaces with incredible views, terraced gardens, delicious food and the prettiest setting for a pool/sunning area that you will ever see! The guest rooms and baths are beautiful and spacious--all decorated with the signature ceramic tiles from the Italian coast. Loved the linen sheets!! We appreciated the staff at the Caterina who could not have been more hospitable and solicitous, recommending wonderful restaurants, tour guides and transportation providers. Our five night stay came to end too quickly as we look forward to visiting the Santa Caterina again in the future. It's well worth the cost and effort to reach this paradise!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

Santa Caterina is one of our favourite hotel in the Amalfi Coast. It is together with Il San Pietro and Palazzo Sasso (that i have reviewed already) one of the hotels that mantain the charm of this wonderful destination...
It is located on the top of a cliff, few hundred meters out of Amalfi (connected with a free shuttle but only at certain hours) with a fantastic view of the mediterranean sea and of Amalfi.
Having breakfast on the terrace, hearing the birds and looking at the sea, while eating home made marmellades and cakes... well, this is Italy as you have been dreaming about!
They have different room categories, i have been staying here several times and liked them all.... with ceramic tile from Vietri, balcony and sea view...flat screen even in the standard room...maybe on the small size in the entry category, but still confortable.
Very good food at the restaurants, don't be shy and ask if you want something out of the menu...we did almost every day and it was never a problem.
The people that work there, they are there since always...which give to usual guest the nice feeling to came back home and be recognised!
they do not have a beach but a platform right on the rocks that you reach trough an elevator from the hotel. Great swimming there, but deep water... on the platform they have a sea water pool as well...and just few steps up a fantastic al fresco restaurant (usually open for lunch) and a Gym with sea view.
The Spa is very little and a bit unconfortable ( i had to undress in the small room for the treatment)... but the treatments were made very well (and i'm very meticolous about massages, so my wife) and personalised on the base of my requests, which is the only thing that counts for me...
I live in Naples, so i know my way on the Coast and for sure i will continue going once in a while to the Santa Caterina if they keep going with the good job... go for it and if you want the experience of a life time ask for the special suite over the lemon threes path... it comes with a cost, but you will understand where your money go when looking out of the balcony or relaxing on your private infinity pool...
Maybe they need to improve a bit the service at the pool... good traveller are now used to get cold towel, fruit, sunglasses cleaning..etc but perfection do not exist... or it does?

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bermuda
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

Great location, lovely rooms, gorgeous views and exceptional service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LHW, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Caterina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.